car wiring harness connectors

richardtan

Dear Sifus,

Is the car wiring harness connector universal or is it specific for each car brand or model?
I mean, for the brake lights are the connectors the same for all cars?

I need to buy some but does not know what each type of harness connector is called.

best regards
Richard:wavey:

its different for each car brands...

but toyota would probably be the same as another toyota... but subject to year of manufacture i suppose... old school harness are not the same as new school... you get the idea...

to buy these harness... you could try to look it up in a spare part shops... some of them do ship them but some are not originals though... but needless to worry unless its a high current, the plastics most probably wont melt..

hope that helps...

cheers...

Thanks Craziechild :wavey:!

Can I also deduce that the bulb types are also not the same for different car brands?
I mean, is , lets say the tail light bulb for Vios a different kind of bulb type than say a Kia bulb?

I am trying to replace some bulbs with LED ones. Not sure what is the technical name for the different light bulbs. These LED ones should sit nicely into the existing bulb socket.

Cheers ! :burnout:

hard to say on the bulbs... as there are a lot different kinds of bulbs, H1, H4, H5, 9001 etc etc... you just have to determine which type are yours by taking out the bulbs... usually its stated there... consult your foreman if you are not sure...

anyway... for LED i think mostly you have to change the whole light cover to the LED types for the full-of-LED-lines lights... if thats what you wan...

otherwise... if you just wan to put one or two... then yes you can use back the ori wires of your car... but do connect a resistor in between the +12V and the LED... if you dun add the resistor, chances are the LED is gonna fry everytime it turns on... resistor value recommendations: 1k ohm to 1.5kohm... good luck...