Remembering MV AUGUSTA - Fiat F500

drMpower

This is some intercepts from paultan.org and just carefully browse through its specification..

" Now, in the span of over 30 years since the last Fiat 500 rolled off the production line in 1975, what do you think fans of the Fiat 500 have been doing? Restoration and outright pimpage of course. Introducing the Prancing Mouse - a Fiat 500 done up at the former premises of the Arrows F1 team at Leafield, rechristened the F500. The Fiat F500 Prancing Mouse is built by Hartham, a race car constructor, will do 0-100km/h in under 4 seconds and hit a top speed of 193km/h.....

.....The Fiat F500 trades in it’s tiny 2-cylinder boxer engine for an L-Twin superbike engine from the Ducati 999R - an fuel injected liquid cooled 999cc Testastretta Desmodromic 8 valve making 150hp at 9,750rpm. The engine is also available in a higher state of tune churning out 200hp, and this is mated to a sequential 6-speed gearbox. The tiny brakes for a tiny car have been replaced with Brembos, and the chassis is a carbonfibre composite. Yes, another car powered by a bike engine.
Production of the Fiat F500 is strictly limited to 500 units......

.....ENGINE

Type - Ducati 999R. L-Twin, 8 valve Testastretta Desmodromic; liquid cooled;
Displacement - 999cc;
Bore & stroke - 104 x 58.8mm;
Compression ratio - 12.5:1;
Power - 110kw – 150hp @ 9750rpm (200hp WSB spec. available);
Torque - 11.9kgm @ 8000rpm;
Fuel injection - Marelli electronic fuel injection, 54mm throttle body;
Exhaust - Single carbon muffler with catalytic converter;
Emissions - Euro 2;
Lubricants - Shell Advance

PERFORMANCE

0-60mph - Sub 4 sec (estimate);
Top speed - 120mph (limited);
Power to weight - 428bhp / tonne standard. (up to 600bhp / tonne available);
Weight distribution (%) - 53R : 47F "

Remember MV AUGUSTA? here we go again..

the Fxxxing PROTON BOARD declared that the intention of selling off MV AUGUSTA is for the reason of no engineering synergy between a car maker and a motor bike maker. so, that's it PROTON. how you are fucxed right now?

Forget that MV AUGUSTA is laden with loss or what. that we can think of how to get it profiting again. but these smart ass politics think they are smarter in engineering and decided to sell this for a mere 1Euro..

serve you well...

drmpower : the thing is european bike makers find it hard to match the prices with japanese manufacturers , aint as easy as just thinking .

actually if proton did not sell MV augusta they would have been in deeper shit...as proton cant even run thier own company properly...why do u expect them to run an exotic bike manufacturer like MV augusta..
That company had a lot of debt..somewhere in the region of 200million..by selling it for 1 euro..they didnt have to pay the debt...
i think it was a stupid decision in the first place to buy MV augusta..one should venture out only when one has the capability to do so...

that is I am pissed off

infernaL said:
drmpower : the thing is european bike makers find it hard to match the prices with japanese manufacturers , aint as easy as just thinking .

yes..its never as easy as just thinking. totally agree on that. but how come fiat does come up with this? yes, its is not easy, but it certainly can be done. and, here we got prove!!!! :angry_smile:

I posted things about the car with moto bike engine just to shut the fuxxing mouth of the Proton Directors so that, next time, no more silly decision and dont take us for granted. Technology is there to be explore. Technology alone wont give us money, but they will give us ideas. lots of ideas.. (there are synergies in making motobikes and car makers!!!!)

Malaysia always got someone not that competent (in certain field, eg - engineering and sports) to make decisions. I think, there are so many candidates here in ZTH alone are competent for Ketua Pengarah JPJ or HoD (engineering in Proton) or become Proton's board member. because they are well equipped with technical and engineering knowledge.

Sorry guys, I just pissed off with Fiat producing what we should be doing. or what we would be doing in near future!

ehaab : exactly , why did proton venture into the bike biz - create national 150hp bikes for rempits ?

drMpower : maybe its like one of those problems many malaysians face when going shopping , they buy what they fancy and not what they need . lol

Dr M oversee's the vision..
dats y proton bought MV AGUSTA..
so that it cud help our car makers, just like Yamaha helped Toyota etc, Harley D n Porche etc...

Dude.... that cuty, the original engine sounds like a popping pop corn...

ohh.come on plz..Dr M ..saw no vision..but had a vested intrest...how can u compare a great company like toyota..or porsche with proton..
Tell Proton to do thier Primary JOB properly..then venture out...
Proton: DONT Quit your day job...

redoor: its not 'some' pictures..but one only daa...maybe the design still in the pipeline.but somesort of the same as you posted. cutie little thing! =)

ehaab said:
ohh.come on plz..Dr M ..saw no vision..but had a vested intrest...how can u compare a great company like toyota..or porsche with proton..
Tell Proton to do thier Primary JOB properly..then venture out...
Proton: DONT Quit your day job...

heh... of course we can compare, that is how u improve...
mayb that is his primary reason, to help improve proton in a long run (but shit happens)...
he's an idealist for a reason..
just imagine if our so called proton r handled only by themselves since then?? sure gone lah..

well, since that ur the man, y dont u send ur CV to proton, b the c.e.o at least.. n improve them.. it'll b a gud idea then..

drMpower said:
Sorry guys, I just pissed off with Fiat producing what we should be doing. or what we would be doing in near future!

Lol, a ducati powered Kancil?

I am a paultan fans too. Here is a picture of what they going to produce. The new generation F500
fiat500rendering.jpg

jeanloo said:
I am a paultan fans too. Here is a picture of what they going to produce. The new generation F500
fiat500rendering.jpg
hahaha... i've seen this new design also.. damn, so cute also... hahahaha...

suits perfectly for those little cutie chick... hahaha... :_:

jeanloo said:
Lol, a ducati powered Kancil?

wanna bet your money on it? hahaahahhaahahaahhaahah...surely got people having ducati engine inside one little cutie K-car.

on the long run, say bye-bye to VTECs. in city drive, bye-bye to those rempits..

Somebody in Malaysia has build a Fiat 500 with a Ducati v twin engine before, with carbon fibre panels and more. it was exported out of malaysia (to UK) in 2004 as it cant be registered in Malaysia...

Pity i havent got any pics of that gorgeous machine...