Help with electric windows

markhammill

I'm having problems with the front electric windows on my proton.

The passenger side window is very slow and sometimes stops all together.

The drivers side window jumps forward when it is going up and gets stuck. You have to hold it vertical while putting it up. Which is annoying as it requires two hands and traps your fingures.

Is there anything I can do without buying new motors.

Cheers

silicon spray... just spray at the rubber all round and u will see significant improvement in the speed.

if ur windows glass is not stuck n u assume dat ur bracket is not broken.. then u have to change de motor...

proton cars always have weak power windows motor.. so even with all de grease or lubricant stuff.. it still wont work if ur motor is weak...

:) hie,

use the silicon spray from WD40, it works really well, spray 360 degrees on the rubber linings :lol: if motor weak already then have to change already. :(

hahaha...
im having this problem more then 1 year after i've bought over my satria..
i've change motor, bracket, mirror...!!! (almost everything)
even silicon spray can't help it... if can also b4 rain...
after rain or wash ur car, same problem again again & again...

i finally fed up, change the rubber now...
order liao.... will fix it after when the shop open after cny..

i'll update after i install it....

mark,

sorry to hear about the tripe you've stumbled over... Oh well, proton power windows have a reputation for being like a old woman. don't last very long..

well, as the experts have said above, you can do anything... but still it may have a high possiblity of not working.

I had the same problem with my Honda Accord before, I just replaced the entire window seal..which is a big square 0 which runs along the inside of the door to seal the window when it's closed.. the rubber linings had grown weary and misguided and the window would have to be pushed up and could simply be pulled up...sometimes.

Well..you could try grease, after that, retorque the glass holding screws..

no avail? You just might have to try one of the above options.. it's a pity that there aren't that many wrecking yards in UK, and a pain for labor..

Doesn't Proton have a service center ard there? I suppose J&J might still handle spare parts... otherwise maybe I suppose you could drive up to Philog St Mellons... I believe they're still the dealership holder for Proton and Kia...

:) or DON"T open the windows :P