Landy Engine Transplant ... Opinion

Savanna 12A

Hi folks,

My next project wld be getting a Land Rover Defender 110 (5-door wagon) planning for an engine transplant.

Seek yr opinion on the the best option for following:-

1) = 2 liter N/A petrol engine (diesel is way out ... high road tax and fuel price keep increasing)

2) light to medium occasional off-road activity

3) durable & easy maintenance

Others to note that this is my first attempt into 4X4.

Appreciate opinion from sifus out there.

Haiyaa, wrong thread laa. Supposed to post this on car modification thread. Never mind, anything goes .... !

hehehe maybe a 1 jz inside shud be nuce but the engine capacity is 2.6l....
which landy u own defender 110 tdi? izit diesel....
i own a landy to a 109 .... old skool.....very old skool...

Yet to own it, still exploring and negotiating. Year 1989 diesel. I think it's a 110.

How about a 3.5 Rover V8 hehehehehe.... I've one lying around.
Good to hear more Landy kaki's here. Damn boring in ZTH when there are virtually no offroaders in the forum, let along Land Rover Enthusiasts.....
I'm not sure what sort of engines ppl drop into Landy Defenders, but u want something around 2 litre so it's really going to be gutless......
I would expect something like a 300TDi or a Rover V8. But unfortunately petrol prices are going up and diesel road tax sucks..... And this is Malaysia, not UK or OZ.
I suggest atleast a bare minimum would be a 22R 2.4 Toyota engine from the LCII and an adaptor plate to mate the engine and gearbox. The Defender being quite heavy would be manageable with a 2.4 litre petrol engine. How about the 2.7 litre from the Prado? The only 2 litre engine i can think that's suitable for this sort of application is the all round crapy 3Y Toyota engine from the Daihatsu Rocky. It's really gutless for offroading.
In my opinion atleast a 2.5 litre petrol engine for the 110.
Or the 1JZ could be another alternative, but the power is pretty high up in the power band. Low end abit crappy.

How about diesels? 1KZ Toyota, Isuzu diesel?
Sigh i want a Defender 90, maxidrive axles, airlockers, 4.6 rover engine, suspension lift, 35 inch Silverstone XT117 tyres.

ive seen a landy 109 wit hilux inside....
no space pretty cramped...
or u want power how bout 7MGTE? it's a 3 litre engine......petrol...
range rover hafkat coz about RM20K lar...
u can reduce the weight of the landy by placing it wit aluminium sheet just leave the chassis as it is....
landy 1989 it's a 110 n diesel.... nice.....mine a pretty old landy but sure runs well

When did a Rangie cost that much? Are u reffering to the 2nd gen RR?
I found a Disco halfcut the other day for 10k. The diesel ones cost more.
I thought the 7MGTE is a 2.8 litre engine? Anway i heard they are quite powerful but not ideal for offroading as many of them suffer from oil starvation apparently due to the shallow sump. As a result, burnt bearings. And it's power band is quite peaky.

Isnt's a Defender made out of aluminium in the 1st place? So why do u need to replace aluminium with aluminium?
The 109, is it a short wheel base or a long wheel base? I assume it's a Series 3? Pardone me, not familiar with the series, more familiar with Rangies.

hehehe good question BabyGodzillaGTi-R......
from my previous owner of the landy he said he modd the bodyworks coz mine is an old land dated during darurat time....it's imported from uk too but being used by the military SEMBOYAN....
he rebuild the engine n the chassis....old landy are made from steel he said lar...
mine 109 is a long wheel base which can sit up to 8 person....
2 front n 6 at back...eh where did u find the disco halfcut?? i read in the newspaper straight times CBT last year a mechanic at sarawak or sabah(east malaysai) doin conversion of isuzu putting in landy heart inside cost bout RM20K-RM30K....
damn expensive lar the landy halfcut....
coz ive seen a 4x4 wit 7MGTE n the sound is nice wit superb power....

Which Landie with a 7MGTE? Is it a Red Series III with external roll cage, Volvo Portal axles?
I'm led to believe that the 1JZ is a better choice then the 7M in terms of spare parts and after market parts availability. Still a straight 6 with a lovely scream. But i still prefer the sound of a V8.

Funny. U are saying an Isuzu dropping a Rover engine in? That's a 1st i've heard and i do follow CBT religiously. Maybe i might have missed that article. Normally it's the other way around with Landies and Rangies dropping in Isuzu diesel engines into their car especially in Oz and Thailand. Isuzu have better diesel plants compared to the 300TDi.( I might be wrong as 300TDi when chipped to Paris Darka spec runs around 250hp). And i think it's silly for some one staying in east Malaysia to drop in a Rover V8 engine.
Yes parts can be expensive, but the prices can be sensible too if u scout around for prices. But 30k for a halfcut sounds super ridiculous. The halfcut i sourced was in KL.... With that sort of money i rather buy myself a Defender 90, a Series 3 shorty or even a LCII shorty or even a BJ40. Hehehe
Hey how come the guy who brought up the topic has nothign to say so far? Unless he decided to drop in a certain 2 litre engine that doesnt runs on pistons and codenamed 20B since the 12A doesnt cut out for 4x4. Kekeke