Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
RM80K++ car for option
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="ixeo" data-source="post: 1063352945" data-attributes="member: 14889"><p>Let's go through one by one..</p><p>H.City = subcompact class, 1.5L engine, NVH cannot compare to compact class car</p><p>Vios = same as H.City</p><p>Forte = compact class, Korean gearbox, good luck. I have friend's and relatives whose Hyundai Atos and Getz gearboxes fail prematurely. serviced by Hyundai on schedule. less than 80k km and 5 years sudah mampus.</p><p>Ford Fiesta = subcompact class/supermini, a lot of money for small car (same can be said for Mini Cooper)</p><p>Mazda 2 = same platform as Ford Fiesta</p><p>Triton = its not a car</p><p>Suzuki Swift = same as Ford Fiesta, but I guess better value for money (cheaper). proven platform, engine, transmission, handling</p><p>Nissan Latio = compact class car, looks ugly compared to H.City, Fiesta..it was a very good buy (value for money) until Inspira came out</p><p>Hyundai Elantra = compact class, but good luck with the gearbox.</p><p></p><p>buying a car is like buying a shoe..there's no one size fit all and it depends on the owner.. </p><p></p><p>example.. if you are a family guy, you fetch your parents out quite often (dinner, visit relatives) and you have/plan to start your own family, the subcompacts are out of the list unless you plan to change your car when your children become teenagers, or if you plan to have a lot of kids (3 & above). Sure, you can fit them all in the Swift, Fiesta or Vios but its going to be an uncomfortable ride if you have long distance trip, e.g. going to penang for holiday.</p><p></p><p>The hatches, fiesta/swift lagi mati.. imagine you fetch your parents to KLIA and they going long vacation.. no way in hell the big luggage is going to fit in the boot.</p><p></p><p>If you are a lone ranger, then it doesn't really matter.</p><p></p><p>Now.. for new cars.. <s>Lancer</s> the Inspira is definitely value for money.. it cannot be argued. A Altis/Civic compact class car. Proven Japanese engine and transmission - (the 4gXX engines in previous Protons proved reliable). The car is versatile enough to grow with your family. 3 kids? no problem, it won't be cramp in there. when they turn teenager, its going to be tight. but in a subcompact its going to be a sardine can. You may argue, its a Proton. But look at it this way, it is just a CKD Lancer, with some parts manufactured here. a Peugeot 308 is CKD and built by Naza anyway, with some parts manufactured here, does the badge matter that much? </p><p></p><p>so you got to ask yourself..how long you plan to keep the car, and how much you want to spend, and what your life's roadmap going to be. if you plan to be lonely driver like Takumi.. doesn't really matter what you buy. but for sure with a Swift or Fiesta, it'll be a car you will grow out of once you move on to the next stage in life, and by then you either buy a Camry or Inspira, and sell the Swift/Fiesta or keep it as a city car/2nd car.</p><p></p><p>EDIT: before any Korean car owners/fans/lovers come and bash me, I'd just like to point this out.. Japanese transmission is better than Korean transmission on actual use. proven. JDPower rankings of actual vehicle owners, Lexus consistently ranking top 10 since 2003, Toyota is No.4 in 2009, and Honda, Mazda, Nissan, Scion all received awards in 2009. You see a trend? NO KOREAN CARS.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="ixeo, post: 1063352945, member: 14889"] Let's go through one by one.. H.City = subcompact class, 1.5L engine, NVH cannot compare to compact class car Vios = same as H.City Forte = compact class, Korean gearbox, good luck. I have friend's and relatives whose Hyundai Atos and Getz gearboxes fail prematurely. serviced by Hyundai on schedule. less than 80k km and 5 years sudah mampus. Ford Fiesta = subcompact class/supermini, a lot of money for small car (same can be said for Mini Cooper) Mazda 2 = same platform as Ford Fiesta Triton = its not a car Suzuki Swift = same as Ford Fiesta, but I guess better value for money (cheaper). proven platform, engine, transmission, handling Nissan Latio = compact class car, looks ugly compared to H.City, Fiesta..it was a very good buy (value for money) until Inspira came out Hyundai Elantra = compact class, but good luck with the gearbox. buying a car is like buying a shoe..there's no one size fit all and it depends on the owner.. example.. if you are a family guy, you fetch your parents out quite often (dinner, visit relatives) and you have/plan to start your own family, the subcompacts are out of the list unless you plan to change your car when your children become teenagers, or if you plan to have a lot of kids (3 & above). Sure, you can fit them all in the Swift, Fiesta or Vios but its going to be an uncomfortable ride if you have long distance trip, e.g. going to penang for holiday. The hatches, fiesta/swift lagi mati.. imagine you fetch your parents to KLIA and they going long vacation.. no way in hell the big luggage is going to fit in the boot. If you are a lone ranger, then it doesn't really matter. Now.. for new cars.. [s]Lancer[/s] the Inspira is definitely value for money.. it cannot be argued. A Altis/Civic compact class car. Proven Japanese engine and transmission - (the 4gXX engines in previous Protons proved reliable). The car is versatile enough to grow with your family. 3 kids? no problem, it won't be cramp in there. when they turn teenager, its going to be tight. but in a subcompact its going to be a sardine can. You may argue, its a Proton. But look at it this way, it is just a CKD Lancer, with some parts manufactured here. a Peugeot 308 is CKD and built by Naza anyway, with some parts manufactured here, does the badge matter that much? so you got to ask yourself..how long you plan to keep the car, and how much you want to spend, and what your life's roadmap going to be. if you plan to be lonely driver like Takumi.. doesn't really matter what you buy. but for sure with a Swift or Fiesta, it'll be a car you will grow out of once you move on to the next stage in life, and by then you either buy a Camry or Inspira, and sell the Swift/Fiesta or keep it as a city car/2nd car. EDIT: before any Korean car owners/fans/lovers come and bash me, I'd just like to point this out.. Japanese transmission is better than Korean transmission on actual use. proven. JDPower rankings of actual vehicle owners, Lexus consistently ranking top 10 since 2003, Toyota is No.4 in 2009, and Honda, Mazda, Nissan, Scion all received awards in 2009. You see a trend? NO KOREAN CARS. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
original rare Yokohama ADVAN Racing TC4 18x8.5...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Rays Volk Racing ZE40 17x9jj offset...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
original rare Rays Volk Racing INGS TS06 18x8jj...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
New original Defi Advance A1 NA package triple...
Started by
david tao
original rare Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj offset...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda Jazz/Fit JSracing GTwing Spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Toyota Vios NCP93 front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda civic fc varis spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 Msport front bumper set
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3/GTS front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Wedsport Tc05
is there any one can teach me what a different between wedsport tc05 and dc2 stock rims ?
I wanna know how much horsepower these parts make on my mod list...
I WAS WONDERING HOW MUCH HORSEPOWER ALL THESE PARTS MAKE
ON A 1999 MITSUBISHI EVOLUTION 6 MR..
1) CARBON FIBER HOOD
2) BLACK ENKEI RACING RIMS
3) TOYO TYERS
4) CARBON FIBER WING
5) AUTOBAHN TURBO MANIFOLD
6)...
Ball-bearing and Thrust-bearing turbo...
Anyone can provide an insight on how to visually tell if a turbo is a ball-bearing or conventional thrust-bearing turbo? Tried finding out from the web but can't seems to find any info on telling you how to visually...
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification