New birdie's corolla need urs opinion

Nobody
Hi there, i just brought a 93 corolla 2 months ago & my fren recommend me to convert the engine to 3S (celica ST185 / ST205) wor...will the engine bay fits? did this 3S have any synthoms? Hope sifu-sifu over here can offer me urs help...

if your mech is up to it ... then surely can fit laaa ... i have seen ae101s with 3S engines running around maaa ... turbo oso got .. no turbo oso got ... but be prepared to cari lots of things laaa :p

5115 said:
Hi there, i just brought a 93 corolla 2 months ago & my fren recommend me to convert the engine to 3S (celica ST185 / ST205) wor...will the engine bay fits? did this 3S have any synthoms? Hope sifu-sifu over here can offer me urs help...

Yup 3S can fit in, Ah Nga in Kejang can do it - he has done it before with 3S-GE BEAMS from Celica.

But the problem is, once u have put in 3S inside, overall car balance will be a problem where the front will be heavier - and it is not easy to improve the balance. You will have to use heavier suspension rate at the very least and a Twin Pot caliper at minimum.

An easier choice would be to install Supercharger 4A-GZE with Turbo Option, meaning remove all Supercharger components and bolt on a Turbo set, with proper tuning the output would definitely better than 3S-GE and perhaps on par with 3S-GTE

Really agree to both sifoo... less mech can to it..... If they say can must prepare many victamin M.....:) AE101 with 3s is very less....

wow... wat a fast reply! thanks a lot bro! :tee:

as i know, ST 185 225hp ST 205 255hp (both torque 30) but 4AGZE are only 175hp & torque 16.5 if im not mistaken.
my mech gave the recipe 4 this mod liao,but i need more advise from u guys coz not familia wif toyota (previously driving putra & wira VR-4)

anybody tried this mod b4?

but remember ur making a differentiate between 2.0CC and 1.6CC...that's quite a big diff...

forgot to mention ... if u are thinking of putting a 3S into an engine bay meant for a 4A then be prepared to WAIT a much longer period of time for the transplant laaaa .. need to prepare $$ as well as look for compatible parts maaa .. :p

if u base your driving feeling on numbers then it will be even more difficult to convince yourself on what u want laaa .. hahaahahaha ... to even compare a 1.6 to a 2.0 is NOT the way to go ... u may spend a bomb on a 1.6 just to make it come close to the figures a 2.0 is producing ... all the pros and cons are there for u to see as u have previously driven a 4G93 and a 4G63 which has about 200cc difference ...

good luck !!!

my fren did 3s onto his corolla n only took 2 weeks plus.....car now running well but guess u have to stand by around 7-8k total this include
halfcut around RM2.5k-3.5k,
labour 2K,
mr2 gearbox with lsd RM1k,
new timing belt, bearing, clutch plate RM1k
some small small parts RM1k

this is less hassle compare if u mod 4agze into turbo, even more money spend there....ST205 is hard to come by....best use ST185 coz most part can be reuse back..... if u wanna share halfcut do let me know......i want the bodyparts n radiator....hahahaha......

chinozie said:
means CC no diff at all...???
mass ratio???

CC of coz got diff laaaa !!! apadaaaa ????
but u see alot of bigger CC cars with lesser HP overtake 4A on the highway no probs .. why is that ahhh ??? simple reason .. most bigger CC cars comes with more torque .. this makes better drivability than HP alone ... :p
i didnt say HP is not good .. of coz good laaaa .. it just a matter of preference .. :p

the bigger difference is pay more roadtax .. pay more petrol .. :lol:

Wanna know more then ask QIW la..he is the sifoo to ask.
For sure, i agreed with QIW sifoo that torque is more important compare to HP.(my own opinion la), depends on what r u looking for. U can't find a perfect match wit high Hp + high torque..unless u get a ferrari..haha!

IceDream said:
http://www.studiotraffic.com/index.php?refid=1233102&username=ys6861

to earn more $$.. try it out!!

SPAM SPAM SPAM !!!!
DONT UNDERSTAND ENGLISH KAA FREN ????????

How to say..... Hp like the power from the engine... then torque is the thing transfer the power..... If got more power no torque who will help to transfer the power to the wheel????? I think both is so important for car....:)
If wrong pls correct it thankz....

Totally agree with Feilo & Qiw...

I compare with 4ag coz i dun know wat others engine can fit in my seg & i choose 3S GTE coz i like the torque of my 4G 63 (31 similar to 3S) without any major mod maa...

My mech offer me:
half cut 2.4k
labour 1.5k
g/box + d/shaft 1.9k
others haven mentioned

so u guys think is it worth it?

my conscern now after read EFN's reply is the balancing of the car & front suspension,a very good point of view by a very experience ppl here :rock:

yo u all = happy new year & long live TOYOTA!!!!