Help Define The Issue And Solution...

coach123

Stanley, need your help on this to define the problem and hopefully the solution.

2 wks ago i went back to Richard to explain that my car feels wallowy and somehow when going thru bumps, the car tend to oscillate in an unbalanced manner. he took all four out, stiffening them more. wallow and oscillation was solved. i think the problem was because during the last few revisits, he had stiffened the front without a corresponding stiffening of the rear, causing an imbalance where the front is much stiffer than the rear. the effect of that was the above, plus an unstable and vague feeling on high speed (above 120kph).

i'm pretty satisfied with the settings now. but i noticed another thing, which maybe it's not a problem, but more of a fine tuning problem. i'll describe.

say on high speed (above 100kph or thereabouts)...on a straight line, suddenly you make a sharp zig zag (say from one lane to another). this is what i notice...the first turn it's quite stable. the rear follows faithfully without complain. the front turn-in quite nicely. however on the 2nd turn (to complete the zig zag), the rear tends to oversteer a bit while the front is still ok...maybe the turn in not as sharp.

my question: will stiffening the rear dampers help in reducing that oversteer or make it worse. by this stiffening, will it also create a sharper turn-in but increase oversteer upon acceleration?

granted we don't usually zig-zag, it's not a big problem. but maybe to just understand a bit more on how damping properties affect car handling. have been reading around, and trying to understand more.

anyway, good to know that GTi89's problem have been solved.

hmmm

stiffening the rear WILL induce more oversteer.

from what you tell me, it's not the suspension problem.
Rather, in a slalom, its the tyres that's the culprit.

you see, when you turn a corner (or direction ) from a static position,
the tyre wall flexes with the force, and the car turns also.

trying to change direction aburptly, such as slalom, the tyre wall has to flex the other direction, which means , a transistion period for the other tyre to flex too.

you can only 'cure' this problem via siff side-walled tyres, but it'll kill your comfort ride.

it's your choice.

Stanley,

thanks for the reply. i guess i wasn't too far off in my understanding of the situation...heheh! if that's the case, i guess i'll stop at this setting. Please ask uncle Richard to record down this setting so that on my next service (1 year from now), he knows exactly what settings to set into my dampers.

cheers!

haha will tell him that

oh btw, what tyre size and tyres are you using now?

185/60R14. just replaced tires not too long ago. front RE711, rear ST115.

difficult to get PCD98 rims here...and it is getting more difficult finding good 14" tires nowadays. next round of upgrade will be to look for reasonably priced 15" PCD98 rims, 2nd hand ones also ok.

good tyres would be:

Bridgestone RE711
Yokohama ES100
Yokohama Advan Neova AE07

that's just my opinion.

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Jun 8 2004, 01:48 PM
hmmm

stiffening the rear WILL induce more oversteer.

Huh?. I thought stiffening the rear will counter oversteering??. :blink:

panda

stiffening the rear to a point where it's hard at the rear, FF or FR, it'll oversteer.

which tyre have a good braking in the wet ability?
lucky i didn't knock some other fellow last friday night.
raining and driving too fast. then brake too close.
my car just go like on ice (yikes).
last few meters the tyre at last found some grip my face all white already :rolleyes:
now using Falken Ziex 326.
any suggestion? good braking in the wet.
BTW, my car dun have ABS and this Falken grip in wet is ok when moving :lol:

TOLD ya that tyre sucked big time!

:lol:

can try Yokohama A539..
your size about RM160-180?

:P how about yokohama avs db? :unsure:
this one related to my car noise ler :)
or maybe ES100?? is the A539 noisy?

A539 is a quiet performance tyre

ES100 is a boy racer's tyre. Not bad in dry. Not that sure in wet.

AVS Db? a go-straight only tyre.
terrible handling.

wah, you so fast update liao ah

aiyah, mati lah aku, kena kerja kuat kuat liao, tak boleh malas liao, lets see what I can do ....... - aiyah ini kali tai-tai-wok lor :( ahhahaa