Me and sound card.

GT20v

I know i can go and ask at LY forum..but i think i cerita here 1st...

Im not into any music,for me just a good,decent enuff already.Then 1 day i purchase a cheap sound card.Aureal A3d 8830 it says there.

I say ok lor test lor coz so cheap.

This is when thing got crazy..this sound card really,really open my eyes.The clarity,bass,treble so blardy chun.Theres 1 guy do a plug in for winamp n i bundle that with DFX 5.the results is super marvelous..argghhhh

Now the card giving me some problem with drivers.since i upgrade to SP2 it doesnt want to sing anymore..so im bored.change to use the Nforce onboard sound card.1st impression..Yucksss..

I know Aureal A3d is an old card.but it still good in my opinian.

So anyone have opinian about OTHER sound card that exceed or at least nearly the same as A3d card and how much the price..

Thnx for reading :P

I've used that card before. Performance very good was better than the SB live! value everyone was buying at the time but it lacked support from games and drivers.

Unless you're doing a close-end system. Maybe a digital jukebox for your hall. I'd recommend something else for overall use. I think SB live! value is pretty cheap nowadays. You can pick one up at the budget corner for less than rm100 i think about rm50 like that :P

Also the Aureal has a program with compatibility with some games or applications. Also hang my pc often.

thnx for reply,seraph

Well.what i need is a card that equivalent to Aureal A3d 8830.

is there any card like this???

b4 i installed the sp2,i have no problem at all with what ever program coz i mixed winxp driver with 1 win2k files.which is the a3dapi.dll..thats why sound alot better and stabile...but the problem is in win xp sp2 is i cant mixed the win2k driver anymore.......thats the problem.

have you tried "rollback" driver feature?

for practicality i think an sb live would be an okay choice.
i think the aureal maker died before winxp launched.

aureal maker not died.....kena telan by creative and died inside creative..thats life.

i tried everything.winxp have the driver for it but not a good driver have to replace 1 file in system32.and that replacing the file is not allowed by sp2.it will change back to ori driver after 4second.

im using Sb live value.......been using it for quite somtime

its not the best card but consider the cheapest branded card, i dunno whether still got or not, yamaha sound card..... those days it opened my eyes b4 for the price they offer

all in all, most important is driver support........u can hav the best sound card in the world but if ur driver stays the same, chances r one of ur new games will give u headaches

even if its the popular Sb live, u need to install the latest driver in order to b compatible wif the new games......it happened to me b4 when i tried playing CMR4

izzit? i think i forgot creative telan a3d.
no wonder they stopped producing official drivers for a3d vortex their rival at the time for sb live! value, at the time it was far better than sb live! value an almost on par with the sb live! with only the sb AWE32 being better coz got memory slot.

anyway there is a small underground support for a3d vortex, like linux got individuals making drivers for it you can find some of them working and posting their stuff on websites like the ones below, give it a try :lol:

http://www.soundcard-drivers.com/drivers/132/132171.htm

i am interested to upgrade my sound card as i have finished upgrading my DDR. just waiting to get a good pc speaker then i shall upgrade.

Well if you're anti-Creative you don't have much choice since they took over the soundcard scene. Ate alot of soundcard based smaller companies.

Bigger ones like Turtle Beach and Gravis haven't had a new product for sometime. Even id had to pay rotalty for a certain math formula for creating sound to Creative for Doom3.

Anti-Creative soundcard list...

1. http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/multimedia/display/terratec-aureon71_11.html
2. Integrated AC97 audio, which comes with all motherboards
3. High Definition Audio, which comes from the new Intel 775 motherboards

High Definition Audio stands for 192-kHz, 24-Bit, 8-channel audio. The Dolby certificate is a matter for the motherboard manufacturer to take care of, but three are three other interesting features: Multi-streaming support (which enables routing different audio sources to different output devices), jack re-tasking and support for array microphones.

As most audio features, re-tasking needs to be implemented by the motherboard manufacturer. If it's done entirely, you can plug in your headset connector into any available stereo jack. Array microphones allow you to transfer 3D audio information. Example: If you're holding a VoIP phone conference with your dialog partner, he will be able to estimate the position in your room - provided that he has surround sound and also knows your location.