RF Punch P162S and GTO635e

andrew_popoi

i just bought this two RF Punch P162S and GTO635e speakers recently...after i got everything installed i ask for warranty...but the towkeh don give me any warranty card....but instead assured me it is cover for six month...now i try to play the music...when i push up the volume it sound damn bad....tell me have I been duped into buying a fake prodcucts? I just cant differentiate whether it is ori or fake.

The RF cost me RM550 and the JBL cost me rm 250. I'm quite sure now that the JBL is fake cost the price is so cheap and the specs label on the box are different than what is given on the JBL website. But I'm not sure about the RF. Now Im fed up into buying straight from any accessories shop since there is no way I can differentiate between fake n original. I guess better buy SONY cos for sure they can assured me of a waranty card or I can buy straight from their websites.

I would like also to buy from anymerchant here rather than going to an accessories shop. But I also have my doubt about those sellers in here...if they are selling fake products.

Bro,
the RM550 is for one or two sets of RF P162s?
Whatever the case is, the P162S retails for around USD200 to USD300. So, do the math :)
Should have checked the whole package before you decided to buy the item. But, nonetheless, for future acc shop visit, make sure you go to authorised distributor/reseller.
By the way, are these speakers powered by an amp or from HU? Which model/brand?
Kuala Penyu? Which state is this? Sabah?

just stick to reputable car audio shops, they are authorised dealers, and only sell things from authorised distributors. they cant sell fake stuff as they have a reputation to protect.

when u buy RF products, check for stickers & warranty cards from Autocraft. they are the authorised distributors. for old stock it should be under the previous distributor, Pro-Ice.

for JBL i cant remember, slipped my mind...not familiar with their stuff...

Yeap, I'm from sabah...im really sorry myself for going into a shop that is not authorised...dats when u r a newbie....u just see things and think that is as what u c, when actually it is a fake...it does not even bear any sticker or any prove that is original...arrghhh...I'm wasting my money for a fakie...damn....that towker swear that it is original....damn....i wanna let go of that fake products...any buyer??? RM100?

Bro,
My advice, just use them for now. Selling them for RM100 is a real loss.
There's a website that shows what fake RF speakers looks like. Go to the site and check you speakers.
By the way, you have not answered our questions :)
How bad is bad?
How are the speakers/your system is connected?

How bad is bad

The speaker claim that it is 80 Watts RMS. It is powered by at 60 Watts RMS power amp. But I cant even set my volume to 10 before the speaker sounds like bursting. For me that is what I mean by bad, considering that it is an original speaker and that it is underpowered. Is that answering the questions?

Bro,
My advice, just use them for now. Selling them for RM100 is a real loss.
There's a website that shows what fake RF speakers looks like. Go to the site and check you speakers.
By the way, you have not answered our questions :)
How bad is bad?
How are the speakers/your system is connected?

Dear, Bro. Cacin,

Been looking for the website u meant, but cant find it...would u mind sharing it here. Thanks

Re: How bad is bad

The speaker claim that it is 80 Watts RMS. It is powered by at 60 Watts RMS power amp. But I cant even set my volume to 10 before the speaker sounds like bursting. For me that is what I mean by bad, considering that it is an original speaker and that it is underpowered. Is that answering the questions?

just lower your amp's gain. just look at amp side, it will be labelled as gain or level, etc..

if u wanna do properly, set it to minimum, then go to your HU and max volume (or almost max also can), and then raise the amp's gain bit by bit till u reach the speaker pecah sound, and then reverse a bit. this will be your max gain, dont touch anymore.

just lower your amp's gain. just look at amp side, it will be labelled as gain or level, etc..

if u wanna do properly, set it to minimum, then go to your HU and max volume (or almost max also can), and then raise the amp's gain bit by bit till u reach the speaker pecah sound, and then reverse a bit. this will be your max gain, dont touch anymore.

