LiteOn DVD drive can't read DVD 9

http://www.liteonit.com/ODD/English/e_downloads/e_firmware_dvd-rom.asp

there are only 2 models here.. yours either SOHD-16P9S or SOHD-167T ?

why izzit the liteon 16x can read some of dvd9.. i dun tink its the dvd player problem... even u take a brand new dvd 16x n read some dvd9, maybe half can successful read only le..

guys, juz to share.. i was giving an example abt the two player... but what i notice in market. there is a 32x speed player.. cuz my fren in this line.. last time yes, it was only 16x... still doubt la.. but still i remember saw once.

Dremel,
Dude, thanks for your reply. However, I send the drive back for checking at Low Yat where I bought the item and even they themselves can't bring it to read my dvd 9. They took my dvd 9 and put it on another dvd-rom drive, and it reads nicely. So they changed my LiteOn 16x dvd-rom drive to LG dvd.

Now that it works, I realized that one of the DVD I had was a DVD 5 and the LiteOn couldn't read it as well, even before I started to troubleshoot it.

So bottom line is... the LiteOn DVD drive had some hardware lock or to me, a hardware fault. hahahaha

Thanks y'all. Peace.

gloss said:
NO.... DVD 9 is using a more advance burn speed la... that mean they increase the burn speed onto the dvd... not bcuz of flash bios or update any dvd player.. flash bios is dangerous, better be careful in it.

cuz ur DVD is only running at 16x dude... some DVD 9 burn speed is more than tat. so u might have to change a 32x or 56x one... but my liteon can read dvd 9.... oni some cant nie...

http://www.mediaheaven.co.uk/dvd-formats.htm

Nothing saying anything about DVD9 using advanced burning speed.

http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20040707/dvd_recording-02.html

satria_95 said:
Dremel,
Dude, thanks for your reply. However, I send the drive back for checking at Low Yat where I bought the item and even they themselves can't bring it to read my dvd 9. They took my dvd 9 and put it on another dvd-rom drive, and it reads nicely. So they changed my LiteOn 16x dvd-rom drive to LG dvd.

Now that it works, I realized that one of the DVD I had was a DVD 5 and the LiteOn couldn't read it as well, even before I started to troubleshoot it.

So bottom line is... the LiteOn DVD drive had some hardware lock or to me, a hardware fault. hahahaha

Thanks y'all. Peace.

LG dvd rom is cheaper than lite-on ..u consider rugi liao

but nvm lar..LG is good...faster in technical spec

no no.. u got it all wrong man.. wat u post is the definition of dvd9, the speed i mean was control by human ourself. juz like ICE cd player is using only 8x of speed, if u exceed this speed, ur car cd player cant read. same goes to dvd9.

if u hv a burner u wil kno wat i mean.

starwing said:
http://www.mediaheaven.co.uk/dvd-formats.htm

Nothing saying anything about DVD9 using advanced burning speed.

http://www.tomshardware.com/storage/20040707/dvd_recording-02.html

Dremel,
hahahaha I wasn't too glad that it was the dvd rom hardware fault because I didn't want to go to Low Yat. But at least there were nice enough to change it for me, even after the 2 weeks 1-to-1 swap warranty.

gloss,
The DVD drive I had is about 1.5 months old. I only managed to used dvd 9 on it just last week. hehehehe

TypicalGuy,
Aiya, rugi nevermind lor. It's past the 1-to-1 swap warranty period but they still swap for me with no cost at all. But I'll bet they're making shit loads of profit cos every single time I go there, they're assembling new PC's. Once, I even heard the boss rush the technicians to assemble 40 PC's. That's quite a lot, I'd say. hehehe

I'm having a strang problem now. Some of the dvd 9 discs, can only read the intro, then finish. No movie, no menu to select play movie, etc. Just play the "Warning. This video is bla bla bla" only. Then after that, nothing else comes out. sigh.

change liao also got problem?

ur pc problem is it?

the shop untung?

1 pc untung 200 mah

the more u sell the more comission u get

like czone....plasma for free

gloss said:
no no.. u got it all wrong man.. wat u post is the definition of dvd9, the speed i mean was control by human ourself. juz like ICE cd player is using only 8x of speed, if u exceed this speed, ur car cd player cant read. same goes to dvd9.

if u hv a burner u wil kno wat i mean.

... u got that wrong too.
most (if not all) pirated DVD's u buy outside are pressed discs. not burned. same goes for original manufactured DVD's. they are all factory pressed.

gloss said:
NO.... DVD 9 is using a more advance burn speed la... that mean they increase the burn speed onto the dvd... not bcuz of flash bios or update any dvd player.. flash bios is dangerous, better be careful in it.

cuz ur DVD is only running at 16x dude... some DVD 9 burn speed is more than tat. so u might have to change a 32x or 56x one... but my liteon can read dvd 9.... oni some cant nie...

16X is the current industry standard for DVD's. and besides u cant compare CD speeds with DVD speeds. they are in a different world.

and... there's no such thing as this burn speed thing.

satria_95: some lite-on DVD drives have this funny problem. its hardware related. maybe you should try other brands.

arh?? no such thing as burn speed ar bro... then wats the burning speed at nero means oo?

wats the read speed for ICE player?

TypicalGuy,
Ya lor. But so far, only 1 DVD will only read the intro. Intro meaning, the Universal Studio logo and stuff, and that's it. No menu to play the movie. So odd la. But anyhow, fuck it la. Fed up already. hahahaha

MetalZone,
Already changed the drive with the shop for a LG drive which solved almost all the problems. hehehe thanks dude.