Is our country heading for recession?

yeah, I agree that this is indeed a healthy discussion but once a while, someone tends to come in and messes it up. :mad:

kapitan said:
LOL...
Whats the crap about studying so hard etc...
How hard do studying look to you anyway... quit it if you feel its beyond you...
The cost of living is certainly on the rise no doubt but there's no way you say you can survive with RM1800 or RM2000 a month. Forget about the car, take public transport. Just face it... why do you need a car unless you are pursuing a career in sales that would require frequent transportation needs which your company will compensate a part of your burden. Simply said, young grads nowadays enjoy too much liao till little suffering seem like hell to them. You have yet to see the real world and whats lie within it. How many new grad willing to wake up at 630am to prepare and then leave home at 7am to take public transport to arrive in time for work. I still remembered those days where I started walking at 7am for about 1-1.5KMs to the train station from my house to take public transport to my college and when I started a temp job in KL. Dont brag about your own expectation for your qualification. You have expectation so do your boss. You expected better pay and so do your employer expectation for your to deliver your result to them as soon as possible. If you feel your employer underpaid or undervalue your working experience, its time to leave for a better offer somewhere else.

Kapitan,

you got some points there, work hard and smart is the only way to go. Study isnt that hard but its good that the fresh grad have kind of ambition like owing nice cars,good pay, good environment... It wont looks good if losing out these goals in life..

My first job is not bad....starting at rm1600...but the work place no public transport so need to drive there on 7am morning and only reach office at 8am, no saving coz transportation cost me alot and no car allowance!!! Second job better, stay in company hostel, can sleep till 7.30am..but need to work like hell until 8-9pm everyday.Third job...need to travel from JB to spore as early as 5am daily....reach home 9pm daily. After alot suffer, finally got current job, 15mins bus trip to office, flexible working time. although sometimes need to work 7 days a week till late nite but still consider ok becoz i am given an overseas office to incharge...I changed 3 jobs in 2 years......from ,malaysia shifted to s,pore and then to china then hk.....i think if i change job somemore then no boss will dare to hire me.....

been witness the diff in the econ situation(msia,spore and china/hk)....lesson learned is to save up becoz you never know when will the recession come...with less liabilities but more cash. Need to build the saving that atleast will last you for 6mths...the best is 1 year...

Interesting thread indeed. Let you young people discuss first. I'll cum in later.
Wanna see younger minds at work first, mar.
BTW, in case some of don't know, ayam a baby boomer that's retired early than normal, liao.

johndoe said:
the best solution is to earn more money. :D :)

yes, that comes with easier with knowledge. with knowledge, the world is your oyster.

as the saying goes. Our education system dont provide "forward thinking" grads. (with exceptions of minority).

simple example of todays grads; i ask one M*U grad (office trainee) to run a task to conveying a simple message to a lorry driver to unload the shipment printed materials from printer. (downstairs at the entrance of our office).

Upon seeing there were several lorries, he instead ask the closes vehicle to the office (which was carrying potatoes) to unload at our entrance :rolleyes:

He could have use the little brain of his that I am in the business of advertising and not in the retail of selling food ;

Upon seeing that there were indeed several trucks in line, he could have just ask which is the lorry with our printed materials :rolleyes:

why? is a simple task too simple for todays minds.

Ok it may be bad to bunch all of todays young mind in one example. BUt there were far too many examples i've encountered to list here;

I digress.

ask any younger grads today to take a bus/walk to work. The fuss the make. Years back, there weren't any LRT, buses were slow and crowded, vehicles were causing unbelievable traffic (esp mini buses). getting up early for work and working late was part of the job.

Maybe I was groomed, "street smart" but i dont believe (our) education system made the younger chaps more stupid.
Yes, there were "book smarts" in my clan , and sometimes, i do feel they are a little too introvert to succeed at the highest level of corporate world.

great scot, i'm way off topic.

>Is our country heading for recession?>

yes and no.

yes if you choose it to be. sit around and await doom.

no, if you do something about it. keep yourself a tidy sum.

::good luck::

ps. for the employees who feel they are hard done by their bosses. Be your own boss and you will realise.

I totally agree with you. I have many "book smart" friends and have seen many people who are "book smart" but couldn't really climb the corporate ladder. One of their weakness is their communication skills, which they lack. This is especialy important if one wants to go into an MNC company. :)

ok. back to the topic. :)

aramis said:
I totally agree with you. I have many "book smart" friends and have seen many people who are "book smart" but couldn't really climb the corporate ladder. One of their weakness is their communication skills, which they lack. This is especialy important if one wants to go into an MNC company. :)

ok. back to the topic. :)
i agree with you in the sense that someone who excels academically does not necessarily enjoy a swift climb up the corporate ladder.. i guess maybe employers are interested in all rounded employees who can interact as well as posses LEADERSHIP QUALITIES..

having said that, nowadays, its not only a case of what you know.. but sadly WHO YOU KNOW

well if want to learn this "ladder climbing skills" the best place is work for taiwanese company, it meet many of them and...the people in their company can really play politics..today is enemy tomorrow is fren then changing very often...

Hongkee is also strong in this..but not as good as the taiwanese....really thumbs up for them...

links said:
well if want to learn this "ladder climbing skills" the best place is work for taiwanese company, it meet many of them and...the people in their company can really play politics..today is enemy tomorrow is fren then changing very often...

Hongkee is also strong in this..but not as good as the taiwanese....really thumbs up for them...

THe only way to get to the top of the ladder fast is to pull-down the guy above you.
Fukkin corporate games.

There are no friends in business, money talks.
At least that's what I experienced.

The stories my father told me about chinese-businessmen who deal verbally and act according to their words sounds like fairy tales.