City Vtec or City i-DSI ?

zephyr3d

Guess Honda ppl dont really fancy replying bout City in Honda threads... guess gonna move my post here...

Tried searching the forum and google for that comparison, but kept getting City vs Vios.

My question is... darn, how to ask? Ok, I know ppl says Vtec version gives more power, which is obvious with the horses it pumps out... while some ppl says... i-DSI gives better fuel economy.

So, my question is, how much different is the fuel consumption for the vtec and i-dsi? way alot? like 50km to 100km per tank? I see some info on net that vtec version were able to clock fr 500km to 700km depending on driving style, which of course the 500km++ was for spirited driving la.

Why i kept pondering this Q is.. i want fuel economy, but yet i find the i-DSI.. kinda, lacking in accessories....

or the fuel economy difference is minimal?

thankz.

bro,
faster make up ur mind lo. Honda city registered within this month will have discount on car price from rm1500.

Booked mine y/day and got additional rm500 from SA. So total rm2000

i am taking vtec. reason? idsi is really nothing to shout about performance. About FC...it is superb..can be as many as 100km per tank difference with vtec.

accss? the beige interior is a big turn-of for me

being only rm4k difference....hmmm...is not hard to decide wat

hahaha.. dude.. i have that dilemma u listed.

i just hate the damn beige interior... and the non-illuminated dials..

but i read fr team city forum.. the vtec has miserable fuel consumption... based on all the figures registered by em... i would say, itz averaged at around 400km... per full tank of 42litres... which is.. bad. Yea, ppl say u can't have the best of both worlds.

but i do have friends saying that the vtec doesn't give much more power than idsi too wor.. alittle confused rite now.

coz i really want full economy with black interior!!!!!!!!

From what I've heard, the difference in performance (at least the feel of it, not on paper) between the VTEC and the iDSI is pretty much abang adik ie not much difference. Perhaps the characteristics of the CVT gearbox or maybe the manner of the power delivery (City's VTEC too peaky???). Perhaps if you properly whack them you'd manage to separate them both, but in normal conditions hardly.

So, you'll have to choose between the 2 based on other criterias. Fuel economy, beige interior, accessories, more money in the pocket, etc.

Don't think there's really alot of performance difference between the VTEC and the IDSI version. They are not made for performance in the 1st place, much more of low FC vehicles. In this case, the IDSI really push the low FC thingy to another level. So, basically your problem now is the beige interior & accessories. If you really hate the interior colour then there's no choice. You got to live with it or u just get the VTEC version. Same goes to the accessories/illuminating dials. Well, if you are really thinking of accessories, what a bout Jazz? You'll get lots of aftermarket parts and accessories to play with.

well guys, guess u're all right bout it...

to be honest, i'm not bothered with the vtec side of it, know it wont give the B16/18 power for goodness sake.

Think i'll just go for the vtec... can't live with beige interiors..

and.. i like Jazz, but i'm looking for a mid-sized sedan, so jazz's out of the picture. :)

By the way, u guys got any recommendation besides the usual vios and city? cars of the same category, sub 100k.

latio bigger? i tot it look smaller.. I haven't check on it yet.. see la, will probably pop by the nissan showroom nearby my home later.

zephy,

before this, the new ckd swift was in my list as well. cheapest among the other. 71k OTR (with ncb).

but
- Small in size look/interior
- hopeless 2nd hand value
- normal engine (not as good fc as idsi, not as powerful as vtec)

good point is..it saves u 10k in car price la

hey.. since u're driving one.. why dont u feed me wit more details bout your city vtec?

Me?? my ct is for track and autokhana used.. plonk and rojak a B-series in it.. direct air flow from extractor till back(No Exhaust).. Toyo Slicks.. erm.. alot more le.. can find more details from the TeamCity forum there as im oneof their OM(AhFat) :biggrin: :biggrin: :burnout:

oh crap.. then not the right person to ask already. lol.... yea i did visited the teamcity forum.

bryan90s.. yea i did 'see' the swift, but i already have an aging 'hot' hatch at home.. which i'm going to sell it off... but for another hot hatch? hmm... i rather not. Unless its a golf GTi.. hahaha... dream on.

Zep.. if u wan fuel economy, get the IDSI.. its edi proven that day HM send a few of TC members drive to Bukit Merah, Cameron and back KL just one full tank.. and still got balance.. IDSI and Vtec the power not much diffrence.. depends what you modd only.. we got a few IDSI which can play with Vtec.. *scary monster.. hehehe!!