Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
The Cefiro Club Malaysia
Ignition Coil Packs - How to test them...
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="defcon1" data-source="post: 1401291" data-attributes="member: 30064"><p>Hello guys,</p><p></p><p>A number of you have said that you are having trouble with your coil packs. When you take your car to a mechanic, they tell you that they are all bad and that you have to change them all...basically because they have no idea how to test them.</p><p></p><p>The following procedure has been extracted from Maxima.org and provides a simple methodology as to how our coil packs are to be tested. I have no idea (yet) if it works as I have had no time to test the method. Perhaps one of you can verify ...</p><p></p><p><strong><u>How to verify if your coil packs work!</u></strong></p><p></p><p>Engine worked with: 1996 maxima</p><p>Requires: An ohmmeter (cheap purchase at radio shack....)</p><p>Conditions: Make sure your engine is cold, or it'll be hot on your hands </p><p></p><p>You have 6 Ignition coil packs. 3 up front and 3 near your firewall. (when asking for new ones, they are referred to as L and R) </p><p></p><p>3 are hidden behind the plastic piece on your engine that says NISSAN... simply remove the bolts and remove the plastic piece.</p><p></p><p>Once removed, you should see 3 coil packs. un-plug and test them one at a time.</p><p></p><p>To remove them, simply remove both bolts (do one coil pack at a time...) and pull the coil pack out. </p><p></p><p>Once out, look at the socket. You should see a "+" on the back end of the socket itself. There should also be the letter "B"....</p><p></p><p>The spot where you see the positive symbol, means that's prong number one on the electrical connector.</p><p></p><p>To test:</p><p></p><p>Turn on your ohmmeter and place the positive probe on the 1st prong in the electrical plug of the coil pack. The negative prove should be touching the middle prong. Verification of the ohmmeter at this time should say "0" aka infinite... if it's anything else, the pack should be changed. Next test: reverse the wires... positive on the middle prong and negative on the 1st prong.... on a new coil pack, it should give a value of approximately 1.3-1.7 mega ohms. If any of the readings are off, replace the coil pack.</p><p></p><p>Note: Firewall coil packs are extremely easy to find, simply look in the cracks of the intake header. you'll see 3 similar looking coil packs to the front ones. The exception with these is that they are longer and look a slight bit different. removal is the same process as the front coil packs. Simply pay special attention to not dropping the screws in the intake area... it'll be hard to get out </p><p></p><p>to test: follow the front coil pack testing method. Look for the Positive symbol, this is your first prong... and go from there.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="defcon1, post: 1401291, member: 30064"] Hello guys, A number of you have said that you are having trouble with your coil packs. When you take your car to a mechanic, they tell you that they are all bad and that you have to change them all...basically because they have no idea how to test them. The following procedure has been extracted from Maxima.org and provides a simple methodology as to how our coil packs are to be tested. I have no idea (yet) if it works as I have had no time to test the method. Perhaps one of you can verify ... [B][U]How to verify if your coil packs work![/U][/B] Engine worked with: 1996 maxima Requires: An ohmmeter (cheap purchase at radio shack....) Conditions: Make sure your engine is cold, or it'll be hot on your hands You have 6 Ignition coil packs. 3 up front and 3 near your firewall. (when asking for new ones, they are referred to as L and R) 3 are hidden behind the plastic piece on your engine that says NISSAN... simply remove the bolts and remove the plastic piece. Once removed, you should see 3 coil packs. un-plug and test them one at a time. To remove them, simply remove both bolts (do one coil pack at a time...) and pull the coil pack out. Once out, look at the socket. You should see a "+" on the back end of the socket itself. There should also be the letter "B".... The spot where you see the positive symbol, means that's prong number one on the electrical connector. To test: Turn on your ohmmeter and place the positive probe on the 1st prong in the electrical plug of the coil pack. The negative prove should be touching the middle prong. Verification of the ohmmeter at this time should say "0" aka infinite... if it's anything else, the pack should be changed. Next test: reverse the wires... positive on the middle prong and negative on the 1st prong.... on a new coil pack, it should give a value of approximately 1.3-1.7 mega ohms. If any of the readings are off, replace the coil pack. Note: Firewall coil packs are extremely easy to find, simply look in the cracks of the intake header. you'll see 3 similar looking coil packs to the front ones. The exception with these is that they are longer and look a slight bit different. removal is the same process as the front coil packs. Simply pay special attention to not dropping the screws in the intake area... it'll be hard to get out to test: follow the front coil pack testing method. Look for the Positive symbol, this is your first prong... and go from there. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare Rays Volk Racing TE37SL Black Edition...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda city JSracing gtwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda civic fd ~car spray(Ferrari red)
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda jazz fit gk flrs body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 ~M5 front skirt lip with glossy black
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Kia Forte gtwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3 front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Saga VVT Evo Front Bonnet Hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua bezza gear up body kit/spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 ~M5 front bumper set ~M5 kidney grille...
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
SUMP for airtrek turbo
Hi GUYS
I hope you are all good.
I need a sump for my airtrek turbo
I tried to get one here in the UK and they sent the incorrect one. Please can any of you guys help me locate one or post the link for a sump where...
Planning For Altezza
Hi to all sifu, iam planning to get a Altezza but its still manage to get loan , and how about petrol i heard only manage to use RON 97 only need advice TQ :D
Random Shot: Ferrari F355 Berlinetta in Paris
https://www.zerotohundred.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/184075_10150738852745352_902185351_20153302_4155399_n.jpg
Spotted this blue beauty when I was making my way to the Eiffel Tower. This railway bridge on top of...
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification
Log-in
for an ad-less experience
Home
Forums
Car Clubs
Car Club Categories
The Cefiro Club Malaysia
Ignition Coil Packs - How to test them...