Paid in Full: Materialistic Items or Simplicity?

I agree that we should be entitled to pamper ourselves a little after working hard. The question that was asked though, is should we spend more than we have, to which I think we should not.

I really do pity people who go into debt by buying expensive items as an ego booster, and yet there are so many that lack taste. I've seen RM 2,000 belts that look like they came from someone's trash can. I've seen expensive watches that look like they were designed by Stevie Wonder. It's not about buying just any piece of flash accessory, clothing or car... it's about getting what best compliments you. I pity people who go into administration and still look stupid.

zephyr3d said:
was in the limbo when my bro-in-law blew my engine... and i had to pay it myself to swap the engine. That really cost my plan .... just when i just paid for the nice nice wardrobe and bed....

haiii... no doubt the saying goes "money is root of all evil" ... but hey, we can't live without money either.... and that, evil will come haunting in a different way.
I can't see why you guys like to make it difficult for yourselves to understand.

It is simple. Always count your blessings for what you have and what you have achieved. Don't moan for why things haven't worked out a certain way for you. At the same time strive to be the best that you can be, in whatever endeavour you might be in. Don't let money be the object and symbol of your life. Simple, with that money never becomes an issue and if you did strive to be all you can be, money and success comes along naturally.

For example, great athletes don't work so hard to get a Nike endorsement. They want to be the best in their sports. The endorsement deals is a bonus for being good at what they do and what they like to do. Ultimate fulfilment.

you can buy watever luxury shit you want but just dont get into debt because of it.....

in msia, our currency is weaker and the pay level is also lower so many of the "luxurious" stuff become much more luxurious for us....for e.g...a rolex submariner cost rm18k in msia which is about 10mth pay of a normal uni fresh grad.....in HK, it cost rm18k also but it will only similar to 4 mth pay for a uni grad.....in simpler words is our buying power is weaker...also our tax policies further weakening our buying power....nevertheless, there are ppl who are extremely rich in msia who can buy a ferrari with almost 100% more expensive than other part of the world....because our wealth gap is widening...

the free market machanism and the government policy are moving towards the so called "pareto principle" which stating 20% of the people will own 80% of wealth(maybe hot chicks also) in the country....

you are not among the 20%? then work hard to make the rich men getting richer~~

hard work indeed

http://www.malaysia-today.net/fotos/2005/07/homes-of-ap-kings.htm

Actually how do u guys actually define luxury...? having an xpensive phone at $3K or wearing armani clothes? or even a watch tat cost few thousand bucks..? but for me , these kind of luxury i would actually define them as a 'tool' for me to earn much more $ frm wat i had actually thrown out to these kind of tings...

but fighting for more $ for me is actually for me as a backup plan when 'accidents or unwanted things happen'... incidents might not be happening towards me... but it might be family members or my fellow friends...in terms of emergency at least i have enough backup for pl around me or even me myself.... sometimes shit does happens and insurance claims at times have consequences as well..n to be honest, shitty things nowadays can be very costly such as accidently bang on pl's car or bike...

So you guys invest in funds or share also??? Parksons 's share in HK is a good deal for short term....they started from HK$11 per share last year and was HK$27 yesterday,

Seems that Lion Group are getting better outside Msia...

EG8,
though I didn't read everything but your first post suffices. Good stuff, realistic stuff too. I'm similar to you in that sense, I like living simple. I've stayed away from using my one last credit card for a while now. I pay in cash and if I don't have cash, hey, that's just too bad for me. Make do without it. heh heh

What I usually pay full in cash is food! hahaha

si|verfish said:
Now now, don't start believing that everyone thinks like you do.

As I have said earlier, you work, you get money, you use it. And I also agree with the motivation part of materialism.

But everybody has a different calling in life. If everybody was a god damn capitalist, this world is going to hell. I appreciate the fact that there are people from all walks of life who dedicate themselves to other things other than achieving financial success. Sure, everybody would prefer to be well off instead of scraping for food off the floor. But take off your money tinted glasses and you can see that there are many many people who put their life's effort into things that do not reward them financially. They do it for something else because that is their calling.

I also believe that some people are more easily contented with life. Everybody has this limit. Some aim higher, some lower. Not everyone can be Bill Gates and evidently not everyone aims to be. It isn't about sainthood, it is ultimately about what you want and what you are prepared to scarifice for.

Since you are on the topic of sainthood, what about people who dedicate themselves to God's work? Yup, they want that Ferrari allright. They want that big house too. If you happen to relieve yourself of that dollar sign from your eyes you may actually see better. Ask Mother Theresa about that Ferrari she may want.

It is sad that everybody now works for money instead of passion. It is what our society has been driven to believe is what matters. You argue that, what kind of life is one which is simple. Well, what kind of life is one where you are a slave to money and one where you know you will never have enough of.

Everyone has to be contented sometime. Maybe a farmer won't get a Ferrari or a bungalow but he works an honest living, he has peace with his maker, he has a loving family which he loves and works hard to feed and he lives a healthy fulfilling life. In his heart, he's probably happier than you are with you Ferrari and your bungalow.

Rot starts to set into people when they start believing that money will make them happier.

mate, u got me wrong totally. my point is, it's almost near to impossible that anyone wouldn't want a more luxurious items. so if you can't, don't PRETEND and stop running around telling people you PREFER simplicity.

