Dilemma on car audio (SEG auto)

t_rider

Hi...

dunno this can post here or not.. i'll post both way...

i'm currently owning a Corolla SEG auto...

i wanna change my audio system...

when i install a brand new tweeter today... they mechanic said i already have amp in my car which is original come with the car....

i'm have 2 option now...

a) buy a new car audio player (give a better bass... the current 1 can't support a good bass-usin ori player)

b) buy an 2 way amp and a subwoofer (the amp is just for playin the subwoofer)

i already change both speakers in front and add-on a pair of tweeters

if you were in my situation... which would you prefer?

or any Sifu here can give me a better option... thx :X-:

the existing front speaker (you may called it woofer) max size is 6.5''. It cant product a detire bass to satisfy you..

u want a bass, then u need a woofer or subwoofer (min 8'' diameter)
woofer = 8''x2 or 10''x2
subwoofer = 10''x2 or 12''x1

you set up can be
- head unit pre-amp to push the front component system
the existing amp to punch the subwoofer

(need to consider the power output for your head unit and the size of mid speaker: power handle, sensitivity dB, acoustic impedance Ohm)

Hi...

dunno this can post here or not.. i'll post both way...

i'm currently owning a Corolla SEG auto...

i wanna change my audio system...

when i install a brand new tweeter today... they mechanic said i already have amp in my car which is original come with the car....

i'm have 2 option now...

a) buy a new car audio player (give a better bass... the current 1 can't support a good bass-usin ori player)

b) buy an 2 way amp and a subwoofer (the amp is just for playin the subwoofer)

i already change both speakers in front and add-on a pair of tweeters

if you were in my situation... which would you prefer?

or any Sifu here can give me a better option... thx :X-:

I think your current player is ok.
What you may need to do is as after your player, joint to a pre-amp. Output from pre-amp must go through amplifier and then to speaker.
Ok, for your front and rear speaker, you may need to have a 4-way amp(this is abit expensive, depending on which brand you are choosing). Why 4-way amp is to save up space. You can buy 2-way amp but you may need two 2-way amp to power up you front and rear speaker.
For BASS sound, you may need to put a sub-woofer. At the pre-amp itself there is a subwoofer output source which you can connect using RCA cable to the amp.
For this you may just need a normal 2-way amp with high capacity wattage. The best way way is, you may need to spend more money on this compared with the 4-way amp.

Hope my explanation will guide and help you on this topic.

the basic set up
front: 1 pair component system (midrange speakers + tweeters)
rear : 1 x subwoofer
let head unit built-in amp (pre-amp) to drive the front system
a amp to drive the subwoofer

if want to upgrade
rear : 1 pair componet system or coaxial speaker or 6''x9'' 3-way speaker
then you need a amp to drive them
or replace the existing amp by 4-channels amp to drive both rear speakers and subwoofer

you need to add a pre-amp as burnner mentioned
or add a electronic crossover for tuning purpose

remeber you must bring the bass position from rear (car booth) to middle of the car interior, and
to bring the front speaker sound field a far as possible away the windscreen
(poor set -up where the front sound field is just inside the windscreen, front of you face). Those can be tuned by the electronic crossover.

Try to locate (or adjust) the midrange and tweeter positions (or to focus) to the level of your ears.

As what burnner said is right, get a good componet cable (RCA cable) and a good speaker cable which is improve the sound quality significantly, the money you invested will not be wasted.

To achieve a good sound quality as expected, use a good head unit (i.e. 20 or 24 bits) and dont forget to play with a good quality CD

Thank you

oh... ok ok... Must support ori...

anyway... thx for all the opinions... really need consider all of them properly...

this time really cost me a fortune... for my 2nd 'wife'... nvm la... LOL