Agreed with Zenn's comments.
I was under the assumption that the acc shop had already done this during the installation phase.
If they did it wrongly, then doing what Zenn mentioned might solve your problem (for now) :)
If you don't mind, can share what else you have in your system?
HU:
AMP/s:

Thanks. My reply not fast la...it was 2 hours apart. :)

Agreed with Zenn's comments.
I was under the assumption that the acc shop had already done this during the installation phase.
If they did it wrongly, then doing what Zenn mentioned might solve your problem (for now) :)
If you don't mind, can share what else you have in your system?
HU:
AMP/s:

Thanks. My reply not fast la...it was 2 hours apart. :)

Thanks so much to all the bros here.... I already did just that....It just that I'm dissapointed buying that RF cos the price is the price of an original RF when actually it is fake....so sad....as for that JBL it was my wrong, thinking of getting a branded product at such a cheaper price...Yeah I'm using SONY Mex-DV2000 HU, Sony amps, and Caliber 7??? (dont remember) equalizer....sorry for being slow in replying...cos I'm using dial up and can just online every one in a while....thanks so much to all the bros

Hi there,
Sorry if this sounds stupid, but the MSRP is 249.99.
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products/product_details.asp?cat_id=3&series_id=33&family_id=28&item_id=91963&locale=en_US
So, even if it is just times 3, you'll need to pay at least RM750 already. Not to mention the tax, and profit margin for the Acc shop. So, getting it around RM1000 would be reasonable/cheap. But youre getting it around RM550 for 1 or 2 sets? Whatever it is, that's cheap like crazy which normally indicates it's a fake item. Unless, the stock is really really old and the guy wanna close his ACC shop :)
As far as I know the price can differ as much as 100% or more.

Just stick with this quote
"If it's too good to be true, it probably is"

as for that JBL it was my wrong, thinking of getting a branded product at such a cheaper price...Yeah I'm using SONY Mex-DV2000 HU, Sony amps, and Caliber 7??? (dont remember) equalizer....sorry for being slow in replying...cos I'm using dial up and can just online every one in a while....thanks so much to all the bros

Bro,
Who recommend you the caliber 7 band equalizer?
You bought everything one shot or in stages?
If in one shot, I think can go slap the acc shop guy who ask you to buy the caliber 7 band eq. :biggrin:

Your HU already come with 7 band EQ. Your hu already have all the RCA preout needed for Front (L&R), Rear (L&R), Centre and Sub. So, why need the EQ?
Your HU also already have aux input, so again, why the EQ? :hmmmm:

I am not sure how many amp you have and whether you have sub or not.
I think connection wise should be from the P162s, connect to front and rear. Probably can use one of the JBL as centre speakers( if it's not already done so).
HU Front to amp to P162S (Pair no 1)
HU Rear to amp to P162S (Pair no 2)
HU Centre to amp to JBL (1 only)
Hu Sub out to amp to SUB.

Hope this helps and sifu, please correct me if I'm wrong...

Recently my friend also buy RF P162S.Somemore he buy 2 unit.Cost his Rm1.5k.After install for few days,his speaker can't pakai already.Before buying said alot of goods things got warranty,this is AP speaker like handphone.Protect by local distribution so is cheaper and alot of things.He go n find the seller,the seller don't want to refund and no more warranty.Keep on saying my friend make the speaker pecah.Not their fault.My friend take the receipt and go to SSM to sue this acc shop.

Bro,
Who recommend you the caliber 7 band equalizer?
You bought everything one shot or in stages?
If in one shot, I think can go slap the acc shop guy who ask you to buy the caliber 7 band eq. :biggrin:

Your HU already come with 7 band EQ. Your hu already have all the RCA preout needed for Front (L&R), Rear (L&R), Centre and Sub. So, why need the EQ?
Your HU also already have aux input, so again, why the EQ? :hmmmm:

I am not sure how many amp you have and whether you have sub or not.
I think connection wise should be from the P162s, connect to front and rear. Probably can use one of the JBL as centre speakers( if it's not already done so).
HU Front to amp to P162S (Pair no 1)
HU Rear to amp to P162S (Pair no 2)
HU Centre to amp to JBL (1 only)
Hu Sub out to amp to SUB.

Hope this helps and sifu, please correct me if I'm wrong...

arggghhhh...these really make me feel stupid........

Not to worry. everybody starts somewhere right. That's why we have forums for knowledge and information sharing.
If your knowledge about ICE is low, do some reading on Basic Car Audio Electronics. That site is supposedly is for beginners (Basic Car Audio & Electronics).

It's also normal that acc shop tries to 'poison' you to buy some of the stuff that you might not actually need/don't plan to buy. :)