RB Ignition Coil Packs

a31gtst

Hey guys,

I recently changed my plugs and decided to take of the rubber housing of each coil pack to sand down the ctc points..to my amazement coil 1 to coil 5 only left the spring!
Coil 6 had the lead ctc point perfectly fine... :o

Wahlaueh, thts 5 ctc points totally burned off!!! So i was running on the mere springs frm the coil pack...thing is, i had a few spare coils so i managed to replace the burnt of ctc points but now idling is really off. The engine stutters every few seconds..idling is not smooth and btwn 2500 to 3000 rpm it feels like a dead zone...like a flat spot. The coil packs looked ok and the plugs are exactly the same, just new.....

Any ideas ;)

Cheers! :)

Originally posted by a31gtst@Dec 10 2004, 17:43
Hey guys,

I recently changed my plugs and decided to take of the rubber housing of each coil pack to sand down the ctc points..to my amazement coil 1 to coil 5 only left the spring!
Coil 6 had the lead ctc point perfectly fine... :o

Wahlaueh, thts 5 ctc points totally burned off!!! So i was running on the mere springs frm the coil pack...thing is, i had a few spare coils so i managed to replace the burnt of ctc points but now idling is really off. The engine stutters every few seconds..idling is not smooth and btwn 2500 to 3000 rpm it feels like a dead zone...like a flat spot. The coil packs looked ok and the plugs are exactly the same, just new.....

Any ideas ;)

Cheers! :)
Maybe you can try resetting the ECU.

Disconnect the + battery terminal. Press the brake a few times. The put the + terminal back on.

Hope this helps.

Originally posted by lionelk@Dec 10 2004, 21:26

Maybe you can try resetting the ECU.

Disconnect the + battery terminal. Press the brake a few times. The put the + terminal back on.

Hope this helps.
[/quote]
tried that oredi liao but still the same ler :unsure:

off and on i do reset the ecu and the results are really good...engine will be super smooth for a while, but this time it feels exactly the same...very rough idle...wth misfiring in between...