Front and Rear Rim Size Clearance

kennix

Hi all,

I have this problem when I'm trying to fit my original spare tyres which is 185/60R14 to the rear and it can't clear. It got stucked with the Rear Disc Caliper.

Here's the details of my brake system. Halfcut is Levin BZ-? and I've fitted the rear brake system on directly without modifying anything together with the knuckle I suppose.

As for the front, I know for sure that original 14inch spare rim can't fit cause I'm using the brake system from SuperStrut system. Both rotor and Caliper are the twin pot one.

My main concern is the rear. Anyone encountered this? Does that mean that I have to use 15 inch to clear the rear?

Thanks in advance.

yes here u need 15" at least with offset less den 40 to clear the brake caliper

I'm pretty sure stock 14 steel rims fit rear disk.
If your car is second-hand,check if your stock steel rim is the same with other Toyota steel rim.
If you bought your car from new, check the caliper and see if any custom bracket is used to mount to the hub.
Good luck

Thanks bro 8313.

mamatAE111,

erm...I definitely confirm the front can't fit with the ori steel rim cause it's twin pot. As for the rear, erm...it is from the AE111 Levin Half-cut and directly fitted on. There weren't any custom bracket used as far as I know...anyway, I'll double confirm again. It surprised me cause my fren owned an AE111 SEG fitted the rear with steel rim without any problem. His halfcut was AE111 Corolla GT. Maybe that could be the reason? There seems to be a lot of things to be verified here such as Levin/Trueno rear disc and caliper size different from AE111 Corolla GT??? Fuh...confused confused...

Mine is AE101 SEG. Does the size of the ori steel rim different between AE111 and AE101 SEG???

Got myself a set liao....:rofl:

Now need tyres. Well, i open this thread because I'm surprise with the issue mentioned. This is also good to help the rest of members to understand the things I faced too.

Not till when you need to change the tyres and only found out that it can't fit...then really jialat lor...:biggrin:

Bro 8313,

Since you have experience, mind to share with me? The size of my rim and tyres are 205/45R16. Rim size...7jj with 33 offset. Will this cause problem? Cause 15 inch with offset 40 almost rubbing my absorber hi low adjustable ring liao...but 15 inch only 6jj or 6.5jj right?

Now my 16 inch is 7jj...meaning wider but offset 33...any difference?

err...16x7 +33 need to knock rear arc bit..but no sangkut at inner part lor...front will clear no prob..but since u use adj den its stiff

bro kennix,

the sprinter trueno bz-whatever comes with 15 inch as standard which i guess what toyota had in mind for brake clearance. stock measurements are 15 inch with offset of +38 (i think) with 195/55R15 tyres. hope this helps.

Thanks bro 8313. I think I'll have to fit it on to test and see the results. I guess offset 33 should be ok if I set my abs higher.

Bro Captain Fast,

Checking with this link: http://www.alljapanesecars.com/viewcr.php3?mk=Toyota&md=Corolla%20Levin&yr=2000&mc=AE111

The AE111 BZ-G and BZ-V has different rim size. Anyone can confirm the details are correct? That is why I'm confused. Hahaha...if 14 inch on BZ-G can clear, why not mine? Design of steel rim different? Hmm...

I also don't know from which car model my disk brake came from.
I tested the steel rims because I experienced a flat tire on my front tire on the Kuantan highway once. But I was also using Twin pot, so steel rims have to put at rear wheel and swap rear sport rim to the front. If the steel rim cannot fit then, I'll be stuck on the highway!!
You can get 15" with 7" width. Buddy Club rims or some Volk's have 7" width for 15 rims.

Thanks bro 8313. I think I'll have to fit it on to test and see the results. I guess offset 33 should be ok if I set my abs higher.

Bro Captain Fast,

Checking with this link: http://www.alljapanesecars.com/viewcr.php3?mk=Toyota&md=Corolla%20Levin&yr=2000&mc=AE111

The AE111 BZ-G and BZ-V has different rim size. Anyone can confirm the details are correct? That is why I'm confused. Hahaha...if 14 inch on BZ-G can clear, why not mine? Design of steel rim different? Hmm...

i didn't know that there were 14 inch rims for the trueno but as far as i know for the super strut suspension setup kind with twin pot brakes on will definitely need 15 inch to clear safely. :)