Does it matter how turbo manifold pipe joint?

normality78

bro's,

i wonder does it make any diff on how the turbo manifold pipe being joint up? what i mean is, are there any order on which pipe shld joint up with which pipe no? Below are some of the pic sample

Like this HKS manifold, its like all pipe will joint into 1 main pipe thn lead into the flange.

http://img474.imageshack.us/img474/102/importstore18762392397621zk.gif

Where as this, the 1st pipe and 2nd pipe joint as 1, 3rd and 4th pipe joint as 1 thn lead into flange

http://img469.imageshack.us/img469/9098/52189976full6aa.jpg

This is all individual pipe join into the flange at once

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/6852/newturbomanifold41lx.jpg

i think depends on which turbo u using because twin scroll turbo needs separate funnel and depends on those exhaust pulse.not very sure though

attachment-2.jpg

this was posted somewhere in zerotohundred

hello
the top is a cast type log manifold, those are very strong an are not prone to crack, that is a simple design for placement of the turbo, its for smaller tight fitting spaces for small turbos, draw back is reversion,exhaust gases going back to the cyn..
the others are equal length manifolds there design is for scavenging the exhuast pluses for a better spool up .. but there are many different types of material .. shed 40 piping is cheap to buy, but drawbacks is very heavy it can crack
304 stainless is stronger an lighter an it reatains heat well
321 stainless is very strong an even lighter
inconel is the best but who can afford it...
please use a turbo support brace so the manifold will not crack..
heres a link so u can learn about different materials ..
if u need more info on buliding them ask...
http://www.burnsstainless.com/TechArticles/techarticles.html
henri

henria86 : sorry bro, thts not wht we r looking for
we looking for the joint design, example like cylinder 1 and 4 joint to one pipe , then 2-4 joint, then use for twinscroll , those kinda info

The story between equal length headers is that the exhaust pulses hit the turbine blades at evenly spaced intervals. This is supposed to promote smoother turbo operation. You also need to size the runners appropriately, so that the exhaust pulses hit the turbine blades with as much velocity as possible.

IMH.H.H.H.O, there is no appropriate order for the runners to join as there is very little scavenging in a turbo engine. Just a 4-1 design will do.

battousai : but some turbine housing designs like the td05HR twin scroll , and t3 turbing housing which has two exhaust inlets , there sure be a design for it right

i think the twin scroll design helps reduce exhaust reversion onli.....not really for exhaust scavanging like in an NA exhaust system.

ive seen people pair cyl 1-4, 2-3 (usual type), also 1-2,3-4 (i've seen onli in magazines)...so....i dun really know the exact calculation behind it all.....