Silicon hose

Danny

Does anyone know if there is an alternative to expensive silicon hoses and where to get them? What other materials can be used? I noticed that the original rubber hoses are beginning to lose its shape (layu already).

hmm.. I was like searching for those rubber hose like from the half-cut.. u know.. got benang benang wan... my mech say.. that one.. lorry spare-part shop got sell. I go also all too big la.. dun have 2" den i try the cap ayam silicon hose.. 2" Diam 3" Long... that one worst than the original rubber... dun ever use those shit and fit into your intercooler piping lines. Den.. save up enuf money.. and change to Samco... the best la wei...

how much does samco cost? where to get it?

oh yea, I found a place that sells heavy duty silicon hoses but it is used for aquarium pumps (transparent type), can it be used?

Samco N1 is selling it.. U'll have to find out the price yourself.
The transparent hoses all useless... never use them for your boost meter.. they'll melt in no time inside your VR4. For the small hoses.. the yellow and the blue color silicon hose cost me RM80 like dat for the whole car.. if just for the boost meter.. RM45 i think enuf also already.

Try the gas cylinder hoses they use to connect your gas cooker to your gas cylinder. They seem to be able to withstand high heat (see those chinese hawker stalls how they put their gas cylinders). I use them for connecting Oil Catch Tank.

May not come in all sizes, so some hoses u still need silicon like Samco...

to my experience.. the tranparent gas cylinder hoses also cannot use.. after some time.. also jadi lembik.. especially in turbo cars, coz they generate extreme heat inside the engine bay. N/A engine like 1.5 can la.. not too much heat.

i buy SARD silicon hoses for 2 metres (i think) at rm70-80 (dun remember la) and it is good..somemore, engine bay look more colorful

if SARD big hose for connecting intercooler pipe is around 60-70 per piece, maybe u need 4-6 hose for ur intercooler to throttle body. if long hose for radiator then i dunno about the price lor

Too cheap-if it is too good to be true , then it is no good
SAMCO hoses are good, but dem pricey.

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Jul 6 2004, 09:23 AM
hmm.. I was like searching for those rubber hose like from the half-cut.. u know.. got benang benang wan... my mech say.. that one.. lorry spare-part shop got sell. I go also all too big la.. dun have 2" den i try the cap ayam silicon hose.. 2" Diam 3" Long... that one worst than the original rubber... dun ever use those shit and fit into your intercooler piping lines. Den.. save up enuf money.. and change to Samco... the best la wei...
hey nice engine bay u got there?
who spray for u ?
intro can ah ?

Originally posted by Nazikane+Jul 7 2004, 03:13 AM-->
QUOTE (Nazikane @ Jul 7 2004, 03:13 AM)
--QuoteBegin-ezwong2002
@Jul 6 2004, 09:23 AM

hey nice engine bay u got there?
who spray for u ?
intro can ah ? [/b][/quote]
DIY la bro...

ouch, branded hoses damn expensive, I found an alternative already. Asked my mech to pass me some hard rubber hoses that he has leftoever from engine transplants. I think it was from the brake hose. Got it foc.

My last job is selling hoses. Hehe.. got a lot of industry hoses that can tahan temp one.. the problem is nowadays too many malaysian made one in the market liao. Malaysian made look solid one.. when used, cannot last long one. Dont be fooled by its appearance..

Another one is when you repair your powersteering hose (new one exp, usually mechanic sent to repair one).. some mechanic will opt for hydraulic hose instead of powersteering hose becoz its cheaper. The difference is in the rubber quality, thats why powersteering hose is 4 times more exp than hydraulic hose. Of course by its name, hydraulic hoses can tahan more pressure but it beh tahan lama. Somemore put in hot area like engine bay.. very fast bye bye one. Sometimes even the rubber peel off liao also wont leak coz pressure not that high but ugly lor. And the mechanic happy lor coz they charged u the price of the more exp powersteering hose but give u hydraulic hose.

Seen ppl sell teflon brake hose for Rm200+.. wah lau. Sometimes I think I wanna DIY and sell for RM150 but no time.. these stuffs cheap like shit one.

Malaysian made hose are damn hard to bend somemore.. bend L or S shape sometimes got some section not smooth the flow, try some good brands like Gates (american stuff). If not mistaken, they also have radiator hose or what they usually brand as water delivery hose. If want silicon hoses, try Toyox. You can ask them upto what temp these hoses can withstand. I used to have a Toyox catalog with me but return to my boss already. If you use it for air/fluid suction, scare it will change shape, use those with wire braided.

aiyak.. me using hydraulic hose for my oil lines la.. how ah? my mech say hydraulic hose can tahan also.. but steel braided hose better la... but the damn price.. u know la. how ah? i tried using lighter burn that bladdy hydraulic hose.. hehe.. it took very long time to start burning.. i guess ok gua.
Danny, brake hose small only la.. actually what hose u are talking about.. i tot intercooler piping hose?

what about hoses from penumatic(aiks..wrong spelling i guess :) )
i got some of those in my car..haven`t tested it out yet...

got it from and mechanical enginnering fren.. he used to build a small elevator with it..... can tahan high pressure but heat and longevity i`m not too sure.. :)

danny,
coming to tt this fri? will show it to u.. :)

Burn of course no problem lar.. boil water also not done in 5-10sec what. What I said is not that it cannot tahan heat, it can but it cant tahan lama bcoz the rubber composition not good enough. After like half a few months exposed to heat, hydraulic hoses rubber harden and then on its durability is dractically reduced. Thats why certain brand of hoses so expensive.. its already tested that these hoses can withstand such temp without hardening, and able to maintain its flexibility.

Dunno why your mech use hydraulic hose, maybe he want to ensure that the oil passage wont shrunk if suction power too much for normal nylon mesh oil hose. Malaysian made normal oil hose should haf cost just as much as hydraulic hose but when I think the normal one would be tighter when locked with a clip. Sometimes try not to use hydraulic hose cos rubber composition is different. Different types of oil has different effect. You seen danger notice on all petrol pump rite?? Said if kena hand will bla bla bla, must wash bla bla bla. Its the same with hose. Petrol and diesel not same with lubricant like hydraulic oil and engine oil. They do hurt hose quite badly. Thats why they come up with oil hose. Its formulated to resist against these effect.

Pneumatic hose ar.. not sure la. Depend on application lor. Non-hydraulic application usually can tahan around 20bar or 300 psi (for oil delivery, water delivery, radiator, air hose). Hydraulic hoses usually 1000psi and above. Industry hoses got a lot of types one but since its industry, most of it deals with high temp, and less on pressure. Thats why mech nowadays use many of these hoses coz our car run cooler than those industrial machines. But bcos ppl always complain this exp that exp, ppl now come up with Malaysian made hoses which isnt as durable,flexible and exp as those branded hoses.

yea coming on friday narx, pls bring along, I wanna see also.

The brake hose that I used is to replace the vacumn tube, coz it was layu already.