Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
RE Club Malaysia
FINALLY!! Your reliable source for all your rotary needs...
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="13btt" data-source="post: 1129101" data-attributes="member: 3125"><p><strong>Sorry to burst your bubble...</strong></p><p></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Firstly I commend you on your efforts and enthusiasm with the rotary engine and providing a solution to the lack of knowledge and resources here in Malaysia. This too was my goal but I have had limited success for a number of reasons which sadly I have come to realize are all beyond my control. If I may I would like to elaborate on my findings and provide my opinion as follows - I apologise ahead of time if some of you may be offended by my comments...</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">In my 4 years personal experience with RE (1995 FD RX-7) ownership and total 10 years rotary experience which started in Australia plus 5 years interaction with RE owners here including comments from some pretend RE builders in the workshop scene I have come to realise the following.</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">There are many, but two main problems with the rotary engine's success in Malaysia. Firstly the lack of knowledge/skill in RE rebuilding by local mechanics (not entirely their fault) is well understood but more importantly the lack of funds of the RE owner wherein most RX-7 owners prefer to spend their (perhaps) limited funds on aesthetics rather than building a good & reliable engine. Malaysia has a culture of chop-shop replacement parts to save cost over new parts and this includes chop-shop engine versus rebuild existing with new parts. Afterall an engine kosong is most often cheaper than a rebuild done properly which is even more clearly seen from your PAC engine pricing. Why else would chop-shops throughout Malaysia be so prevalent and successful.</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Even if most RE owners spent all their funds on the engine alone most (IMO) cannot afford the PAC Performance engine cost at around RM60,000!! Holy sh*t that cost is at least 75% the value of their car. There is no doubt in my mind that they (PAC) are exceptional at building performance rotary engines (after all the Aussies build some of the best rotary engine in the world). I am also sure they are on par or better than the RotorMaster in Sydney.</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Therefore in my opinion you will be hard pressed to find a good handful of RE owners as you need to kick this off, i.e. that can afford to spend the money necessary to own a PAC Performance engine. This is further supported by the fact that the Ringgit is very small compared to most other currencies. The Ringgit has depreciated against the Aussie dollar from $AUD1.00 to RM1.70 in 2001 where today it is a HUGE RM2.80!! However, should I be wrong then good luck to you and I wish you all the best in your RE endeavours!</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Now some of you may think I am blowing my trumpet and well you are right. However, I believe I have the personal experience to back it all up...8-) Comments most welcome…</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Finally...a word of advice to you Edwin - most owners think RM5,000 is a lot of money to spend building an engine...hence to jump from this RM5,000 to RM60,000 is a HUGE and unthinkable jump:confused_smile: . How do I know this?? – because I have built in excess of 15 engines here in KL for RE owners, workshops in Sunway and also Singapore…at or around RM5,000. Of course these engines are not as good as PAC but they are the best that can be achieved at the price point and definitely far superior to other local builds including those from our friend out in Subang by a mile at least!</span></p><p> <span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">All of you out there in ZTH (RE owners) please speak up and tell me how much you would be willing to pay for a reliable rebuild from PAC performance or similar Australian source…perhaps this can help Edwin source a suitable build specification from PAC and save him from disappointment.</span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f"></span> </p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Best regards to ALL,</span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f">Glen :shades_smile: </span></p><p><span style="color: #555a5f"></span></p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="13btt, post: 1129101, member: 3125"] [b]Sorry to burst your bubble...