This SuckS : Credit card talks end

I have yet to find a petrol stand open after 8pm here in Japan, apart from the automated ones.. that might be a good idea..

alvin24 said:
all think for the petrol station... nobody think for banks ar?? Banks also need to untung wan maaa.... 1.25% isn't that much whut... they also need to cari makan so can pay those people who put cash in the bank interest maaa... and not to mention with the number of credit card frauds going around in petrol stations... we're lucky enuff the bank didn't decide to NOT give petrol stations credit card machines. =Þ

Hello, 18% annual interest + min RM80/year/card for membership. Just sits beside ah looong. They charge on both side. Even the income tax dept also not that hungry. They don't double tax on people.

I think is good for not using cc for fuel up the car. I saw a lot of my friend screw up their financial, who start with the 1st full tank.

ace79 said:
... For me, I don't find it a hassle to carry plenty of cash around.
trust me, man. You will feel it after you met someone never know in your life and put a penknift on your neck, asking you for money.

ace79 said:
Most of my regular customers carry thousands in their pockets daily, and I did ask them why don't you use your credit card? Their answer was : Use credit card? No lah, only when I am abroad ... and most of these nice fellas drive cars like Ferrari Modena, Merc V8 Kompressor, M3, 6 Series coupe etc. If rich fellas can do it, why can't us?
so when are u getting your Ferrari?

PS: Rich people =! smart people

I think the point for all this fight is for petrol kiosk owner to gain more.. but hey, everybody want more..

1st.. bank offer cc facility to petrol kiosk.. if u want, u have to pay 1.25% of sales to the bank.. color]

2nd.. Petrol kiosk say i want.. wanna attract more customer.. color]

3rd.. fuel price go up.. comm maintain, interest maintain.. less profit for same amount of capital. color]

4th.. fight with government.. increase comm or ban CC facility. color]

5th.. Transfer the interest charge to customer.. color]

Zohailee, thats why there are argument here.. everybody dont agree for the interest transfer because u (petrol kiosk) ask for it at the first place.. it happens because u r tryin to get more at the first place. get my point??

if dont agree with the interest charge to you, then stop the facility la (back to the 1st case, kill the root cause).. people are angry because u r tryin to charge it to the consumer.. but dont complain later if your sales dropped..

but cc will still be accepted any way, so what the heck..

jeffayn said:
However, up to mine suprise and every one else too ..... Petrol Kioks owner earns very good income despite of all the nuisance 1 2 cents you all are complaining Like Zoo .. he is very anxios to get a skyline. and I am just very anxios to know whether we will be using CC anymore or not.

I know not one or two .. but dozens of kioks out there is giving free mineral water, tissues and such to attract customer. I think it cleear enuff for all the forumers to understand what is going on actually ..

not all the petrol kiosk earns very good income......do u know how hard they work for it?i know 1 dealer in kl closed the station due to he cannot manage it.the reason is nearly 70% of the customer using CC to pump petrol.some more the bank charge 1.25% n have to wait abt 2-3 days then baru the money debit into our account.but when order petrol from the petrol company no late payment is given.let says today come a load of rm50k petrol,we must bank in money by tomorrow b4 3pm......3 days alredi pay out RM150k(rm50k x 3days) of cash for purchasing petrol but then baru receive the bank pays us the CC money 3 days b4......

some of u guys always only know to blame petrol kiosk not to accept CC,do u all got think n stand on the side of petrol kiosk owner.........???we also suffer for the 1.25% bank charge.......but till now what we heard is bank dunwan to reduce the 1.25%.if like this the bank will loose more coz part of the income is from petrol kiosk while customer using CC to fill petrol...........we shall see how .........

for the free mineral water is to attract customer,too many competitors and they come out with this idea.but must need to get permit 1st b4 doing such promotion or the kementerian perdagangan dlm negeri dan hal ehwal pengguna m'sia will come after u.

just my 2 cents.......peace.:smile:

tajulsans said:
I think the point for all this fight is for petrol kiosk owner to gain more.. but hey, everybody want more..

3rd.. fuel price go up.. comm maintain, interest maintain.. less profit for same amount of capital. color]

5th.. Transfer the interest charge to customer.. color]

but cc will still be accepted any way, so what the heck..

