stuck at 2nd gear

TauhuTauhu

my dad's old toyota cressida cacat edi...
it's running a diesel...transplanted few years back.
i dunno wat engine it is...a 2.0/2.2 diesel turbo.
the auto g'box will only shift frm 1st gear till 2nd gear...then stuck there liao. no matter wat oso stay at 2nd gear, damn!

anyone know wat's happening?

wat engine is this?? (sorry, engine bay damn dirty :lol: :lol:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v494/tauhutauhu/DSC00537.jpg

Torque converter kaput liao... time to change.

Same problem on my dad's Landcruiser VX.

tauhu2, you mean the one your sis drive to informatics ar? or is it another one? i dunno which one is which one but i think i saw you drive it to fetch her before right? is it that one?

Originally posted by acbc@Jan 18 2005, 18:13
Torque converter kaput liao... time to change.

Same problem on my dad's Landcruiser VX.
where's the torque converter? :(

i dunno laa...

torque converter is in the gearbox....like the clutch of manual g'box...oni auto g'box got this thing

hailat loh....this thing quite expensive rite??? how to tell my dad....
i told him:"shud b nth serious lah, maybe got wire cabut o wat....so it's not receiving a signal to change gear... :lol: :lol: "
coz my dad's car really teruk liao...RPM meter jumping up and down....and just now...dunno y the water temp. meter oso cacat...the needle will jump to "C" whnever throttle is applied, whn release throttle pedal, it jumped back to the center... so, i tot got wire cabut... :lol: :lol:

now dunno how to tell him...hailat hailat :( :(

tauhu tauhu, time to poison your dad to get a 6 cylinder half cut liao... then can dump in the dashboard panel :lol:

i saw this engine at chop shop... maybe can buy the auto gearbox from them... just call 03-51225555 to ask.

1JZ??? :ph34r:
haha, my dad's car is for uncle mah....kenot put 1JZ :lol:

btw, wat engine is tht arr? from wat car this diesel?

btw, change the converter can liao ehh...dun tell me change whl g'box..the price sure scary ehh

What to do? if repair also need lots of $$$ ma, or change another car lor.. with budget 1.. ;)

Just change the gearbox will do...

But since you mention other problems, I think the person who did the conversion didn't do a good job... simply put and go. :(

Originally posted by acbc@Jan 18 2005, 23:08
Just change the gearbox will do...

But since you mention other problems, I think the person who did the conversion didn't do a good job... simply put and go. :(
yaloh....done by a mechanic from JKR(jabatan kerja raya)...he repairs those 4wd diesel from JKR....i wasn't interested in car last time, so i din care much.
the RPM meter wasnt working oso dun care....din know wat's the use of RPM :lol: :lol: :lol:

but now think back.....damn expensive the transplant + engine.....how stupid

Originally posted by TauhuTauhu@Jan 18 2005, 22:45
1JZ??? :ph34r:
haha, my dad's car is for uncle mah....kenot put 1JZ :lol:

btw, wat engine is tht arr? from wat car this diesel?

btw, change the converter can liao ehh...dun tell me change whl g'box..the price sure scary ehh
initial suspect is that engine is from 1986 toyota crown auto tranny, code 2L-T (as writen on the engine). 2.2liter sohc 2 valve/cylinder, 105hp and about 21.5kgm of torque ( :lol: more torquey than 4agze) 21:1 compresion ratio :D

compression so high???
r u sure?
hmm...but diesel need high compression to burn oso...if compression low will not burn...

not sure abt this ehh..22:1 really high..
if petrol engine sure knock till crazy

sure no mistake, diesel need lots more compresion or else no power. last time when i'm back in form 2 or 3 that KMT class got teach ler, that time the teacher say gasoline engine have comp ratio of 8:1 and diesel have 18:1. so 4ag also reach11:1 why diesel cannot reach 22:1?