OEM - Grade Braking Upgrade?

ace79

I've read a number of posts in overseas forums about upgrading your brakes ( EGs and EKs in particular ), OEM - style.

Mostly, DC2R / EK9 / Prelude BB6 front brake kits are used for this matter. It seems that all these three front brake caliper kits utilise the same caliper piston size, and the same disk size + thickness!!!

What I do not understand is that, some machining work is required to fit these front brake kits to EGs and EKs, especially to the brake caliper brackets.

Is there any other work required to do this, other than having to redrill the disks to PCD 100, 4 hole setups?

Anyone can shed a light on this? Pics would help a lot too!

And question number two : Is the a difference between a DC2R brake cylinder / brake booster compared to EG's?

What I understand here is, bigger size means stronger pressure, hence faster brake reaction time, correct?

For me the best is still the NSX caliper upgrade.
http://www.jackchou.com/cars/nsxcalipers/1.jpg
http://www.jackchou.com/cars/nsxcalipers/2.jpg
http://www.jackchou.com/cars/nsxcalipers/nsxcaliperseq.jpg

ace79 said:
I've read a number of posts in overseas forums about upgrading your brakes ( EGs and EKs in particular ), OEM - style.

Mostly, DC2R / EK9 / Prelude BB6 front brake kits are used for this matter. It seems that all these three front brake caliper kits utilise the same caliper piston size, and the same disk size + thickness!!!

What I do not understand is that, some machining work is required to fit these front brake kits to EGs and EKs, especially to the brake caliper brackets.

Is there any other work required to do this, other than having to redrill the disks to PCD 100, 4 hole setups?

Anyone can shed a light on this? Pics would help a lot too!

There's one way to do it without machining... buy the entire EK9 brakes, including the knuckles. This way, you just bolt in onto the LCAs for the front and rears. no fuss about machining. DC2R also a bolt on, but require camber adjusters due to the minor differences. 2K+, and end of story.

The brake servo and the proportioning valve is to pump more brake fluid to each caliper for that clamping power.. skimp on that, and the idea of getting better braking just went out the window.

I've heard that for some (depending on which brake system you pillage the calipers from) that you don't use brackets, but rather shave off some material off the caliper mounts (on the calipers, not the knuckles.)

The NSX calipers are nice, but very little rim choice, as there is a chance the spokes might come in contact with the calipers. Certain Advan RG offset could not clear the spoon caliper, although it didn't on the stock EK9 calipers as I posted somewhere in this forum a few weeks/months ago.

Anyway, they're still the sliding calipers type... (>o<)

Errr, not really. If got the moolah, I would go for AP Racing 4 pots and grooved disk setup!

takashi78 said:
For me the best is still the NSX caliper upgrade.
http://www.jackchou.com/cars/nsxcalipers/1.jpg
http://www.jackchou.com/cars/nsxcalipers/2.jpg
http://www.jackchou.com/cars/nsxcalipers/nsxcaliperseq.jpg

Yeah, complete EK9 kit. But that will require me to change wheels ( mine's still PCD 100, 4 bolt pattern lah! ) and don't forget the cost, RM 2k!

For RM 2k, you can get a complete front DC2R / EK9 / Prelude BB6, plus DC2R / EK9 brake servo + proportioning valve, yummy Mintex M1144 pads, plus a whole shebang of Goodridge SS brake hoses kit! Add another hundred, and you get Motul RBF 600 brake fluid too.

Yeap, they're still sliding calipers, but still, for the amount of money you spent, you get better braking, period!

shiroitenshi said:
There's one way to do it without machining... buy the entire EK9 brakes, including the knuckles. This way, you just bolt in onto the LCAs for the front and rears. no fuss about machining. DC2R also a bolt on, but require camber adjusters due to the minor differences. 2K+, and end of story.

The brake servo and the proportioning valve is to pump more brake fluid to each caliper for that clamping power.. skimp on that, and the idea of getting better braking just went out the window.

I've heard that for some (depending on which brake system you pillage the calipers from) that you don't use brackets, but rather shave off some material off the caliper mounts (on the calipers, not the knuckles.)

The NSX calipers are nice, but very little rim choice, as there is a chance the spokes might come in contact with the calipers. Certain Advan RG offset could not clear the spoon caliper, although it didn't on the stock EK9 calipers as I posted somewhere in this forum a few weeks/months ago.

Anyway, they're still the sliding calipers type... (>oquote]

get a Prelude BB1-BB4-BB6 brake caliper n disc (if you need) and also paired it with a set of ENDLESS brake pads .. + add a steel braided hose ..

try it out.. u will know how it feels..

hehehe..

ace79 said:
Yeah, complete EK9 kit. But that will require me to change wheels ( mine's still PCD 100, 4 bolt pattern lah! ) and don't forget the cost, RM 2k!

For RM 2k, you can get a complete front DC2R / EK9 / Prelude BB6, plus DC2R / EK9 brake servo + proportioning valve, yummy Mintex M1144 pads, plus a whole shebang of Goodridge SS brake hoses kit! Add another hundred, and you get Motul RBF 600 brake fluid too.

Yeap, they're still sliding calipers, but still, for the amount of money you spent, you get better braking, period!

Well.. since you already considered the costs.. it's the choice obvious? :P

Of course, 5 Lugs earns some brownie points for being simply... DIFFERENT!... ROFL!

Yah, but to change wheels, I hafta add another RM2k++ for a nice set of lightweight Japan wheels ( 2nd ), and what about the rear knuckles? A complete front and rear EK9 brakes + knuckles is about RM 1.5k++, add the rest of the stuffs, whoa, almost RM 5k man!

RM 5k can get me a street tuned B20B ( ITR / CTR valvetrain + VAFC II ), and a 4.4 FD LSD...

Back to the subject. Anyone else can chime in on this particular setup ( DC2R / EK9 / BB6 complete front brakes ) on a EG?

i'm running on BB6 front disc and calipers with endless pads and CB4 servo.i did send it to mechine shop to shave off a few mm from the caliper in order to fit my eg.

Daniel1688 said:
i'm running on BB6 front disc and calipers with endless pads and CB4 servo.i did send it to mechine shop to shave off a few mm from the caliper in order to fit my eg.

1."BB6 front disc and calipers, CB4 servo" -how does it cost??
2."shave off a few mm" -wat u shave off?? rotor??cost??
3."BB6,CB4" -wat kind of car model??
4.performance vise?? will more "makan" compare to standard eg brake
system??
5.any defect?? streering will shake wen u suddenly brake hard at 110km/h n
above??

tq..

1.bought my BB6 disc and calipers for RM350 and as for the CB4 servo i'm not too sure but i'm i'm not mistaken its about RM200 (will have to search the receipt about this)
2.the few mm i save off is from the BB6 caliper so that you can mount onto your eg.cost of it plus drilling it to PCD 100 is around 150-200.
3.BB6 is a Honda Prelude H22A and a CB4 is a Honda Accord yr92-95
4.definately much better compared to the stock EG braking system
5.the only defect is your braking bias is totally out as your car front braking to much more powerful than the rear...unless you get a set of CB4 rear disc and calipers to balance the braking system.no shake at highspeed braking.

IMHO of cos if you got the money go for 5 lug straight.looks much nicer braking system more balanced and easier to get nice rims.