1st of all would like u to know when u run a petrol kiosk,the CC service is a must.the % charge by the bank also aceptable back in few years time.coz that time 1 litre of petrol not more than RM1.20 if i not mistaken.the comm is 8% for the kiosk owner at that time.

but today year 2005,the petrol price has increase to RM1.62 per litre and the comm still remain 8%.the kiosk owner buy the petrol with higher price but the comm nvr increase,if for u do u accept it?the govt has to do something to settle it,not just sit there and count money.if all the petrol kiosk disable the CC system,the bank is the 1 who loose the most............pls dun focus all on petrol kiosk owner.

][zoohalee][vtec][ said:
u paying ur annual fee because u own the card....

we paying for u because u made a transaction from the card???....do u think thats fair???...

think wisely la before answering bro....
at last the bank takes all........zoo,most of them are not in the situation like us,they dunno the problem we facing.they only know wah,u open petrol station ah?sure veli veli rich.....or......wah,petrol price increase,sure untung a lot,like we no need to take out money to buy petrol.

i think we better keep quite,coz the more we talk/explain,the more problem cause in here...silent is always the best:biggrin:

BlackSamurai said:
trust me, man. You will feel it after you met someone never know in your life and put a penknift on your neck, asking you for money.

paiseh la lu bro...there's no need for you to place "fiery" remarks here, in a forum made for petrolheads by petrolheads.

anyway, i've felt such an experience bfr, and alhamdullillah, with the knowledge my father and his "teachers" have handed down on me, God willing, I did manage to fend myself off with the robbers having to face the "music"...

and no, I cannot afford a Ferrari, only a simple car, since I'm only a "kuli"...

i'm only stating facts, facts that I learned after over 10 years in the business full time ( the meaning of full time here is a minimum of 14 hours a day, 365 days a year ) and most of my high - end customers do pay for their petrol by cash.

BlackSamurai said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace79
Most of my regular customers carry thousands in their pockets daily, and I did ask them why don't you use your credit card? Their answer was : Use credit card? No lah, only when I am abroad ... and most of these nice fellas drive cars like Ferrari Modena, Merc V8 Kompressor, M3, 6 Series coupe etc. If rich fellas can do it, why can't us?

Pls do read my posting thoroughly, I am not stating that I want to buy myself a Ferrari, I am stating the fact that one of my regular Malay customer drives a red Ferrari Modena 360. I also used to have a regular Malay customer who owns too many cars ( Ferrari F355, Merc SL coupe, Merc S500, and also a Lambo! Maybe a Johorean, cars all got Johor plates ), always pays cash ( never even ONCE use a credit card ), always pumps by himself ( never asked me or any of my staff to pump for him, imagine an empty Lambo fuel tank and you'll get the idea ), very friendly ( even allowed me to sit in his F355! ) and always wave goodbye with a friendly smile bfr driving off.

Actually there is a simple solution to this problem.

The problem arises because there is a mismatch between the commission that the petrol station operators can charge for each litre and the commission that the banks charge for each transaction. The operators can only charge a fixed amount per litre sold, whereas the banks will charge a percentage of the entire purchase price, regardless of how many litres.

Solution? Make sure the 2 different calculations of commission are matched. Since there is a global price for petrol which nobody can control, we cannot change the commission structure of the operators. We can however, change the commission structure of the banks.

I refuse to believe that the banks are unable to recoup the cost of their investment for CC infrastructure used by petrol stations by adopting a commission structure based on number of litres sold, rather than the purchase price of each fill-up. Reason? Any IT person will confirm this - the investment cost is a one-off for each petrol station. Whatever back end cost which the banks have (for example processing) is from infrastructure used by ALL CC merchants, not just petrol station operators.

The banks will not be losing money by adapting the commission structure - instead of 1.25% of the purchase price, they should charge for example 1 sen per litre sold. This is fair for everyone, and is definitely do-able technically. They just need to be forced to stop being so greedy.

ace79 said:
Pls do read my posting thoroughly, I am not stating that I want to buy myself a Ferrari, I am stating the fact that one of my regular Malay customer drives a red Ferrari Modena 360. I also used to have a regular Malay customer who owns too many cars ( Ferrari F355, Merc SL coupe, Merc S500, and also a Lambo! Maybe a Johorean, cars all got Johor plates ), always pays cash ( never even ONCE use a credit card ), always pumps by himself ( never asked me or any of my staff to pump for him, imagine an empty Lambo fuel tank and you'll get the idea ), very friendly ( even allowed me to sit in his F355! ) and always wave goodbye with a friendly smile bfr driving off.

ace79,

u work in a petrol kiosk also?hehe.....like the customer u mention,i always respect this kind of customer.they are rich but not those lansi type.not like some driving those rm20k-rm60k car wanna lansi here n there.while filling petrol,rm10 or rm20 bucks only.

