Maxis, the telco infamous for cherry-picking the choice lot of the market, is bringing its Wireless Broadband into my neighbourhood, Subang Jaya and USJ.
I ask all residents to hold your horses to give Jaring Wireless Broadband a chance, while those expecting cheaper broadband access - not necessarily inferior - to wait for further promotions from Streamyx.
Plan: Lite384
Speed (Download/Upload): 384Kbps/64Kbps
Registration Fee (One-Time): RM125
Monthly Access Fee: RM106
Introductory Price: RM79
Plan: Pro512
Speed (Download/Upload)512Kbps/128Kbps:
Monthly Access Fee: RM136
Introductory Price: RM109
For connection, you need a proprietary wireless broadband modem, brand unknown at this point in time. Note the hype on price offer:
Type: (USB or Ethernet)
Price: RM1400
Introductory Price: RM488
Type: PC Card
Price: RM1600
Introductory Price: RM549
THERE IS ALSO A CATCH. There is a one year subscription requirement imposed on all applicants.
THERE IS A CARROT. For current Maxis Mobile/Hotlink (012/017) customers, the one-time registration fee of RM125 is waived.
FAQ is available here.
DON'T RUSH INTO IT!
Jaring wireless broadband is also coming to Subang Jaya/USJ soon. With Dr Mohd Awang Lah at the helm, you have solid track record of an ISP to fall back on.
If you are visited by any Maxis Broadband canvassers, ask for a black-and-white commitment that Maxis Wireless Broadband is committed to its residential customers for at least five years.
The last round it provided "free" residential dial-up, it lasted less than five!
And this time, there's nothing which guarantees it won't pull the rug underneath your feet. If needed, Maxis Broadband may well cart away its Point-of-Presence (POP) at Leisure Commerce Square, near the Motorola flyover, which it originally built for Business Broadband.
I have negative perception of Maxis ISP and I remain fearful that Maxis could just conveniently relocate the DSLAMs to places it could cherry-pick on the lower branches.
I ask all residents to hold your horses to give Jaring Wireless Broadband a chance, while those expecting cheaper broadband access - not necessarily inferior - to wait for further promotions from Streamyx.
Plan: Lite384
Speed (Download/Upload): 384Kbps/64Kbps
Monthly Access Fee: RM106
Introductory Price: RM79
Plan: Pro512
Speed (Download/Upload)512Kbps/128Kbps:
Monthly Access Fee: RM136
Introductory Price: RM109
For connection, you need a proprietary wireless broadband modem, brand unknown at this point in time. Note the hype on price offer:
Type: (USB or Ethernet)
Price: RM1400
Introductory Price: RM488
Type: PC Card
Price: RM1600
Introductory Price: RM549
THERE IS ALSO A CATCH. There is a one year subscription requirement imposed on all applicants.
THERE IS A CARROT. For current Maxis Mobile/Hotlink (012/017) customers, the one-time registration fee of RM125 is waived.
FAQ is available here.
DON'T RUSH INTO IT!
Jaring wireless broadband is also coming to Subang Jaya/USJ soon. With Dr Mohd Awang Lah at the helm, you have solid track record of an ISP to fall back on.
If you are visited by any Maxis Broadband canvassers, ask for a black-and-white commitment that Maxis Wireless Broadband is committed to its residential customers for at least five years.
The last round it provided "free" residential dial-up, it lasted less than five!
And this time, there's nothing which guarantees it won't pull the rug underneath your feet. If needed, Maxis Broadband may well cart away its Point-of-Presence (POP) at Leisure Commerce Square, near the Motorola flyover, which it originally built for Business Broadband.
I have negative perception of Maxis ISP and I remain fearful that Maxis could just conveniently relocate the DSLAMs to places it could cherry-pick on the lower branches.