Good ICE Setup/tune...

nakanami

Dear all,

Just a couple weeks ago I installed an amp in my car with alpine component type s plus mohawk bass tube 8" woofer (like nos). My amp is infinity Ra6006 (6 chanels) with power rated 50rms x4 & 75rms x 2.

See this website for more details: http://international.infinitysystems.com/caraudio/product.asp?ProdId='RA6006%2F230'&type=H&Ser=REF&Cat=AMP&language=ENGLISH

I found out that the s type speaker is not really powerfull or really nice to hear, but actually during the installation, I insisted to take the R-type but the shop said my amp is only 50rms and cannot drive the r type which is 70rms.

I just want to know, actually what is the nominal speaker rating for an amp with 50rms output?

And, with the current set up, how should I tune the system? Or what is the best speaker brand and rms rating for my amp?

P/s: My rear speaker are yet to install and maybe will relocate the front component to rear and put a new one for front speaker.

Any advise pls..... :mouth_closed:

i think he is trying to push the type s to u...maybe no ppl wan his type s? anyway, even ur amp cant drive the type s to it's limit, but it's will increase the SQ if the type r is better than s...

So... what is the good rating of the speaker to be drive by my RA6006? Is it more than 50rms or lower?? If lower, I can't get a good one or very rare to find...

imho... if your amp is 50WRMS then the speaker must be between 30% of tht power... like from 35Wrms to 75Wrms...

i think the shop jus try to get rid of the type s... even a HU can drive a Type r.. the question is how well it can drive it...

cheers...

Your amp should be able to power the type-r speakers. Normally a set of speakers can accept certain minimum to maximum power input. I think +-20% should not be any problem. How often you will turn volume to maximum?

from my undestanding, if you want to drive the speakers with the front channel, the RMS of the speakers should be 50W RMS. Same goes for the rear channel. This means that you would be able to fully utilize your amp front and rear channel because they also dish out 50W RMS at 4ohm.

This would be a different story if you want to bridge the channel though. I don't have your amp manual, so, I can't exactly say whether that can be done or not. If that is possible, then you should be able to use a speaker with RMS that's equal to what your amp can support for 2 ohm load. Meaning, you will have 2 channel bridged for your front and 2 more for your sub. Please refer to the product manual whether this is possible or not.

hope this helps

The amp can be bridgeable... 6/5/4/3 CHANNELS... I will try to bridge for the front speaker... (I think I will need a Y-connector for front bridge method isn't?)

Actually i did try on the woofer side and it's produced very loud bass..

Last question... If I were to install a new front component (fully utilised all the channels-relocate type-s to rear), can I use speaker with 75/70rms rating or maintain at 50rms to produce nice sound setup??

Thanks in advance...

I think it's better you concentrate on your front components, Get the type-R or maybe even better, the type-X, and bridge the channels on your amp to power them. They'll sound much better than you run medicore front and rear speakers powered only via 50Wrms.

Just see if you can change the speakers or not. If can is better to change it to better one, if cannot then you have to buy another set to put on front and this type -S put to rear.

I agree with Alcon06, you can use higher RMS speaker for your front by bridging the channel. The type-s one, if can't change, sell used lor...:regular_smile:

I don't see the need for the y-cable. By right, normally, it is just by connecting the CH 1 +ve to speaker +ve and speaker -ve to CH 2 -ve. However, please refer the user manual before doing this. :_:

shift the type-s to the rear and get the type r or type x for the front, wont be a problem one lah.....all this power rating depend on amp brand also cap ayam 50W and high end 50W can really do diff things, your nakamichi 50w i think no problem for type r 70W one....dont worry

A question

Are you in Miri? Your setup like have been mentioned before by a friend of mine working in Miri.

Answering on the questions

Basically the amp is capable of running all component sets. Just a matter that there's a possibility that the setup doesn't have enough "juice". But you may try to bridge the 4 chn to give more power.

In terms of component set yup, type s is a bit so-so. All I can say, it would be better for you to opt for type x or dd linear instead of r. As for sub a 12" might help or if you're driving a hatchback or small car (eg. kancil, satria) you can opt for 10" in a sealed box. I believe your amp can support the power needed.

Hope this helps.

Yup.. I'm in Miri and I think I knew your friend. I agreed on the tuning requirement... Maybe its not up to my expectation and further more I'm yet to know how to tune... I will get your friend to help me.. But, I still want to replace the front component. Its look ugly anyway since the cover are not so prety and the sound ...... What in my mind now is to get either Rogers ARS-2.60 or MTX CTC-160 or DLS (yet to know the model) component. Anyway.. Rogers and MTX will be tested first... Its look like a genuine product since all the sticker are inplaced... DLS is a 2nd hand unit...

dunno la why i thought it was a nakamichi amp, now i read its an infiniti, maybe me dah tua oledi, tersasul plak with your name, haha...

ive heard infiniti amps many are made in china and are very underpowered, not sure about your particular amp though....im not familiar with it. stayed away from infiniti brand when they started selling at cash & carry outlets some years back.