Left Handed Integra Type-S Dilemma

Kanz

Dear fellow Integras,

Need helps and opinions from the pros. I'm currently working in the middle east and its my first time spotted an Integra in this desert country. Its my dream car since high school and its the main reason for me to work here. The car just arrived 3 days ago from US. It seems like an Acura RSX or Integra Type-S to me but the salesperson said its a Type-R. But I aint that 100% sure. Its a 2006 car with 74000km mileage at a selling price or RM55,000 (exchange rate is almost 1:1). My big dilemma is that the car is left hand drive. It isn't a problem for me here, but i believe it will be a big issue if it is being brought back to Malaysia. Thus, I'm researching on the cost to exchange from left handed driver to right handed. The salesperson mention that is was an easy job but i really doubt so. Does anybody have info on this, cost & method? If so, it is worth the price of rm55,000 with the cost of changing (assuming that i manage to obtain an AP)?

Thank you very much in advance. :driver:

DSC012932.jpg

DSC012882.jpg

DSC0127820.jpg

:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

DSC012762.jpg

Nice car, looks like a type S (without the Recaro and red engine valve cover) but the Honda emblem is Red in color. Is it a 5 speed manual or 6 speed? does it comes with Brembo Brake calipers? Conversion can be done here and I knew someone who bought a 2 Door CIvic Si left hand drive from US and convert it to RHD in Malaysia. They need a RHD dashboard & mechanicals to relocate the Steering system and the controls . Not sure about the cost (My estimate is RM5-7K) , but it can be done here. Plus the price they offered you is good considering its a new face lift and its a 2006 model. Good Buy!

Here are my thoughts:

1. there is no LHD Type-R DC5 available in the market. most likely yours is an Acura RSX Type-S (based on the manual gear stick I saw) which boasting slightly lesser power than the Type-R.

2. the car was only equipped with the JDM red H emblem front and back, 'Integra' and 'Type-R' emblems. The facelift taillights is still representing an Acura RSX with red middle light. the Type-R's taillights should be clear in the middle, just like the reverse lights. refer below pic:

9533.jpg

3. Wheels are still Acura RSX and presumably the brakes are non-brembo.

4. LHD conversion to RHD is POSSIBLE in Malaysia, but be ready to spend countless amount of money. Type-R dashboard will set you around 1-3k (used), steering rack is around 2-3k and manual pedals with related parts will cost you around 1-3k. Conversion costs will be a bomb where your chassis frame and firewall might be tampered / welded to make way for brake pump, gear linkage etc. i might miss out something but im sure as hell that TONS of parts required to make the conversion perfect. Its pretty insane to do this plus you might encounter problems later on with the enforcement should your conversion does not pass their standard (is there any law a RHD-LHD / LHD - RHD conversion is Malaysia?)

5. The other way you can make it is to buy the entire front cut of a DC5 Type-R and swap everything to your car (accept for the frame). Again, it will also cost you around 20k just for the front clip..plus, tamperation of the chassis will still need to be done to the car.

6. Since you're returning back to Malaysia, i suggest that you scrap the idea of buying this car and get the authentic Type-R. you might be earning good since you're working in the middle east (most of my friends are!). save some money, come back home, get the real deal, be a happy man.

Cheers

6. Since you're returning back to Malaysia, i suggest that you scrap the idea of buying this car and get the authentic Type-R. you might be earning good since you're working in the middle east (most of my friends are!). save some money, come back home, get the real deal, be a happy man.

Cheers

Agreeee.... with the cost of shipping, insurance, duty and tax, agent handling fees, registration fees, and APs now costing RM10K a pop, u'll probaly save 20-25% of market value tops.

And by then u'll still have a LHD type-S... So u'll have to go thru the hassle of having to covert the car to RHD; and who knows what kind of problems that will bring. And even after ALL that, u'll still only have a Type-S...