PREFER and accept = totally difference thing.

there is no such thing as i don't want a ferrari, there is only

"as i know i can't afford one, so i accept the fact happily but of course i would like to own one if i can" = good men

"i must own it no matter what, by any mean.. will do whatever i can to own it, i don't care. i want it, i want it by any mean even the fact that i ca't afford it" = materialistic

"i love a simple life, i love driving my proton, i have feeling for it. i don't want any ferrari.. even it's free for me, i dont need a bangalow, a 1 room flat is good enough. because im a fucking saint." = fucking pretender

and in here, you can find a lot of this shiet!
so my post have nothing to contribute to the topic, im basically in-directly shooting a flame. well that what i always do anyway.

silverfish.. life must be smooth sailing for u... ;)

or u must be darn optimistic wit life.... or rather... the other way round? hmmm.

zephyr3d said:
silverfish.. life must be smooth sailing for u... ;)

or u must be darn optimistic wit life.... or rather... the other way round? hmmm.
My life is about as smooth as Malaysian roads.

Anyway, that's just how I see it, that's my philosophy.

same here... just alittle moan doesn't mean i go crying to the world that i lost a few grand..... sometimes alittle moan or disatisfaction helps u push harder to earn more. I didn't said i'm not happy of what i have rite now rite? furthermore i just go my increment today... for the hardwork i put in.

so...... dont go putting your judgement upon others.. coz sometimes.. things isn't that bad. Have some faith in yourself..

dont tell me when u hit wit some difficulties.. u just... "oh.. ok.. nvm la.. "

i'm sure u'll go like... "fuck!! mahai.. like this meh?!...." but then.. sure u'll find a solution to work around it mah. If i do moan or complain how pathetic is my life... i wouldnt be here replying your post. Could have cut my wrist long time ago. ;)

Crashvenom said:
mate, u got me wrong totally. my point is, it's almost near to impossible that anyone wouldn't want a more luxurious items. so if you can't, don't PRETEND and stop running around telling people you PREFER simplicity.

PREFER and accept = totally difference thing.

there is no such thing as i don't want a ferrari, there is only

"as i know i can't afford one, so i accept the fact happily but of course i would like to own one if i can" = good men

"i must own it no matter what, by any mean.. will do whatever i can to own it, i don't care. i want it, i want it by any mean even the fact that i ca't afford it" = materialistic

"i love a simple life, i love driving my proton, i have feeling for it. i don't want any ferrari.. even it's free for me, i dont need a bangalow, a 1 room flat is good enough. because im a fucking saint." = fucking pretender

and in here, you can find a lot of this shiet!
so my post have nothing to contribute to the topic, im basically in-directly shooting a flame. well that what i always do anyway.
so silverfish.. are u saint?

anyway.. just kidding.. no intention to point the gun at u. Your replies looks more like replying about other's reply. What bout some view on you, yourself?

maybe that would shed a better picture of what u're trying to present.

zephyr3d said:
same here... just alittle moan doesn't mean i go crying to the world that i lost a few grand..... sometimes alittle moan or disatisfaction helps u push harder to earn more. I didn't said i'm not happy of what i have rite now rite? furthermore i just go my increment today... for the hardwork i put in.

so...... dont go putting your judgement upon others.. coz sometimes.. things isn't that bad. Have some faith in yourself..

dont tell me when u hit wit some difficulties.. u just... "oh.. ok.. nvm la.. "

i'm sure u'll go like... "fuck!! mahai.. like this meh?!...." but then.. sure u'll find a solution to work around it mah. If i do moan or complain how pathetic is my life... i wouldnt be here replying your post. Could have cut my wrist long time ago. ;)
I wasn't actually directing my reply at your rant but on the last line

haiii... no doubt the saying goes "money is root of all evil" ... but hey, we can't live without money either.... and that, evil will come haunting in a different way.

and also directed in general.

zephyr3d said:
so silverfish.. are u saint?

anyway.. just kidding.. no intention to point the gun at u. Your replies looks more like replying about other's reply. What bout some view on you, yourself?

maybe that would shed a better picture of what u're trying to present.
I'm as much a saint as any other guy.

My replies are replies to the subject at hand, as per the discussion. If I see something and I have an opinion on it and I can be bothered then I shall reply.

As for your request, what do you want to know about me?

EG8 said:
Consider the world we live in.
Are we still the same people we were generations ago? Or have we turned from a simplier life for a wasteful, materialistic one? Times are changing and some have refused to change with it.

Are you willing to keep up with the Jones' to buy more expensive items?

Take for instance a Rolex vs. a Casio. Both are watches. Both tell time, but one comes with a hefty price tag. You can purchase a Rolex anywhere from RM18,000.00 and up or you can save and buy a Casio for RM 50.00 and up. The purpose of a watch is to tell time, not to impress friends, family or co-workers.

Why would a middle class citizen be willing to go into debt for a materialistic item?

We forget that each item has a purpose. Are you buying it for a materialistic value or for a useful purpose? Does a name make a difference?

We have become a wasteful, materialistic nation. We are spending more than we make. For what? For useless name-brand items that sit in our closets, in our garages, in our offices, and all through-out the home. What if you took that money and put it into a high interest savings account? Could you retire early?

Of course you could.

Is it a neccessity? I believe this is a decision that each individual will have to make.

I prefer to live the simple life and enjoy what I have.

talking bout keepin it up with the Jones'...

everyone have their own needs,dreams,desire.but everyone also have their own limitation.it depends on your belief.some may think that money if everything.some may think that we are only living temporary in this world.some may think in order to be "in" the society, one should work hard and show everyone how capable she/he is.

after all , we are only human.

and yes, everyone entitled to their own opinion

dammly agree here.... raising both hands and legs****