Newbie needs advise on car purchase/modding!

nikolaiski

hello to all!

abit about myself first....
I'm very new and green to the Malaysian racing scene, having owned a Skyline R32 GTS4 with an RB26DETT engine in Sydney, I just got back to Malaysia (Johor Baru) while working in Singapore for the extra dough. As a result, I had to purchase a Singapore car (Hyundai Getz 1.3A) for my daily use due to work permit regulations, but I still desire a cheap and FAST FR machine. I am looking at an extreme hybrid example here and I can't afford to spend too much because of that stupid Getz loan (stupid Singapore cars have to cost so much.....grrrrrrr) so I hope the more experienced here can help me out here.

Right now I have my mind set on purchasing the U11 Nissan Bluebird (the one b4 the 1990+ model right?) and am considering transplanting a RB25DET or RB20DET engine/manual gearbox into it. I have fallen in love with the Skyline engines time and again which is why I hope that the old car's chasis can tahan the power and torque of the Skyline engine.

Lets say the car cannot tahan the engine, can this be rectified with any chasis reinforcement? If so, what else do I need to change to the drivetrain? An LSD is a must for me as I plan to practise drifting in this vehicle...hehe

Aside from the usual rust/wear and tear associated with old cars, what else must I look out for when selecting the base model, and what is a good price for these Bluebirds?

Lets say this car is NOT A GOOD CHOICE for whatever reason, can you guys recommend a cheap and good FR base car with a sub-280hp engine (anything...) for my mods? In total I would not want to spend more than RM25,000 modding the car. This includes all engine/chasis/suspension and interior mods. In fact, is this even possible? Lastly, aside from Visworks and Speedworks, are there any shops that you could recommend to buat kereta I sampe chun chun and not get ripped off? I look like a matsalleh cuz of my mixed blood but I speak malay, so some shops here often try to ketuk me....hahaha

Hope you guys can shed some light onto this as alot of you seem very experienced.

Thank you for reading this rather lengthy post!!

Amery

i used to own a volvo 244gl...
that was tough, solid.

skyline engine could fit :).
but of course... u gotta get a GOOD CONDITION ONE... this r old schools...

imagine a monster? volvo?

hi nikolaiski, and welcome to zth if its your first visit.

anyway, wanna ask, rm25,000 budget just for modification or including a car?

i'm not so much a sifu, so i can't really shed some light on you but if i were you, and i like datsun engine, i would most probably find an old cefiro and tune it up, either rb20 or sr20 engine, and the car is perfectly suitable for drifting too since there is some A31 in D1gp.

but as a toyota fan myself, i would most probably go find an old KE70 or TE71 and plonk in a 4agze for some sideway fun :D

Satria racer said:
i used to own a volvo 244gl...
that was tough, solid.

skyline engine could fit :).
but of course... u gotta get a GOOD CONDITION ONE... this r old schools...

imagine a monster? volvo?

well, there are some 240s with the 1 & 2JZ running around. Remember the white drifter with tiger stripes engine cover?

BUt the down side of using a Volvo( or any other continental sedan) is that they are much heavier compared to their Japanese counterparts. Depends on your desired driving experience lor.

No problem with age actually, but the interior is dated(it is a 20 years old car after all). An accident free example might be enough to do the job.

If you're interested with the Volvo idea, I could recommend a workshop. I send mine there. Lots of custom work. But it just might not fit your criteria of cheap and fast completely.

hi amery, try also datsun laurel. this one is bigger, also a FR like U11 and as the standard one has 2.0L engine underneath means conversion to higher capacity is possible and legal.

from 2000cc u can go to 2600cc legally.

others u can consider is Toyota Cressida 2.0GLi6 from 1983. or Nissan Cedric 220d/280C but of course theyre well known as taxis...:lol:

in my opinion, as u have 25K to spend (err, borrow 10K boleh ke?) why dont u dumped it as a downpayment for a used Silvia 180SX or 200SX? year 1996 if not mistaken about 70-80K. i suggest buy S15, but S14 will also do. its a FR, has the looks and has the GO.

side by side with integra, still worth the decision...