clutch pedal very stiff

xcheong

hi~~
my car wira aeroback 4g13 2001, the clutch pedal nowadays feel very stiff...
press until leg pain lar....

got any solution to this? before that the clutch cable got sound, but the mech reoil it then sound gone liao. i ask the mech why my clutch so stiff, he told me "its like that one" :(

but then when my car was new, the clutch pedal feel was very soft.

any sifu wanna help? :lol:
thanx

normally the diagfram spring will become harder over time.. but since ur car is 1.3.. i presume the problem lies on the cable.. reoilin might not cure the problem as dust and all have got stuck into the cable.. changin the cable could possibly solve ur problem.. by the way, its not that expensive..

the F5M21 gearbox very famous for the thrown out bearing shaft to jam , once it gets jam , the clutch will be very stiff , you have to take out the shaft & resurface the shaft & use a high temp grease and place it back . cause normally water goes into it and make it rust , that is one of the main reason it gets jammed .

i had this problem recently like 6 months ago , so this is what i did . see the handle like the flush handle on your toilet bowl , notice the blue colour grease around the shaft .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/clutch/zthclutch.jpg

see the shaft ? the shaft needs to turn to , throw out the pressure plate bearing , so if it gets jam'ed , its hard to turn , but enough pressure to make the clutch engage & disengage .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/clutch/zthclutch1.jpg

har, just that simple arr....
ok ok, i'll go change it tomorrow
thanx bro.

Originally posted by vestax@Mar 1 2005, 20:58
the F5M21 gearbox very famous for the thrown out bearing shaft to jam , once it gets jam , the clutch will be very stiff , you have to take out the shaft & resurface the shaft & use a high temp grease and place it back . cause normally water goes into it and make it rust , that is one of the main reason it gets jammed .

i had this problem recently like 6 months ago , so this is what i did . see the handle like the flush handle on your toilet bowl , notice the blue colour grease around the shaft .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/clutch/zthclutch.jpg

see the shaft ? the shaft needs to turn to , throw out the pressure plate bearing , so if it gets jam'ed , its hard to turn , but enough pressure to make the clutch engage & disengage .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/clutch/zthclutch1.jpg
so errmm...
i have to get the mech remove the gearbox and take off the shaft, resurface and add grease, right?

how much does it cost u to do that?

so changing clutch cable doesn't help right?

best way to troubleshoot , is to change all wear & tear parts first like clutch cables , that is one of the cheapest , if it works , then good for you & your pocket . if it does not work , then u`ll know la whats the problem :lol: . taking out the gearbox it depends on your mechanic la , how much he wants to charge you . normally from 70 bucks to 100 + .

so now the problem solve or not??
mine clutch become heavier! <_<

Originally posted by vestax@Mar 1 2005, 21:12
best way to troubleshoot , is to change all wear & tear parts first like clutch cables , that is one of the cheapest , if it works , then good for you & your pocket . if it does not work , then u`ll know la whats the problem :lol: . taking out the gearbox it depends on your mechanic la , how much he wants to charge you . normally from 70 bucks to 100 + .
oooo
yesterday i go to the mech, and he adjusted the clutch cable to make it more free play, the clutch feel softer now, but i'll change the clutch cable and gearoil on sunday lorr
cuz yesterday no time lar haihzz...
hopefully the cable is at fault.

i was thinking of changing the whole clutch and bearing already but dunno worth the money spend or not...
the mech say no need to change lar. but i'm abit itchy hehehe...
my car done 80k km liao...

anyway, thanx for the reply sifu vestax. wanna treat u TT liao.