Roof Scopes

saltydogg

can anyone tell me the purpose of a roof scope(as seen on imprazas)

does it work like an air intake or what ?

:D thanks in advance

Its used to cool the car interior during driving. Just like those on 5 ton lorries lah. also got summore can adjust the opening wan. Haha
Those are mostly use in race where the air cond unit is taken out. to keep the inside and driver cool cause when they race they dont keep the car windows open ...not like those Ah Bengs got air cond also dont know how to use still want to open the car window.
Some even open during hot afternoon in a traffic jam, not hot wan ah ?? :blink:
if at night nevermind lah.... :D

some people open the window coz they wan to save petrol by turning off the aircon.. some people wan to smoke..
but i neva open window coz cannot tahan the smokes/ smells n the hot whether.. i can't drive w/o aircon..

off aircond will save a bit petrol??????

i dunno about this.......really or not????????????????????????????

actually ar....if off aircond, u have to open window...when u open window... there is more drag for the car to move forward...so when there is more drag, there is need for more fuel to move the car forward...so

conclusion : if open window (less aerodynamic)...thus consume more petrol..

juz my 2 cents...

logic or not ?

instead of saving fuel...u tend to waste more...

Off aircond can save alot alot more petrol compare to switching on the aircond when driving. I tried without switching on the aircond at the morning wen im going to coll everyday..then compare wit switching on..big diff..dun believe can try..morning 7am not hot la.. :P

About the drag...if u r not travelling at a high speed such as 150 or 120km/h..the drag wont be so great until it consume so much more of petrol..unless ur car at the back got parachute...hehe! duno if im rite..just my 2 cents too... :P

haha.. yeahler.. hot hot kenot tahan one ler.. but sometimes.. like some 2 hour traffic jam.. akkakak.. eventhough hot have to wind down the window to smoke ler.. haha... if not kenot tahan.. kekeke...

Me open a bit when in 'racing mode' b'cause the air cond compressor belting are tied to ur engine, makes it heavier lahh. So by turning it off engines will be much lighter.
Other than that....air conditioning...CooooooL

ps : why people hanging their hands out of window, drive 50kmh & act like nobodies around..... why oh why..beng beng beng

Maybe they dont have time to go to the beach for sun bathing. So open window, put their hands out then sun bath the hand lah.... :D
Very sexy mah look dark dark on the hand...Hahahaha Like Louis Koo... :D
Maybe the trend now is two tone colour...Hahahaha :blink:

I also no idea why people like to put their hand out even if they're not smoking.. haiz.. wanna show bulu kar?
anyway, the the drag wun affect much but turning aircon off can save fuel.. tat's the fact..

open window in a traffic jam and hot afternoon really torture wan.
so many car exhaust.....sum moew many carbon monoxide....deadly wei.... :(

yeah.. i cannot tahan those.. but my car also sux.. if aircon on u can smell those shits also.. haiz

for what i know, depends on car and their aircond compresor, turning off the a/c can safe up to 20% petrol. and assuming your car have very good aerodynamic, opening the window (didn't mention wether open just 1 window abit or open all window) can waste up to 12% petrol.

but since my car old school toyota, no aerodynamic also so i switch off the a/c whenever i can bear the heat. that mean morning or evening/night when driving alone i dun use a/c.

how much fuel can i safe? not very sure, but just by turning off the a/c everymorning on my way to college, about 7-8km, traffic jam all the time, so take 20-30min at least, already saved me lots of petrol.

before that, i use a/c all the time can go 220-240km for rm40 of petrol. now usually do 250-265km, just by running without a/c everymorning.. ^_^

if u don't want so much drag, don't wind down your windows all the way down.. i usually have mine about 8 - 10cm down for the front left and right when i drive to university in the morning around 7am (or at night after 10 or 11pm).. it's not hot in the morning.. but then you tend to get really sick of the exhaust fumes from the vehicles.. (i usually wind up my windows, turn on my aircond during traffic jams cuz i couldn't bear the exhaust fumes..)

morning drive ma .. open that errr dunno what u called , let outside air comes in lorrr tru ur aircon hose.. then window open abit only lerrr.. more than enuff aledi ...

about the roof scope .. i seens MR cars such as mc laren F1 wan ah .. the roof scope actually directs air into their engine which is behind to feed their air filter with more air from outside.. dunno whether im wrong about that or not ..