Repair or sell? Major accident

hey...sorry to hear about your accident...hope you are okay. ;)

let me suggest something that might ease your soul... :P

don't think of anything yet. get your insurance done first...and then...let the panel workshop decide what to do with it...claim total loss...repair back...

if can repair back and they say should not have problems with chassis twist...

hahaha...this is the best part. time to do stuffs you wont think of doing it while the car is still on the road.

stich weld your car...spot weld all welding spots again...reinforce your firewall and engine bay...switch to bigger anti roll bars...if got time remove the bloody dashboard and chassis and weld the fella... :P

did that on my old junk last year when it was hit by a lori balak from the back..took my sweet time to stitch weld the rear as my front was done during my transplant...feels much better than last time now...hahahaha :lol:

if you decide to sell off your car...can...not to say cannot...think of the hidden cost first...as long as the car's chassis is not twisted badly, there's still a small hope there. if kena potong...aih...you claim total loss...but all the stuffs inside the engine are not allowed to be removed. means ah...if you register your engine already, means the engine belongs to the insurance company when you write off the car.

unless you know some workshop who can kautim for you lah..
anyway...whatever your actions are...as long as you are safe...no injuries...be thankful to the ONE above. ;)

Check with the insurance co. how much you'll get back if you claim total loss. Then also check with 2nd hand dealers to see how much your make/model/year will earn (don't say accident car lah).

Factor in the processing costs for both, then see which one will earn you the most. IMO, don't bother driving that car because it's not very safe.

Don't forget to send for inspection by Puspakom if you decide to sell it. A little bit of talking with the Puspakom guys can get you their signature no prob.

Cheer up.. there must be some good news for u soon...

ask more people's opinion and clear out ur all the problems dude..

May the force be with u~

thanks for your advises, I will probably write it off or sell it depending on which one can get some decent compensation. Will find out from the adjustor next monday on the possible ways. Today he came to check the car, estimated repair cost is RM12,000 so I guess it's quite serious considering a 1.8 wira isn't worth much nowadays. If the chassis damage is in a repairable state (ie wont be worse off after repairs), then I might do some crazy stuff like spot welding and what miton said.

Didn't expect the brakes to jam also... goes to show no matter how well you know your car after sending it to a workshop for modifications have to take a few days to get used to the handling again. At the corner instead of following the road the car just went straight up the curb, apparently hit 2 curbs before hitting the hillslope. Also the tuning was a bit off, the boost came in right before the corner which didn't help much in the handling department. Anyway, the viable option is total lost then u'd probably see some goodies at the for sale section, that's if they are still in one piece. When I checked engine department the engine head is still in one piece but since the oil sump broke the block might need to be replaced. Not sure if the turbo is still in one piece or not.

sorry to hear about your car danny.

glad that you are safe. :huh:

sorry to hear that man...

what mod did you do to the car before that? did something to the brakes thats why jammed?

glad ur ok danny. definitely very important to find out why ur brakes jammed/locked

danny..glad you're ok...take care of your self man...

sorry to hear about your incident

People choose they own destiny. I though you choose death. You were just too lucky, judging from your description