Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
GSM / GPS Security Products
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="mikelsc" data-source="post: 2258011" data-attributes="member: 52377"><p>b00n ...</p><p></p><p>GPRS and GPS are two different things .. apple and oranges. GPS, I have explained. GPRS has something to do with GSM, the mobile phone services. GPRS is a way in which data is sent. When it was introduced, it was set to revolutionize the way data was to be transmitted. Among other things, it now provide a way in which mobile phones can be connected to the internet and be able to surf the net. The first application for GPRS was MMS, which allows you to send pictures from your mobile phones to another mobile phone, or even share music .. any multimedia stuff.</p><p></p><p>Traditionally, car as well as home security systems use SMS and many still do. Apart from being fundamentally different, SMS also cost alot. For 170 characters, you would have to pay anything from 1 cent to 5 cents for local messages. Overseas messages can cost RM1 per message. Whereas for GPRS, the standard charge is 10 cents for 10,240 characters .. regardless of where the data being transfered originates. Do some maths and you will realise that GPRS is a whole lot cheaper. Why then do people say that using GPRS is expensive? Well, it is because of the amount of data that they have consumed. Over the net, a web page may be as large as 100K characters. If they are downloading pictures and music, it can go into the Megabytes. So it adds up. There are not many systems around that use GPRS properly for security purposes. THere are some that claim to work on GPRS but when as to demonstrate it, they will give you lots of excuses including the needed options are not in stock. So as a result, I have never seen one that works. This particular malaysian made equipment must be using GPRS in order to achieve the kind of tracking that it can demo.</p><p></p><p>To digress from all this, you must have noticed that security systems for cars come under two very broad categories. One being active security. This would be the immobilizers, car alarm systems even steering locks .. any thing that actively makes it difficult for the car to be stolen. </p><p></p><p>THen there is the passive security like captor and the GSM systems. Systems that track will quietly give you an idea of where the car has gone. The thief will not know about this .. in fact .. he may not even suspect that something like this exists. </p><p></p><p>A simple cheap tracking system can be improvised. Consider this ... Get a second hand mobile phone that has autoanswer and silent mode facilities. You will need a prepaid sim card like Maxis Hotlink. What you can do then is to charge the phone, turn it on and hide it somewhere in the car. When you find your car gone, you can call in. The phone is on silent so it will not alert the thief. It will auto answer the call and you can listen in to the conversation and might get something useful for the police. Also, you can subscribe to "find a friend" service that someone like maxis provide. Send a SMS, pay 50 cents and it can give you the general location of the phone .. and therefore your car. However, be prepared to be told that your car is in Tun Dr Ismail area. You will not know where in Tun Dr Ismail it is in.</p><p></p><p>Captor is a South African design. When South Africa was under apartied rule and world wide sanctions was imposed on that country for so long that its technology took an evolution path of its own from the rest of the world ... very much like the animals in australia. Car thefts in that country was as common as jelly beans and there were very innovative ways of detering thefts. Captor is one of those. However, the one that I saw that took the cake was one where flame throwers will just get ignited from underneath the car throwing flames out to the side so that the thief will "feel the heat?" ... by the way .. if you want the guy to who broke into the evo to feel the heat this way you can be arrested in Malaysia .. so dont bother trying it.</p><p></p><p>Here is another interesting one that I thought I might share with members of the forum. This came from sky news in the UK where the police baited a car with a camera and this is what they got when someone broke into it. I first came across this link from another forum and I think it was good.</p><p></p><p><a href="http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1243462-1,00.html" target="_blank">Sky News Pictures - Caught In The Act</a> </p><p></p><p>The thief did not take the car but was after things like radios, smart tags, loose change, lap tops .. etc.</p><p></p><p>It would have been better if these images could be transmitted back to a central location. However, doing it via GSM/GPRS would be costly ... because pictures can be very big files. Hopely, when WiMax is deployed in Malaysia it would be cheaper to do something like this. What do you guys think? Should there be a car security system that can send pictures back?