Fushing Engine

huakenny said:
u mean if we hv Oil Catch Tank.....n if we r using 5w/40..d oil wil go to Oil Catch Tank...rite? n wit 20w/50 d oil wont go..am i rite?

It will go to Oil Catch Tank if u use any type of engine oil, but old engine+thinner oil= much more oil go to the Oil Catch Tank.

gentleman said:
It will go to Oil Catch Tank if u use any type of engine oil, but old engine+thinner oil= much more oil go to the Oil Catch Tank.

oic..thanks bro......my car BOV got motor oil comes out n fren suggest me to put Oil catch Tank.....i wonder izzit my piston ring makan oledi...my engine 4G63t

if ur BOV got motor oil...then definately ur compressor got motor oil also. Try to disconnect the piping from the compressor to the intercooler and check.....

gentleman said:
if ur BOV got motor oil...then definately ur turbine got motor oil also. Try to disconnect the piping from the compressor to the intercooler and check.....

hoses got oil....intercooler din check coz hv to remove front bumper..turbo no oil la....i suspect oil comes out from d engine cover head that hose connect to air cleaner tat....coz owes high rev

Well if anything u do fast (high rev) it will wear out fast......well OCT objective is to "recirculate" and also filter fumes/oil/unburn gases goes back to intake manifold and at the same time it will trap oil to go to intake manifold/air filter and that way it will keep it clean.

gentleman said:
Well if anything u do fast (high rev) it will wear out fast......well OCT objective is to "recirculate" and also filter fumes/oil/unburn gases goes back to intake manifold and at the same time it will trap oil to go to intake manifold and that way it will keep it clean.

bro..my engine bay hv no space to put in OCT...izzit usinf petrol filter can helps? coz i see in dmstuner.com...lots of evo use petrol filter to replace OCT coz smaller n easier to put....can a?

Well i've tried that before at my car but the petrol filter will have a lot of oil in just matter of days. Another things is that for me........it's kind of "choked/restrict" the fumes/oil from going out when it's supposed to flow out. It's a cheaper alternative using petrol filter/ mini filter but for me it's just not perfect. My opinion only

gentleman said:
Well i've tried that before at my car but the petrol filter will have a lot of oil in just matter of days. Another things is that for me........it's kind of "choked/restrict" the fumes/oil from going out when it's supposed to flow out. It's a cheaper alternative using petrol filter/ mini filter but for me it's just not perfect. My opinion only

erm....i think so..coz petrol filter too small....so if OCT...where u think is d perfect palce to place? and d oil trapped in OCT need to pour out oso rite? sorry for asking...coz din use OCT b4

KeonG said:
What are the things to be prepared for the Engine flushing?

get urself a can of engine flush oil....pour in ur engine before u change d oil n run it for bout 15minutes......

then let d workshop do d job.....or if u DIY..change d oil like normal.....

i only dare to use "Pre-Up" - can put in and drive for about 100km...but now i cannot find anymore...

about old engines...flushing will remove varnish and sludge build up, that is keeping things sealed and also help maintain pressure are certain tight places...flush and there have been stories of low oil pressure and to low tolerances and bearings makan, etc...if it has been done regularly since new...then ok lah...

Hi guys i might have better solution. We know semi synthetic or fully synthetic oils can clean engine insides right? So i suggest u give it a try using these oils for 2 oil changes and then continue to use your regular oil. I succesfully did this with my 25 year old 2T-B engine and the results are visible from the oil pour in area. I could see that much of the sludge have been disloged and the parts can be seen more clearly now. Last time it was covered with whats looks like mus and oil.

The oil i used was Addinol 10-40, cost RM 85 per 4 litre tub. Run it as per usual oil change. Ocassionally run at high reves. Then second time same procedure. Expensive yes. But for 2 months after worth it. An easier alternative to flushing i guess. Now i'm still with 20/50 for 4 months on. No problems with the engine.

Flushing is clearly more effective. But old gaskets & seals would be taken along too, resulting in oil leaks. Why not give this a try?

I bet many better brand 10/30 oils would be good too. But usually they don;t specify detergent level.