[/b] [COLOR=#555a5f]Firstly I commend you on your efforts and enthusiasm with the rotary engine and providing a solution to the lack of knowledge and resources here in Malaysia. This too was my goal but I have had limited success for a number of reasons which sadly I have come to realize are all beyond my control. If I may I would like to elaborate on my findings and provide my opinion as follows - I apologise ahead of time if some of you may be offended by my comments... In my 4 years personal experience with RE (1995 FD RX-7) ownership and total 10 years rotary experience which started in Australia plus 5 years interaction with RE owners here including comments from some pretend RE builders in the workshop scene I have come to realise the following. There are many, but two main problems with the rotary engine's success in Malaysia. Firstly the lack of knowledge/skill in RE rebuilding by local mechanics (not entirely their fault) is well understood but more importantly the lack of funds of the RE owner wherein most RX-7 owners prefer to spend their (perhaps) limited funds on aesthetics rather than building a good & reliable engine. Malaysia has a culture of chop-shop replacement parts to save cost over new parts and this includes chop-shop engine versus rebuild existing with new parts. Afterall an engine kosong is most often cheaper than a rebuild done properly which is even more clearly seen from your PAC engine pricing. Why else would chop-shops throughout Malaysia be so prevalent and successful. Even if most RE owners spent all their funds on the engine alone most (IMO) cannot afford the PAC Performance engine cost at around RM60,000!! Holy sh*t that cost is at least 75% the value of their car. There is no doubt in my mind that they (PAC) are exceptional at building performance rotary engines (after all the Aussies build some of the best rotary engine in the world). I am also sure they are on par or better than the RotorMaster in Sydney. Therefore in my opinion you will be hard pressed to find a good handful of RE owners as you need to kick this off, i.e. that can afford to spend the money necessary to own a PAC Performance engine. This is further supported by the fact that the Ringgit is very small compared to most other currencies. The Ringgit has depreciated against the Aussie dollar from $AUD1.00 to RM1.70 in 2001 where today it is a HUGE RM2.80!! However, should I be wrong then good luck to you and I wish you all the best in your RE endeavours! Now some of you may think I am blowing my trumpet and well you are right. However, I believe I have the personal experience to back it all up...8-) Comments most welcome… Finally...a word of advice to you Edwin - most owners think RM5,000 is a lot of money to spend building an engine...hence to jump from this RM5,000 to RM60,000 is a HUGE and unthinkable jump:confused_smile: . How do I know this?? – because I have built in excess of 15 engines here in KL for RE owners, workshops in Sunway and also Singapore…at or around RM5,000. Of course these engines are not as good as PAC but they are the best that can be achieved at the price point and definitely far superior to other local builds including those from our friend out in Subang by a mile at least! All of you out there in ZTH (RE owners) please speak up and tell me how much you would be willing to pay for a reliable rebuild from PAC performance or similar Australian source…perhaps this can help Edwin source a suitable build specification from PAC and save him from disappointment. [/COLOR] [COLOR=#555a5f]Best regards to ALL, Glen :shades_smile: [/COLOR] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original FD2R akagakiracing titanium 2.75” exhaust...
Started by
david tao
original GT86 BRZ akagakiracing titanium 2.5”...
Started by
david tao
2pcs only, original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RZ 18x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare spec Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda CITY 1.5 E (A)
Started by
PIstonHeads
Cars for sale
original BBS RE013 18x8jj offset +50 5H pcd 5x112...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG3 18x8 18x8.5...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original Endless M4 S2 4pot 2pot brake caliper set...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing RG2 17x8.5jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
best wheel size for both handling and performance
hi all sifus, need some advice.
from your experience, which are the best rim size for sw20 for both its performance and handling?
i realize that most owners will go for 17", what about 16"? or should i keep it 15"...
Rare Item!! Recaro A8 FS
As per above thread...Very rare limited edition Recaro seat. Reclinable with solid backing in silver color.
As new kept in Australia for a couple of years now just recently shipped back.:slug:
Price -...
Panel For 52mm Gauges
juz wanna share my "holiday-nothin-better-to-do-project"...
items needed:
- drill - with 2mm drill bit
- acrylic (plexi board) [those material for number plate's PLATE] - 3mm thick
- acrylic cutter
- file - semi...
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification
Log-in
for an ad-less experience
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
RE Club Malaysia
FINALLY!! Your reliable source for all your rotary needs...