D.I.Y EJ Shortshifters

Opt-ion

Good evening all sifus, I was actually trying to save some bucks n try to install the shortshifters in to my stock shifter.

After having the trouble from removing the armrest box from the hand-brake n the compartment box. then trying to remove gear compartment that is lock tight under the (EJ ori gear lock), had a struggle almost broke the lock metal panel. Finally removed it.

Then found a gear rubber stopper surrounding the gear stick, but cud not do anthing from there...

Anyone can help???

I think u have difficulty to removed the rubber bush with the plastic bush inside. try to removed the rubber separately then u can easily remove the plastic bush.
experience before.......gud luck.

Thanks alot guys, I've got it fixed at the mechanic. Thx for the info shiroitenshi &
4gvtec
p.s- Anyone out there who wants to DO this DIY it's always better u have a 2tonnes jack!!!!

Opt-ion said:
Thanks alot guys, I've got it fixed at the mechanic. Thx for the info shiroitenshi &
4gvtec
p.s- Anyone out there who wants to DO this DIY it's always better u have a 2tonnes jack!!!!

Not actually, easily accomplished with the car's jack, and two jack stands (those stands with locks)

Reason being.. jackstands don't topple over easily unless you kick it really really really hard, while a car jack can sometimes topple over (and crushing you under the car)

Sorry to hear your first attempt at DIY failed. Good luck next time?

Anyway, I'd say a 2-3 ton lift would be a lot easier since you can stand under the car, but who in the DIY world would have that in his garage if he's not a mechanic?

Opt-ion bro, any pic after ur hardwork of installing da short shifter huhuhuhu? besides, wats da diff between this n da ori shifter? wats da benefits of tis short shifter?

Interested to know about this too even thought i'm driving EJ (A). Tell, tell.......

Hmm, forgot to take foto when I was sweating out. I think even then u wud jus don wan to c...

Actually the short shift thrower is to reduce the distance of the gear engagement. For example a normal ori shifter each time u engage gear the distance is 4cm from neutral, instead of that ur reducing it by half maybe 2cm to the gear engagement.

Btw, it only apply on to (Manual) car only.