DIY - repair aircon grill

Joyride

I think most of the SW20 owner here face the same problem. a broken aircon grill.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4051/4234085392_dd32b1851b.jpg

And if u replace it with a new one, it's not so expensive though. but it will broke again. simply because the material holding the vanes is too easy to crack.

I had tried to replace it with a wire and hope it can last longer then a new one. below are the steps i manage to take down photos and share it out as follow :

---------- Post added at 12:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:32 AM ----------

:nurse:

first, take of the stereo player. mine car dun have one. so can not show here.

then take off the gear level leather cover by just pulling it up. it easier to put near the front part.

then take out the plastic cover by pulling it upward at the back end.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2756/4233318669_57fe9ede00_m.jpg

Unscrew the 2 screws under the astray.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4026/4234090796_055e7efc43_m.jpg

cool! i need to know how to do this also ... mine koyak already hehehe

ok, now u can start take out the whole panel by pulling it out from this side... the panel is holding by clips, dun worry. no more screws to unscrew.. hehe.. but be gentle and not to break it.

sorry, i lazy to show where are the clip located. you can find it out by pulling it softly and feel where it located.

there are 3 wires u gotta unplug. 1) is the wire for hazel light switch. there is a clip your left at the socket(white color). u gotta press it in then only can pull it out.

2) the cigarette lighter. this wire socket(yellowish) you may just pull out if i am not remember wrongly. then the bottom, the lightbulb(green &yellow wire), you have to twist it to pull out.

then the whole panel can come out already... if you are 1st time doing it , you might want a cigarette break now... hahaha...:smokin::smokin::smokin::smokin::smokin::smokin::smokin::smokin:

ok, smoke enough, continue....:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

part of the duct is attached to the panel, using a (may be u need two pair) thin screw driver, unclip the duct as u can see here.. there are 4 on the top and 4 on the bottom, i think it is easier to unclip the bottom one 1st..
:listen:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/min-min/4234089138/
then remove the grill from the duct, take out from the side that have open end as show below.

remove and clear the broken stem that holding the vanes. it not difficult as it quite 'breakable'.

---------- Post added at 01:22 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:05 AM ----------

tools you need,

a long end playar and wire.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/min-min/4233312553/010120101813

measure the gap of each vane, you may use the playar thickness as a guide by putting the playar on top of the grill and judge the gap between the hold that holding the vane. this is to ease to twist the wire later.

start bend a small circle at the end of the wire using the tips of the playar. after that, put the wire in the middle of the playar (just now u have judge the gap with the playar) bend the wire to 90 degree to mark where to bend the wire to second cirlce.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/min-min/4234086544/010120101815

after the success making the second holes, you may feel exciting..:rofl::rofl::rofl: hehehe..coz u are on business now... but not too happy yet.. measure the distance of the 2 holes 1st see whether it aline with the vanes gap or not... you can light another cigratte when you are doing that... haha..:smokin::smokin::smokin::smokin:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4010/4233313553_ab589f535b_m.jpg

haha... but it feel quite hot when you are doing it.. haha...

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

tiu, why the photo now show up already?

---------- Post added at 01:38 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:26 AM ----------

so, then you repeat the same things for the other holes on the wire. after finished, check the holes u make aline with the vanes or not.

then some patient you need here.

position the vanes, start hock up the wire to the vanes from one end. then hock the hole wire in. you may need a few attempt to do this as the other vanes might run out of position.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2725/4233314065_fea088739e_m.jpg

after that gently press the wire circle to make it 'bite' on the vane abit with the playar so that it won;t fall off. you may need to try to move the vane around after you press each of the cirlce. this to make sure it won;t press to hard and jammed up the vanes. for me i just press the middle and both end of the wire. other vane l leave it have some free play.

finished product.:biggrin: want to buy??? heavy duty SW20 aircon vanes. hahaha.
.:rofl::rofl::rofl:

---------- Post added at 01:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:38 AM ----------

That is it. hope i did not left out any important step here.

Good luck if you want to try it out!!!

Happy DIY.
:driver:

nice, last time I use a pc of clear plastic form the microwavable Tupperware and burn holes in them with a soldering iron and clip them on heheheh but not so nice lah…