So, i'm with meor on this. Save up the good pay ur getting there, bring back the money and get the real deal DC5R or FD2R or CL7 or Evo 9 or Scooby V9 or RX8 or R34 or Golf GTI or Scirocco R or Megane RS or Clio RS... choice is urs.. :driver:

ha ha ...... K20A2 is not that bad la.

i vote for you to buy it and bring it back here.

it should be pretty fun. I've seen people driving Left-Hand-Drives in malaysia.

it's pretty cool :biggrin:

always have a passenger next to you, and ask the passenger to freak out other drivers by sticking both hands out of the window while you're driving :biggrin:

or read a newspaper. damn funny :biggrin:

Thank you all for the feedbacks, comments & suggestions especially to lightningfield for the in-depth info.

Man, knew it wasn't that easy to change from LHD to RHD. Seems theres alot of hassle and risk involved before, during and even after conversion which at the end of the day isn't worth it.

The car might be worth it if it is maintained as a LHD, never thought of the fun things LHD could do as Vagabond mentioned but my main concerned is overtaking cars with LHD. have to ask the passenger whether really clear or not to overtake. lol.

Guess i'll have to stick back with plan A, as what lightningfield and minivan mentioned, collect money, balik Malaysia and get the real baby! aaa. was so close, yet still far abit. lol.

Thank you all again.

its an acura. the badges say so. and theres no Acura Type-R's....

@nukeezoid
Yeah, guess they modded the exterior, added the honda & type-R emblem. @@

@ilovemydc5
yep yep. sticking back to plan A. Get a pure R in M'sia : D

if i may interject and steer away off topic like i always do....

if you're in the middle east, and looking to bring back a LHD car...... bring back the Dodge Challenger 5.7L hemi. no replacement for displacement. OR, anything with a hemi for that matter. OR, just bring that hemi engine home and plug it in a ford escort.

then you ask passenger to stick both his hands out like vag said.

if i may interject and steer away off topic like i always do....

if you're in the middle east, and looking to bring back a LHD car...... bring back the Dodge Challenger 5.7L hemi. no replacement for displacement. OR, anything with a hemi for that matter. OR, just bring that hemi engine home and plug it in a ford escort.

then you ask passenger to stick both his hands out like vag said.

do you know how much road tax will run you for a 5.7L engine.... :stupid:

i think... sure koyak poket for the road tax... lol...

do you know how much road tax will run you for a 5.7L engine.... :stupid:

aiyaaa..you guys always scared of the big 'road tax' figure. Think about it....

yes i do know in fact. RM 14,280.00 a year.

That means about RM 1180 a month, RM275 a week or about RM40 bucks a day. In perspective, not much really. A lot of guys i know splash more than RM 500 on tails and booze on per week basis.

Considering the hemi will whack RM 100-150 of fuel per 'fun' weekend, that leaves us with around RM 400 plus OPEX per month, if its brought in cash. Doable? yes indeed!

Yakin bolehhhh.

aiyaaa..you guys always scared of the big 'road tax' figure. Think about it....

yes i do know in fact. RM 14,280.00 a year.

That means about RM 1180 a month, RM275 a week or about RM40 bucks a day. In perspective, not much really. A lot of guys i know splash more than RM 500 on tails and booze on per week basis.

Considering the hemi will whack RM 100-150 of fuel per 'fun' weekend, that leaves us with around RM 400 plus OPEX per month, if its brought in cash. Doable? yes indeed!

Yakin bolehhhh.

key point: IF its brought in cash.

RM1180 = my monthly installments on the DC5...
if you can afford to buy the car via cash...road tax isn't gonna be an issue.

key point: IF its brought in cash.

RM1180 = my monthly installments on the DC5...
if you can afford to buy the car via cash...road tax isn't gonna be an issue.

exactly. im sure thread starter was a cash buyer. loans arent exactly a good idea in UAE these days...

aint sure bout the 5.7L but the 6.1L cost around 200k excluding the msian car tax. still koyakkk. lol

anyway, we can all tontong, and take turns wacking the hemi every weekend : D D D

aint sure bout the 5.7L but the 6.1L cost around 200k excluding the msian car tax. still koyakkk. lol

anyway, we can all tontong, and take turns wacking the hemi every weekend : D D D

lol. epic. :biggrin: