does heat destroy cd?

desmond937

hello zth-ians,
i have some questions been wondering since i started driving, does heat inside the car destroy cd? cos i always park my car under the sun, especially afternoon, my car get so hot! i love music alot, so plenty of cds in my car is a must. however, i dunno where to hide my cds except the gloove box, one thing i worry is the heat. so wondering will heat destroy the cd? and also does heat make the cd quality deterioriate? same as to the equipment in the car especially speakers. quite heart-ache when i think of this question everytime. your reply is highly appreciated. thanks.

p/s: if dun mind also suggest me a solution for this.

desmond.

As long as the cd's are not directly in the sun or under the windshield. Ive seen cd's melt or warp before.. thats when they rosak, ie cannot use anymore.. Leaving it in the glove box should be fine + in a cd case..

As for speakers.. not sure how hot it it takes to sag the rubber surround of the cones. But haven't heard of anyone suffering from this yet? I see more ppl having rust problems tho than damage rubber surrounds..

What you can do is use those chrome heat repellent thingys that you put on the inside of ur windshield. Takes out most of the heat usually.. If you dare, then wind the window a bit but risking security :)

Park under a tree? covered car-park?

Hope this helps