Huh...the Ferrari debate also spread here? Funnylah. Anyway, grabbed this from Avt0w0r1d:-

Motorists will soon have to pay extra if they choose to pay with credit
cards at petrol stations.
Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal said a
new charge would be announced tomorrow and hinted that consumers would
have to pay more.

He said the new formula would balance out the charges incurred in credit
card transactions at petrol stations.

"Credit card charges need to be shared. It shouldn't be borne solely by
petrol station operators.

"At the same time, we shouldn't have to burden consumers. All parties
need to be involved," he said.

Shafie said it was essential for petrol stations to continue to accept
credit cards as 60 per cent of motorists used them.

On Oct 3, the Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia floated the idea
of discontinuing credit card payments at petrol stations due to high
charges levied by banks.

source: http://www.paultan.org

Updates: Credit card payment for petrol
October 24, 2005 at 5:30 pm · Filed under Local News

Looks like we consumers will not be affected much by the adjustments in the way fuel is sold with credit cards at petrol stations.

Banks have agreed to reduce the charge imposed on credit card transactions at petrol stations by 0.3 percent to 0.95 percent. It was previously 1.25 percent. Petrol companies have also agreed to increase commission of 6.17 sen per 1 litre of petrol to 6.66 sen. Commission for diesel will go up from 2.05 sen to 2.44 sen per litre.

However, banks will stop giving bonus points to petrol purchase transactions for their credit card customer loyalty programs to offset the loss in revenue with the 0.3 percent cut in transaction charge.

The bottom line: Prices remain same for petrol purchase using credit cards, but you won’t get credit card reward points for them (this does not mean Bonuslink and Real Rewards).

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=162002

October 24, 2005 16:28 PM http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/images/friend.gif http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/printable.php?id=162002
Fuel Stations To Continue Accepting Payment By Credit Card

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/newspic/ge/SHAFIE%20APDAL6%20.jpg
Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal Pix:Bernama

PUTRAJAYA, Oct 24 (Bernama) -- Fuel stations will continue accepting payment by credit card as supporting banks have agreed to reduce the charge imposed on fuel station operators by 0.3 per cent per litre of petrol or diesel from Nov 1, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal said Monday.

However, as a means of reducing the financial cost of the banks, consumers paying for fuel with the credit card would be ineligible for bonus points under consumer loyalty programmes, he added.

The Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) had announced that fuel station operators would discontinue credit card payments at fuel stations after Hari Raya Aidilfitri early next month due to the high charges levied by banks, and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak asked for the matter to resolve amicably.

Shafie said that with the new average charge, fuel station operators would only be required to pay the banks 0.83 per cent for every litre of petrol or diesel bought with the credit card, down from the current 1.13 per cent.

As a result, he said, fuel station operators would only have to pay the banks 1.34 sen per litre of petrol sold by credit card compared to 1.83 sen now and 1.06 sen per litre of diesel compared to 1.45 sen now.

The decision to reduce the charge was made at a meeting last week, he told reporters here.

Shafie said the reduction of the charge would enable fuel station operators to earn a higher commission from their sales to purchasers who use the credit card.

The commission of 6.17 sen per litre for petrol would rise to 6.66 sen while that for diesel would go up from 2.05 sen to 2.44 sen per litre, he added.

"With this change, it is hoped that fuel station operators will continue to sell petrol and diesel products to consumers paying with the credit card," he said.

Shafie said 40 per cent of the consumers in the Klang Valley paid for petrol with the credit card, thus imposing an increasing financial burden on fuel station operators in terms of payment of the bank charges and reduction of revenue.

"The commission for fuel station operators is set by the government, at eight sen per litre for petrol and 3.5 sen per litre for diesel," he added.

-- BERNAMA

Can live without loyalty points... not much loss here. After all, how much loyalty points can you get from buying petrol? You definately get more points by spending the card elsewhere - buy air tickets, dine at restaurants and buy groceries at hypermarkets.

Yeah. I know some people who literally go the distance and queue up for certain petrol brands just because they want to earn points for a stupid toaster.

as long as consumer not affected than its nice to hear for me.. dont really care bout credit card bonus point anyway..