Suzuki Swift/gt/gti/cultus

whitenite

Anyone interested in the Swift/Cultus and wanna talk/share about the model?
'90 1.0GL, project conversion to Cultus.

hurmm..just wondering....how much ehh, the cost..to convert to fully 1.3gti..cultus??...including the b/parts...etc..etc..

RM4k for Fr 1/2 cut complete with fuel tank, 4 springs & shox, Rr arm, caliper & brake discs. mine came with Rr Anti roll bar as well.
labour - depend on yr mechanic. JPJ regn & Puspakom check, depend on yr runner.
just met 1 cool Swift mechanic who does repairs & conversions, and stocks 1/2 cuts as wll as spare pts. He's in Bkt Kemuning.
Haven't tried a real Cultus before, but from the stories I've heard ...
:P
shd be grreat!
can't wait to get the conversion started!

whitenite,
the swift overhere cost around rm7-10k right nowadays?
are standard engine parts and bodyparts easy to find?thanks!

relatively easy. quite a no. of Spore GTis now avail.
also Swift 1.0GL owners who do convert will want to dispose their parts (like me!)
Basically it's a budget car, but the performance has got to be seen to be believed!
saw someone advertise in Star classifieds recently, RM6.5k stock GL.

Cultus is the 4wd version of the Swift GTi...
But I think Cultus is only sold in Japan.

There is another mechanic near Rawang doing Swift conversion. seen a swift there with GTi engine and with custom turbo... CRAZY!!!!!!

The GTi is fast. the stock redline is 8,000rpm!!!! it's the most powerful NA 1.3 liter in the world. 103 bhp on paper...

However, now a bit difficult to do up the car here.. Suzuki new parts are not cheap let alone performance parts.

This car is a cult car in Australia. This small little fellow will not fall too far behind running with the imprezza and evos... What to do, the car weighs about 900kg only... or even less...

"Cultus is the 4wd version of the Swift GTi...
But I think Cultus is only sold in Japan."

Cultus is the JDM name for Swift. Kinda like Persona is the UK market name for Wira. They have Cultus 1.0GL, 1.3 GTi FWD & 4WD.

"The GTi is fast. the stock redline is 8,000rpm!!!! it's the most powerful NA 1.3 liter in the world. 103 bhp on paper... "
Depending on market & model, Swift GTi redline is from 6500rpm (US) to 7500rpm. Only the JDM Cultus GTi redlines at 8000rpm. All non-JDM Swift GTis are rated 100hp on specsheet. The JDM Cultus GTis are 115hp.

"the car weighs about 900kg only... or even less... "
Less than 800kg for early model, 820kg for later ones. But that's 2 dr. 4dr mebbe 20kg more - ?

I used to drive a Swift GL, now past on to my younger bro... in the family since 1990...

The car can handle pretty well especially since i have lowered it with Terra springs and added front strut bars. it has very neutral handling and very chuckable at the corners and roundabout. minimal understeer...

Took the car to 170kmh on the NKVE (downhill slope next to Gua Tempurung). Car feels very stable no drama...
And once managed to maintain 150kmh for a good few minutes... Good enuf lar for an 10 year old 1.0 engine (at that time)

I would really want to feel the power from the 1.3 GTi... I was impressed with the handling of the 1.0, but not too sure about the 1.3. But should be better since it can perform on par with the 1.6 Civics in the BTSC official races (back in 1992-1993)

I love the car.. Only downside is that the spareparts are expensive compared to my BMW...

check here for specs:
http://www.suzuki-w.co.jp/history2/cultus/culAA44.html

on spares being exp, that depends on where you're getting them from. On a budget ride like this, I sur wouldn't be wanting new parts if i can help it. so, if the urgency isn't there (not likely to be for me, it's a 2nd car ... :P ), 'stead of buying new from franchisee, i'll just wait till the pt is available from potong kereta/specialists.

Are the Gti and the Cultus the same?

Hmmmm was thinking about getting a cheap & fuss free car to college.The swift looks like a very nice option except for my father being afraid of "xpensive parts" problem! :D

Originally posted by whitenite@Mar 3 2004, 04:49 PM
check here for specs:
http://www.suzuki-w.co.jp/history2/cultus/culAA44.html

on spares being exp, that depends on where you're getting them from. On a budget ride like this, I sur wouldn't be wanting new parts if i can help it. so, if the urgency isn't there (not likely to be for me, it's a 2nd car ... :P ), 'stead of buying new from franchisee, i'll just wait till the pt is available from potong kereta/specialists.
It's true that you can get certain parts from the chop shop...
But some stuff you still need to get new marr...

Anyway, I think chopped parts still need to 'order' as demand not high for this car... Not many on the road....

there's one for sale in motor trader...yr 92 fully converted to 1.3 gti engine and cultus b/kit..price..around rm17k..izzit worth buying or not?.....and 1 more thing, can this swift gti tapow...L2s, gtti, 1.8 gti ..etc..etc..;)..just wondering..

hi all...

cultus engine is more 15hp than gt... the different is the manifold (round) camshaft and other stuff... im not really good in technical.. hahaha

can tapau or not?? heheh.. try to believe... 3rd gear can reach 150kmj.. good enough or not??

17k is a normal price for full conversion... try to convert by urself.. u'll wasting ur time, tired looking for spare part... even my car need around rm13k for full conversion + sunroof and new spray

how about swift fitted with 4e fte engine....does it go well.....i heard that theres problem with the radiator....is it true?

Has any Si Fus here compared Suzuki Swift GL with a Daihatsu Charade Aura? Both 1.0L

In terms of performance, FC, handling?

Currently on the look out for either one of these two. Heard that it's good investment.

Please advise.

Thanks in advance.

sorry to ask...does swift has any turbo enjin ...the Gti is n/a only rite...thinking of getting a swift and to do some modding hope the sifu and master can teach me and feed me with info... :D :D :D

Originally posted by Micer@Aug 16 2004, 06:37 PM
Has any Si Fus here compared Suzuki Swift GL with a Daihatsu Charade Aura? Both 1.0L

In terms of performance, FC, handling?

Currently on the look out for either one of these two. Heard that it's good investment.

Please advise.

Thanks in advance.
you'll prolly find the Charade has more easily available parts then compared with Swift.
I reckon the Swift GL handles pretty well for a basic 1.0 car.
If u can get a Swift reelly cheap, say RM5-6k, then it's a good prospect for modding up. If u just want basic transport for commuting, it can be ANY car, not just a Swift or Charade.

Originally posted by Qholif@Aug 18 2004, 04:39 PM
sorry to ask...does swift has any turbo enjin ...the Gti is n/a only rite...thinking of getting a swift and to do some modding hope the sifu and master can teach me and feed me with info... :D :D :D
swift only comes NA, no turbo.
if u want turbo saml engined car, try Starlet EP82.
Swift is perfect candidate for modding (Cultus GTi), and it'll give the owner performance equiv to 1.6 non-Vtec car.
:)

Swift parts are rare and ori parts are expensive... That's what stopping me with 1.0 to 1.3 GTi conversion... May turn out to be a money pit...