dual 2 ohm or dual 4 ohm?

vin_chan

i am using kicker kx600.1 monoblock amp. now i am consider to buy a kicker s10l7, what ohm is suitable for my amp?:sad_smile:
dual 2 ohm or dual 4 ohm?
hope all the sifu can help me, thanx!!

Since you are using a monoblock that's stable down to 2-ohm, you should be getting the dual 4-ohm, and wired them parallel for a 2-ohm load to get the best out of your monoblock, i don't seem to see it being stable down to 1-ohm for your monoblock, so it's not advisable to get the dual 2-ohm for parallel wiring down to 1-ohm(series wiring will make it 4-ohm but you won't be maximising your monoblock)

Mean that if using 4ohm dual voice coil sub, my amp should able go to 2 ohm stable.
If 2ohm dual voice coil sub, my amp sholud can go to 1 ohm stable?

dual 4 ohm wired in parallel = 2 ohm
dual 4 ohm wired in series = 8 ohm
dual 2 ohm wired in parallel = 1 ohm
dual 2 ohm wired in series = 4 ohm

ic. because my amp is stable at 2ohm, so i can only choose the dual 4 ohm sub to match my amp, rite?

Not exactly say "match you amp", but you could maximise your amp, instead of buying the monoblock and wasting it running at half the power using only 4-ohm, when you run 2-ohm, you are maximising your amplifier as it's meant to run at 2-ohm for "maximum" power, so to speak.

vin_chan said:
ic. because my amp is stable at 2ohm, so i can only choose the dual 4 ohm sub to match my amp, rite?

does it say 2 ohm stable mono or stereo?
if stable at 2 ohm bridged mono, then yes, u need a DVC 4 sub wired in parallel
if it says stable 2 ohm stereo, usually it is stable at 4 ohm bridged mono, so u need a SVC 4 sub or a DVC 2 sub wired in series.

Zenn, the amp he has is a monoblock la... Kat atas tu, Kicker KX600.1 :tongwink:

ahhhh sorry, my bad my bad...

anyway, the info above would still be useful for some others....

Hehe... okie... weh... long time didn't hang out wif you liao la... :tongwink:

tell me la when u wanna come down KF i try to go la, sunday better..