Spoiler brake light as Third Brake Light?

trex92

Can anyone confirm whether the brake lights (the LEDs) on the rear spoiler can be treated as a third brake light? I seem to recall last time police said cannot but after a new model (i think it was Proton Wira Aeroback) was launched or something, then police allowed the brake light on the spoiler to be treated as the Third Brake Lights.

trex92 said:
Can anyone confirm whether the brake lights (the LEDs) on the rear spoiler can be treated as a third brake light? I seem to recall last time police said cannot but after a new model (i think it was Proton Wira Aeroback) was launched or something, then police allowed the brake light on the spoiler to be treated as the Third Brake Lights.

spoiler brake light can be officially use as third brake light ler

I thought all this while the brake light in spoiler is classified as third
brake light. If that is not 3rd brake light than i think it's a decoration light. hehehe...:biggrin:
GOt many brand new car also having brake light in spoiler as 3rd brake light ler.....

~my 2cent~

ok.... coz i was afraid police kacau and say spoiler light too small to be used as a third brake light... thanks all... ;)

well those brake light at boot cover also count as 3rd

but as usual u can install another one at your rear mirror also lar...
more safe mar.. :D

i already install an E3 spoiler on my wira but the original 3rd brake light still there. i didnt bother to take it out just leave it that way hehe...

Come on lah!... if u say it is illegal, then all Proton Satria GTi are running around with illegal 3rd brake lights?

My car came with both, one behind the windscreen on top of the speaker board, another at the rear spoiler. Personally i think its better to have one original 3rd brake light thats on top of the speakerboard, that is if you drive a sedan car, and not those roadsters. Reason being, spoiler 3rd brake lights are a lot less reliable and more than often you will notice 2 or 3 LED's have been burnt in the spoiler. Besides, its not bright enuff.