</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="mikelsc, post: 2258011, member: 52377"] b00n ... GPRS and GPS are two different things .. apple and oranges. GPS, I have explained. GPRS has something to do with GSM, the mobile phone services. GPRS is a way in which data is sent. When it was introduced, it was set to revolutionize the way data was to be transmitted. Among other things, it now provide a way in which mobile phones can be connected to the internet and be able to surf the net. The first application for GPRS was MMS, which allows you to send pictures from your mobile phones to another mobile phone, or even share music .. any multimedia stuff. Traditionally, car as well as home security systems use SMS and many still do. Apart from being fundamentally different, SMS also cost alot. For 170 characters, you would have to pay anything from 1 cent to 5 cents for local messages. Overseas messages can cost RM1 per message. Whereas for GPRS, the standard charge is 10 cents for 10,240 characters .. regardless of where the data being transfered originates. Do some maths and you will realise that GPRS is a whole lot cheaper. Why then do people say that using GPRS is expensive? Well, it is because of the amount of data that they have consumed. Over the net, a web page may be as large as 100K characters. If they are downloading pictures and music, it can go into the Megabytes. So it adds up. There are not many systems around that use GPRS properly for security purposes. THere are some that claim to work on GPRS but when as to demonstrate it, they will give you lots of excuses including the needed options are not in stock. So as a result, I have never seen one that works. This particular malaysian made equipment must be using GPRS in order to achieve the kind of tracking that it can demo. To digress from all this, you must have noticed that security systems for cars come under two very broad categories. One being active security. This would be the immobilizers, car alarm systems even steering locks .. any thing that actively makes it difficult for the car to be stolen. THen there is the passive security like captor and the GSM systems. Systems that track will quietly give you an idea of where the car has gone. The thief will not know about this .. in fact .. he may not even suspect that something like this exists. A simple cheap tracking system can be improvised. Consider this ... Get a second hand mobile phone that has autoanswer and silent mode facilities. You will need a prepaid sim card like Maxis Hotlink. What you can do then is to charge the phone, turn it on and hide it somewhere in the car. When you find your car gone, you can call in. The phone is on silent so it will not alert the thief. It will auto answer the call and you can listen in to the conversation and might get something useful for the police. Also, you can subscribe to "find a friend" service that someone like maxis provide. Send a SMS, pay 50 cents and it can give you the general location of the phone .. and therefore your car. However, be prepared to be told that your car is in Tun Dr Ismail area. You will not know where in Tun Dr Ismail it is in. Captor is a South African design. When South Africa was under apartied rule and world wide sanctions was imposed on that country for so long that its technology took an evolution path of its own from the rest of the world ... very much like the animals in australia. Car thefts in that country was as common as jelly beans and there were very innovative ways of detering thefts. Captor is one of those. However, the one that I saw that took the cake was one where flame throwers will just get ignited from underneath the car throwing flames out to the side so that the thief will "feel the heat?" ... by the way .. if you want the guy to who broke into the evo to feel the heat this way you can be arrested in Malaysia .. so dont bother trying it. Here is another interesting one that I thought I might share with members of the forum. This came from sky news in the UK where the police baited a car with a camera and this is what they got when someone broke into it. I first came across this link from another forum and I think it was good. [url=http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1243462-1,00.html]Sky News Pictures - Caught In The Act[/url] The thief did not take the car but was after things like radios, smart tags, loose change, lap tops .. etc. It would have been better if these images could be transmitted back to a central location. However, doing it via GSM/GPRS would be costly ... because pictures can be very big files. Hopely, when WiMax is deployed in Malaysia it would be cheaper to do something like this. What do you guys think? Should there be a car security system that can send pictures back? [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare Black Racing Pro N1 16x6.5jj offset...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Rays Volk Racing TE37SL Black Edition...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda city JSracing gtwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda civic fd ~car spray(Ferrari red)
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda jazz fit gk flrs body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 ~M5 front skirt lip with glossy black
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Kia Forte gtwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3 front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Saga VVT Evo Front Bonnet Hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua bezza gear up body kit/spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
help! "make a car dat runs on vegetable or fruits"
anybody got any smart idea? the car is like a toy car size la.. i need help here seriously.. its a project for mechanical engineering.. haha..!
i know SifuS here will sort me out abit..
i was thinking GENERATE...
Twincharged 4agze
halo every sifus!!
just wondering did any1 did this before??
just wanna find out..
i'm driving a 4agze
tot of twincharging it..
if i'm not mistaken, 4agze had strong internal parts
capable of boosting up to ard...
trunk cover sound....
hello all zthians...
i have this problem with my proton 1.6 Sedan where the trunk has this cranking sound when the car is idling or when i am driving through a bumpy road....
so i was wondering tht is there anyone...
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification