Improve braking power

weikhee86

Does anyone knows how to improve a car's braking power? My car uses disc brake in front and drums for the rear...rear very hard 2 convert to disc brake.. :( got any steel braided brake lines for proton or not? can proton tiara use other car's brake lines? i mean da steel braided ones designed for other cars... :shocked:

Change to a bigger set calipers, servo and master pump. From ur description, seems like a iswara.

Chopshop get RVR calipers pNp for iswara (single pot but damn BIG! :shocked: ) den servo and master pump from skyline hafta mod a bit laa...

With tat u can brake until ur tail end ill lift up :tongue:

Cost few hundred bucks but safer in long term cos u know la iswara standard brake really useless.

jordanti10 said:
Change to a bigger set calipers, servo and master pump. From ur description, seems like a iswara.

Chopshop get RVR calipers pNp for iswara (single pot but damn BIG! :shocked: ) den servo and master pump from skyline hafta mod a bit laa...

With tat u can brake until ur tail end ill lift up :tongue:

Cost few hundred bucks but safer in long term cos u know la iswara standard brake really useless.
he already mention its a tiara. you must have missed it...

upgrade to other types of brake set.... preferable got 4lugs hub.... then u can change to sports rim lo...

what brake set tiara can use i dunno la....

rollakid said:
he already mention its a tiara. you must have missed it...

Opppss...hehe long time didn't log in was away...really miss it la den :dontknow:

omg... tiara parts are hard to find... try to find the suitable brake pump den change it la... if can find la... or u can drill ur disc lo... like those racing wan ar... = ) actually drum is more powerful than disc brake BUT drum is easy to over heat... that's y all the bus and BIG lorry use drum lo...

easy mah...change ur car....cause ur car very hard to get parts ....and not much things can be mod.....

1) check every pump, get experienced mech to totally service/overhaul it
2) change pump to bigger size
3) fit in rear disc brake as well, but loose out hand brake "bite-ness" when parking..

Drums at the rear are fine. During hard braking most of the car's weight is at the front anyway, you won't be using much of the rear brakes, if at all.

Asuuming ur brake sytem is fine changing to good brake pads will do.
U dun need bigger pump or bigger callipers. That will be dangerous n not helping u. Very easy to jam the brakes.

kher said:
Asuuming ur brake sytem is fine changing to good brake pads will do.
U dun need bigger pump or bigger callipers. That will be dangerous n not helping u. Very easy to jam the brakes.

true and not true.. i've converted my kancil's front brakes, disc and caliper to the putra's disc and caliper.. had to swap the master pump to the evo's 1 inch pump coz the standard pump was not pushing enough of fluid.. braking now is fantastic, short, firm and the respond is great.. only problem is that my 14 inch silverstones are not providing enough grip.. i believe if i can get a set of neovas or semi slicks in the front then i could pop my eye balls out of my head every time i slam on the brakes..:shocked:
about locking the brakes, it'll only happen if the tires are not providing enough grip, like my silverstones or that the driver is not modulating the brake pressure fast enough when the wheels locks.. it takes practice but u'll stop faster that way..good luck and have fun:X-:

omg... tiara parts are hard to find... try to find the suitable brake pump den change it la... if can find la... or u can drill ur disc lo... like those racing wan ar... = ) actually drum is more powerful than disc brake BUT drum is easy to over heat... that's y all the bus and BIG lorry use drum lo...

bro justlikeu, mind me asking - can drill the discs meh?? where can do?

gtishadowfax said:

bro justlikeu, mind me asking - can drill the discs meh?? where can do?

Whats up all :X-: Dont mean to intrude but cool topic :regular_smile:

Bro gtishadowfax, usually any machine shop can do the drilling. Some of them can even do the cross slot lines/grooves :regular_smile:

To bro wei, try looking for Nissan Starlet products at chop shops. Espescially the older version. I've noticed alot of Tiaras if upgraded, they'll be using Starlets engines and all :regular_smile: Otherwise, if you got cash to spend, go for Citroen. It's tiaras main model anyways :regular_smile:

But this is all just a suggestion :regular_smile: All other sifus pls advice and correct my mistakes :regular_smile:

Have a good one :cyclops:

oic.. thanks gonstar.. :D..actually about the drilling and cross slotting, it is not recommended for stock rotors..if want better get the one that is already cross slotted and drilled becoz my mech told me if u drill or cross slot the stock rotors (the one that is supplied with the car, it would not stand braking and might crack eventually. U might end up in accident if that happens. Better but the one that is already drilled and cross slotted..Much safer.. Just my 2 cents :)

yup. stock ones are meant to be just un"screwed".
slotting i think is okay.*not too sure* but drilling will weaken the whole structure of the rotor.