• Replies 17
  • Views 9K
T

Tom

DRIFTBANNER.jpg

March 6th 2005 (Shah Alam), The
2005 Defying Grip Challenge 01 organised by drift.com.my in association with GT
Radial Tyres was a huge success. The 34 drifters from Ipoh, Johor and the Klang
Valley attracted more than 2,000 spectators.

Some spectators came as early as 9:30am and a sizeable crowd had already built
up in the late morning even though the drifters were only doing their practice
runs.

After the lunch break, the action heats up as the drifters each had 2 qualifying
runs to make it to the elimination rounds. The top 16 were given one chance to
prove their skills to the judges, Yoong and Terence, who dutifully gave up the
chance to drift their own machines.

The top 8 elimination adopted a different format of twin drifting, where each
run has 2 cars drifting side-by-side. The spectacle was simply amazing and the
crowd was simply in awe of the skills on display. A few drifters even managed to
skillfully perform overtaking maneuvers while holding the drift.

The final was a showdown between 2 crowd favourites : Tengku Djan in his panda
coloured Toyota Trueno AE86 and Ser Ming Hui a.k.a Ah Fai in his mean looking
matt black Nissan A31 Cefiro.

After an intense battle where the judges had to call for a re-run, Tengku Djan
won by the narrowest of margin.

Aside of the trophy for best drifter, other prizes were also given out. Best
looking drift car goes to the bright red Nissan C33 Laurel of Zero Lim, smokiest
drift goes to Ariff in his silver Nissan C33 Laurel and the biggest spin goes to
Tan Khan in his Nissan R32 Skyline GTS-t.

The response from the public was truly remarkable, which gave encouragement to
all the drifters and also the organizers, drift.com.my. Outrageous skills were
displayed in a safe and controlled environment and drift.com.my hopes to bring
such spectacles to other parts of Malaysia. Videos and photos are available for
download at the website drift.com.my.

Wah lau eh...damn nice .....in malaysia got an drift skool yah ??? im going register ..... :P :P

Originally posted by evilprince+Mar 28 2005, 20:40 -->
QUOTE(evilprince @ Mar 28 2005, 20:40 )
Wah lau eh...damn nice .....in malaysia got an drift skool yah ??? im going register ..... :P :P
[snapback]848152[/snapback]​
[/b]

Dry land lar brother..hahaha!! very telan tyre lar..hahahah!! drift school got..hahaha!!! but I dunno where lar..gagaga!!! I know who u are..hahhaha!!!

--QuoteBegin-Tom
@Mar 28 2005, 16:08
*Images*
[/quote]

btw...sorry r Tom the pict was sort of small..but..is that a S.E.G there? :blink: kenot see properly ler...

picture small??? :huh:
did you move your mouse over the picture and click on it you lazy ...
js joking ya :P
Originally posted by sbirdz+Mar 28 2005, 20:56 -->
QUOTE(sbirdz @ Mar 28 2005, 20:56 )
Originally posted by evilprince@Mar 28 2005, 20:40

Dry land lar brother..hahaha!! very telan tyre lar..hahahah!! drift school got..hahaha!!! but I dunno where lar..gagaga!!! I know who u are..hahhaha!!!

--QuoteBegin-Tom
@Mar 28 2005, 16:08
*Images*

btw...sorry r Tom the pict was sort of small..but..is that a S.E.G there? :blink: kenot see properly ler...
[snapback]848201[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Tom, in your 3rd posting (4.08am), theres a broken link on Skagee's laurel...

wow nice... didn't know there are so many people around too hehehe :)

Yup .. thnx for the shots Tom, i was there but by the hillside .. coming down from Rawang that time and entered stadium area.. ;) nice drifts going on there but oni a few minutes able to see.. had to rush pickup my sister to my uncles house .. damn kacau she .. otherwise i would be there till finish .. hhmmm....

Originally posted by kingkong@Mar 28 2005, 22:49
picture small??? :huh:
did you move your mouse over the picture and click on it you lazy ...
js joking ya :P

haha.... ;) I did lar...but dunno ler....maybe becoz of face thingy....the server dun let me click the pictures....hahahhaha!!! :D and sometimes server dun even let me post a message.. :/ *sigh* server also bully newbies..ones.... sigh!~~

hahahhaha!!

Originally posted by evilprince@Mar 28 2005, 20:40

Drift school term already started!!!!

Click here to see the 1st semester :

http://www.drift.com.my/forum/viewtopic.php?t=805

Excellent pics from Tom.

Originally posted by KeonG@Mar 31 2005, 18:01
M'sia drifters are getting more expert already.. cool..
[snapback]857701[/snapback]​

And more and more marks of road demolations soon!! hahaha!!! all car parks...all heavy industrial parks. :D
hahaha!!!