See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
The Cefiro Club Malaysia
Custom Y-Pipe For A32/A33
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="defcon1" data-source="post: 2145785" data-attributes="member: 30064"><p>Back-pressure has nothing to do with it. As I have stated many times...<strong>ALL back-pressure is bad and restricts flow</strong>...and it is <strong>flow that provides power.</strong></p><p></p><p>The way the Y-Pipe works is this :</p><p></p><p>a) Each ignition, followed by expulsion of exhaust gasses becomes a pressure wave in the piping of the exhaust. The smoother the exhaust flow, the faster the pressure wave, and the more defined the wave form. In other words, a smooth pipe dissipates the wave slower than a rough pipe.</p><p></p><p>b) Imagine when your engine is on...you get a series of continuous wave fronts pulsing through the piping. Each wave will produce a partial vacuum behind it...pulling the wave behind it. Once this series of wave fronts are stable...you will get a suction effect through the engine thereby pulling more air in the other end of the engine....therefore, more O2 and more power.</p><p></p><p>c) This system requires pressure pulses and a continuous series of wave fronts to work. At the low end of the power band, when you first start up, it takes time for the pressure waves in the piping to build up. Before this build-up, the pressure waves produced tend to dissipate faster, thereby reducing the suction effect i.e. less power.</p><p></p><p>d) <strong>BUILDING UP PRESSURE BY FASTER EXPULSION OF EXHAUST GASSES MUST NOT BE CONFUSED WITH BUILDING UP PRESSURE BY RESTRICTING FLOW.</strong> In the first instance, you will gain power, and in the second, you will lose power. Putting something in the path of the exhaust gasses will simply restrict the flow of gasses thereby SLOWING DOWN THE PRESSURE WAVES and reducing power.</p><p></p><p>e) One way to increase torque is to use smaller diameter piping. This will facilitate the building up of continuous pressure fronts since there is less space to fill. However, at the high end, this may become a restriction, so you will lose top speed.</p><p></p><p>f) The S-Muffler is a good idea to cut noise. One other thing you may do in addition to the S-Muffler is incorporate a simple non-restrictive bullet. DO NOT use the funny screw type bullets you see on the market. Those may work well with some cars by facilitating the outflow of exhaust gasses, but they WILL destroy the pressure pulses, which is the basis of how the Y-pipe works.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="defcon1, post: 2145785, member: 30064"] Back-pressure has nothing to do with it. As I have stated many times...[B]ALL back-pressure is bad and restricts flow[/B]...and it is [B]flow that provides power.[/B] The way the Y-Pipe works is this : a) Each ignition, followed by expulsion of exhaust gasses becomes a pressure wave in the piping of the exhaust. The smoother the exhaust flow, the faster the pressure wave, and the more defined the wave form. In other words, a smooth pipe dissipates the wave slower than a rough pipe. b) Imagine when your engine is on...you get a series of continuous wave fronts pulsing through the piping. Each wave will produce a partial vacuum behind it...pulling the wave behind it. Once this series of wave fronts are stable...you will get a suction effect through the engine thereby pulling more air in the other end of the engine....therefore, more O2 and more power. c) This system requires pressure pulses and a continuous series of wave fronts to work. At the low end of the power band, when you first start up, it takes time for the pressure waves in the piping to build up. Before this build-up, the pressure waves produced tend to dissipate faster, thereby reducing the suction effect i.e. less power. d) [B]BUILDING UP PRESSURE BY FASTER EXPULSION OF EXHAUST GASSES MUST NOT BE CONFUSED WITH BUILDING UP PRESSURE BY RESTRICTING FLOW.[/B] In the first instance, you will gain power, and in the second, you will lose power. Putting something in the path of the exhaust gasses will simply restrict the flow of gasses thereby SLOWING DOWN THE PRESSURE WAVES and reducing power. e) One way to increase torque is to use smaller diameter piping. This will facilitate the building up of continuous pressure fronts since there is less space to fill. However, at the high end, this may become a restriction, so you will lose top speed. f) The S-Muffler is a good idea to cut noise. One other thing you may do in addition to the S-Muffler is incorporate a simple non-restrictive bullet. DO NOT use the funny screw type bullets you see on the market. Those may work well with some cars by facilitating the outflow of exhaust gasses, but they WILL destroy the pressure pulses, which is the basis of how the Y-pipe works. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare R-Pride Wado Sakura flower 15x5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing TC4 17x8jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
BRAND NEW original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original FD2R akagakiracing titanium 2.75” exhaust...
Started by
david tao
original GT86 BRZ akagakiracing titanium 2.5”...
Started by
david tao
2pcs only, original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RZ 18x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda CITY 1.5 E (A)
Started by
PIstonHeads
Cars for sale
original BBS RE013 18x8jj offset +50 5H pcd 5x112...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
What is this Supra prototype doing at BMW M Test Centre in Nurburgring?
There it is, guys. The upcoming Supra was spotted in a video for the first time and it sounds lovely. The footage...
TIMETOATTACK 2012 Round 1 Photos
Just sharing some newbie shots:- Zerotohundred's TIMETOATTACK Sepang...
blinking LED on dashboard
saw some car got 2 blue LEDs blinking on corner dashboard (left & right),look nice
wondering whether can DIY or not?
very simple, jz wan 2 LED blinking on dashboard 24 hrs non-stop!
any sifu can help???
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification