Summon and Road Tax Woes....

minivan

When we are slapped with a speeding ticket, we are not allowed to renew our road tax. A question comes to mind: Is this actually legal or logical? Because, if you think about it, by blocking the ability of one to renew their road tax, the authority is actually forcing us into another more serious offence: Driving without road tax.

For many, the car is a necessity, but when you are not able to renew your road tax (Which you sincerely want to pay) you are forced to sometimes take actions you don’t really want to do in the first place: Drive without road tax.

This situation is further compounded when you do not know that you have an outstanding summon. You only know when are lining up at the post office being a responsible citizen trying to renew your road tax, and when you reach the counter, they guy/gal at the counter “tak boleh renew la encik, kene block”. Given the new bit of info, your budget “lari” as you already paid for the car’s insurance, which costed a bomb, and now have to fork up more to settle the summon.

I know some would say, who told you to speed in the first place? But even if you don’t exceed 110km/h, there always seems to be the 80 or 60 km/h areas, which you tend to overlook. In KL, some 3 lane big highways still have the 80km/h speed limit, and given today’s ultra smooth high-tech cars we enjoy today, can so easily forget that you are doing 90km/h ++ on an 80km/h limit highway.

Any comments/feedback on this issue??

How about curbing speed offenders by making them wear an electrified collar tracked by GPS which zaps em everytime they break the speed limit. Road hogs also get zapped if they stay in the fast lane too long at a low speed.

my comments is

we born in malaysia
we can do nothing
they are authority got 2 mouth in "chinese"
"guan zhi liang ge kou"
we onli got one mouth in chinese

so we can say nothing
every thing i by them

we have to used to it lah brother
kekkeke

badguy,

yeah i know what you mean... but i am so sick and tired of it!! this year 2 times i had to go through the freakin ordeal!!

Speeding tickets are getting too bloody common in Malaysia... Nowadays you have to incorporate and extra RM150-300 for your "balik kampung" trip!!!! besides the freakin fuel and tols....!! and don't get me started on tols!!! :mad:

but i have heard somewhere that there is a lawyer challanging the G because of this blocking road tax renewal thing....

I kinda agree with the poster of this topic. Given the current situation of the Malaysian post service, I wouldn't blame one for not receiving their speed summons. There are cases where mails are sent to the wrong addresses.

To further reinstate my point, the signage on Malaysian roads are just so screwed up. There just seem to be a speed limit to reduce your speed at some point but there never seem to be one that tells you to resume normal cruising speed after passing the area.

It doesn't matter what car we are enjoying. I have seen other countries having much more powerful cars constrained to a speed limit of 60km/h in built up areas. An offence is an offence.

My point is that the government agencies should work closely to make things efficient. It's sometimes frustrating to not know we have committed an offence until we renew our road taxes. I accept the fact that we might have committed some kinda offences and am willing to pay but make it consistent. Don't come up and tell us all these all of a sudden. Most of the time, we do not allocate extra budget for these unforeseen circumstances.

maybe can try colour coded line.
white line = no speed limit
green / blue / red (any other color) = to indicate speed limit zone.

hehe.

-just a piece of my mind-

artraider said:
maybe can try colour coded line.
white line = no speed limit
green / blue / red (any other color) = to indicate speed limit zone.

hehe.

-just a piece of my mind-
some drivers dont even look at the bright red signboard easily being seen at the side of the road, now u asking them to observe the line on the road? not practical

hmmm... do the crime, pay the fine is what i would say. Bad postal services is no excuse, when u find out later (such as when paying road tax) then u should go and pay.

Yes, I agree, do the crime, pay the fine. When you find out later (such as when paying road tax,) then we should go and pay. Yes, I am not saying we shouldn't. All I am saying is, it is so much of a hassle. First, we cannot renew our roadtax when that is what we wanted to do. Second, if the fine would have come as expected and not all of a sudden, we will be able to pay it and have no hassle in renewing the roadtax.

All I am saying is, be consistent. We will pay the fine for the wrong doings but be consistent to make life simple for both parties, no?

in other words. create a 'saman bank'. everytime u speed. put RM10 in. that way in 1 year u'll be saving RM 3650. if got saman.. pay. if not.. forward to next year account. hehe.

The speed limits are ridiculous. Most of the limits have been set about __ years ago? These days cars are built safer, more stable and obviously built to go faster so the speed limit should be upped to match.

And they are rli making it tough for people who speed. Haish. Im currently trying to appeal my way out of a revoked license ban due to ONE speeding ticket. My FIRST ever offence on the road and i lost my license. STRIKE ONE OUT! :mad:

1stly,can we imagine if we are the goverment? and the number of deaths keep increasing?

actually, there is nothing wrong of speeding. the problem comes when stopping. either we are too late to react, or brakes insufficent or other factors like slippery road surface.

so, its best to keep the speed at reasonable fast. no doubt modern cars are safer (more stabil, good brakes) but until we can proof to the G that the number of death accidents is kept low, then only we can talk about higher speed limits.

its like father and children.
every year, exam result is poor, how to increase pocket money?

my 1 cent

I would agree that modern cars are safer if I were overseas. In Malaysia, it's a whole lot of a different story. As much as I would like to agree that modern cars are safer, it is a sad but true fact that a majority of the road is still covered by PROTONG and PERODUA. At least Perodua is starting to improve on their safety but Protong? I am not too sure here.

Government overseas make it a must that all cars are fitted with air bags and even ABS I think. Here, how many cars actually have air bags? We can safely assume that almost all Proton and Perodua vehicles have none except for their higher range vehicles. Talking about increasing the speed limit, how many vehicles actually have ABS for that matter?

In conclusion, I still think that the speed limit of 110 km/h is pretty reasonable. In countries like Australia, they have a standard speed limit of 100 km/h for motorways and highways. They have a 110 km/h speed limit for longer routes from say Brisbane to Sydney. So I still think 110 km/h is a reasonable speed limit. :)

Actually driver's attitude is the main problem lah. if 98/100 of drivers on our road have good attitude increasing the speed limit is not a problem. But, some of the drivers don't seem to know the law, not being considerate and polite.

Some drivers think they pay road tax and use the road like his father bought it from the supermarket just for him. Really annoying...

Some driver is more worse, see pedestrains crossing the road....still step on the gas like telling you to "GET OUT OFF MY WAY !!" :frown: Aiiii.....

TitanRev said:
Actually driver's attitude is the main problem lah. if 98/100 of drivers on our road have good attitude increasing the speed limit is not a problem. But, some of the drivers don't seem to know the law, not being considerate and polite.

Some drivers think they pay road tax and use the road like his father bought it from the supermarket just for him. Really annoying...

Some driver is more worse, see pedestrains crossing the road....still step on the gas like telling you to "GET OUT OFF MY WAY !!" :frown: Aiiii.....
In a way, I second you opinion there. Driver's attitude is also a problem here. :)

Back to the main point, it's still not right to hamper people with outstanding summons all of a sudden when we are not aware of their existence. If we knew and we purposely did not pay up, we are at fault otherwise, it's just plain wrong. hehe.

astalavista_baby said:
In a way, I second you opinion there. Driver's attitude is also a problem here. :)

Back to the main point, it's still not right to hamper people with outstanding summons all of a sudden when we are not aware of their existence. If we knew and we purposely did not pay up, we are at fault otherwise, it's just plain wrong. hehe.

Government blokc us to renew roadtax coz we hv summons to clear up...

u got the saman n u hv to pay for it...if u dun wan, they block ur roadtax n u cant drive ur car...so u gotta take bus take taxi...lolz...

u cant driv without roadtax n insurance, if found....u wil get 'lesen gantung' ....for lesen 'P' la...no 'p' i not sure...

my bro gantung las time, roadtax die one hour only....coz after 12zm midnite ma...so consider another day oledi...so roadtax not valid...so stopped by jpj n gantung 2 yrs...

huakenny said:
Government blokc us to renew roadtax coz we hv summons to clear up...

u got the saman n u hv to pay for it...if u dun wan, they block ur roadtax n u cant drive ur car...so u gotta take bus take taxi...lolz...

u cant driv without roadtax n insurance, if found....u wil get 'lesen gantung' ....for lesen 'P' la...no 'p' i not sure...

my bro gantung las time, roadtax die one hour only....coz after 12zm midnite ma...so consider another day oledi...so roadtax not valid...so stopped by jpj n gantung 2 yrs...
Oh man, that's bad! LOL.

Anyway, yea, it's not wrong for them to block us from renewing our road taxes when we do not pay our summons but make sure we receive our summons in the first place be it by post or whatever it is. Make sure all parties are working together to ensure the summons reach us.

Of course, if the summons come and some people prefer to avoid them, that's a whole different story. :D

astalavista_baby said:
Oh man, that's bad! LOL.

Anyway, yea, it's not wrong for them to block us from renewing our road taxes when we do not pay our summons but make sure we receive our summons in the first place be it by post or whatever it is. Make sure all parties are working together to ensure the summons reach us.

Of course, if the summons come and some people prefer to avoid them, that's a whole different story. :D

there is a practice where some ppl wud register themselves using unknown address, or keep changing address without the responsibility to acknowledge the auhotrity.

pity the postmen when they cant find the correct address to deliver !saman! go home sure bang head one... :lol:r

btw asta lavista, i agree with you on the airbag installation. make it mandatory for cars above 950cc to have at least driver's side airbag. more than 2000cc twin front airbag.

i believe all of us aware that the kelisa and kenari UK spec comes with standard front twin airbag, and all proton UK spec comes with standard driver's airbag since late 90s. EU legislation....

zan said:
there is a practice where some ppl wud register themselves using unknown address, or keep changing address without the responsibility to acknowledge the auhotrity.

pity the postmen when they cant find the correct address to deliver !saman! go home sure bang head one... :lol:r

btw asta lavista, i agree with you on the airbag installation. make it mandatory for cars above 950cc to have at least driver's side airbag. more than 2000cc twin front airbag.

i believe all of us aware that the kelisa and kenari UK spec comes with standard front twin airbag, and all proton UK spec comes with standard driver's airbag since late 90s. EU legislation....
For people changing their addresses without informing the authorities, then that is a whole different story already. Now, that is already their fault and not the authorities'. LOL.

As for Peroduas and Protons in UK, the reason they did it is because it is mandatory for all cars to have air bags in the UK if I am not mistaken. So hence, Perodua and Proton entering the European country have air bags installed as standard.

Locally, they opt the air bags out to save on cost. I don't know about the rest, but I for one would not mind spending a couple of thousand more for the safety features. In critical situations, they really help make a drastic difference.