Celica St 1974

lavon

Can anyone share info where can we find a workshop can legally and expertly do the rebuit and what performance engine suitable for it... TQ

workshops in malaysia simply do not do re-built. The mainly do repair. Re-built is a tedious business and requires money, skill, patience, time, resources and some interest. The majority of workshops in Malaysia have neither of those.

Performance engine? The orginal T-series engine are good enuf for the car of that period. Unless u want more power etc, then u have to resort to another type of engines.....this is where legality issues comes in....

Well dude, I kno there is mini workshop which rebuilt minis at USJ area and VW at Damansara. Did ask info from them but upto no avail... yesterday I come across a workshop somewhere near TNT at shah Alam and a black color Celica LT 1979, which mechanic just plant in Nissan engine RB20... but they dont do rebuilding... :(

Take note, in Kuching Celica is easy to find... the rare Celica ST which almost similar to Mustang would only cost you RM1000 after heavy bargain. I just bought one but still there, shipment to KL is a bit hassle ... $$

if u have alot money u can try ask the work shop in sunway,
but to rebuild this rare car i dont think the part is still available here lor,i think the parts u have to import from overseas,or use parts from other car
so u need time,money,
for engine try put 1jz/rb26 lol ......

Rebuilding can be done..but its very very expensive..a lot of classic cars are rebuilt here...
but that celica is a nice find...congrats on the car..

Hmm allot of rust though.. another thing, does anyone of you brothers have any idea how to change the rear "leave spring" into absourber supported and coil spring?? Anyone?

Anyway, I believe it'll be way too expensive to get these people to do the rebuilt especially when they know its rare... I heard at Kelantan, Perak and JB got places can source the parts, is that right??

Why do you need to change the leaf spring? i thought 74 st celica's rear suspension is based on coil spring and absorber type......

Anyway, there is bound to have rust on a 30+ year car. I'll be damned if the car does not have rust. Anyway, with patient and money, old car oso can be restored.

As for engine upgrade, I wouldn't be too keen putting in a 1jz/rb26 engine
. The original TA22 chassis wasn't design to take such brutal power, much less the when car has rust.

Hi Ken Yeang. Sadly it is true there are no TA/RA celica rebuilders here in malaysia. The ones you see in the celica blub malaysia are all DIY or they source the parts themselves and repair at normal workshops.

There are plenty of rebuilders for Continental cars like Volkswagen, Mini, and antique cars. But even then many would have changed the parts here and there.

Anyway for you info, there is this shop i went to few years ago that rebuilds cars from scratch. The cost of the bodywork for a particular AC cobra i saw was RM 20000. The strip bare every panel from chassis and reweld the the important supports. The even changed all screws to stainless steel. Heavy gauge re-chrome every trim. Mind you this is only body work. He says if he source the ori engine parts from Europe, would cost probably 50000 more.

So still wanna rebuild your Celica?

Netmatrix,

I agree with you abt classic celica in Malaysia that are not rebuild by proper workshops. Our workshops are too profit minded (do the easiest repair job, highest turn around time, thus making highest proft) and worst still, they have little professional training. All work were based on their teaching of their previous "sifu"

If someone wanted to rebuild their car (to his high standard or requirement), I recomend the person to embark on the project himself. Buy the necessasry equipment, read some books and start doing the repair/rebuild himself. Do it slowly but steady. Remember, we are re-building a car, not repairing a car. Somemore, the car has limited spareparts available. oso, money is oso another limited resource. So, give slack to the schedule of the re-building process. Of course, the investment is huge. But the satsifaction and the knowledge gained is priceless. What is better than saying "I personally hand-built this car myself"

of course, not many ppl are rich. so to avoid investing too much of equipment that u seldom use, but neccesary for re-building the car...I suggest you better rent, borrow from the car workshop during weekends. then buy the foreman coffee later. Alternatively, you can buy some cheapo tools from china.....they still do the job fine.

Well, nonetheless I am very much agree with you guys. Indeed there is no truly professional rebuilding workshop around and if they do, I myself would be quite skeptical. It is true that to do the rebuilding would cost allot, the more is the better because it is for the sake of better and newer parts plus expertise… the problem is still, there is none really can. I did come across one LT1600 red color parked somewhere at Sunway and I checked with the workshop (not so friendly) owner but yet not much info I manage to gather. What I can see is the refurbish interior, nicely painted body with cleaned up original engine… By the way, the ST I bought indeed comes with lift spring… that is why I wonder… coz I check another unit LT is with coil spring.

Btw, thanks Wolf... I'll go and check out the workshop...

my old man's village sometime get flooded with these 70s and 80s car. and Celica 74 is one of them.

yeah, like shychenko said, join car clubs for restoration advices.

ps- whoit shy, long time no see? only recently touch down aaa? hahahaha

bro...congrats on ur celica...i was crazy over that car too..but prices of that car in kl very high cheapest i gat my hands on was 7k....hmm so bought sumthinn else instead...anyways bro...u bought ur car at rm1k....is it running cond....and how much would it cost u to bring it back to kl.....thx bro.....kinda interested to get a celica again la...ha ha....