turbo lag kaw²

bretbaby

hi anybody know how to settle turbo lag? im using l5 4 piston,cange front mount intercooler ,put wastegate n change subaru turbo,using afc neo also ,then go dyno boost only 0.6 - 0.7 bar only n 66hp ;( bt the subaru turbo i plug in one set,some say must use back the ori rear of my old turbo,.,.smaller so that reduce the lag ,........

me no sifu, but may I know your subaru turbo model? I can ask my sifu abt this....

...but one thing perplexed me.. why use external wastegate when the internal ones are sufficient enough for your application?

FYI, I'm oso L5 4cyl turbo user (JB-JL), just mod exhaust and intake only hehe :adore:

should be subaru RHF4....or maybe IHF4.......the turbo buntot use back ori td02......

bro danz: I'm referring to the last 4 char.... example... VF16 etc... since it came from subaru so confirm it's RHF4.... erm can IHI-based turbo be hybrid to a mitsu based turbo?

bro bretbaby: RHF4 is a good upgrade for 660cc turbo... if one dun mind the lag... and most ppl tend to up boost 1bar or more to compensate for the lag... for me, i'd rather use TD025 turbo

sifu papagoines...i only know RHF & IHF models...the last 4 chars i dunno hehe.....
i think could be able to hybrid....just a matter of mod/fabricating the brackets i suppose......

some go for TD04 turbines.....which better? tdo4 or td025L?

sifu papagoines...i only know RHF & IHF models...the last 4 chars i dunno hehe.....
i think could be able to hybrid....just a matter of mod/fabricating the brackets i suppose......

some go for TD04 turbines.....which better? tdo4 or td025L?

oit! no sifu here la....

some ppl say td04-09b (frm pajero diesel) are the best.... the turbo start kick in around 500rpm ~ 1000rpm more than standard turbo (RHF3), maybe due to the fact you need to add front-mount intercooler and piping...can be considered stage 2 turbo upgrade la

for me, i'd go for stage 1 meaning td025.... minimal lag ( + 500rpm max) and I can use back original top-mount intercooler...

or.... you can go for td025 turbine housing + td04-09b turbo hybrid...

....better go see turbo specialist like tong turbo and tell him your needs and he can dish out which combo that might works...

sorry bro bretbaby for hijacking your thread... but I do want to ask one thing, what are your target when using the subaru turbo? top end hp? improved torque? or all-round improvement?

hi all,thanks for all your feedback.,.,.really² appreciate all of you,
im using rhf4 v32, time i bought it,it dint have internal wastegate,even the hole at the back fin also dont have,thats y i dont have option to put ex wastegate,i use td04-09b b4,lag also,im going to go exhaust n piping shop to hybrid the subaru turbo n l5 std back brackets ......any recommend piping shop?mine the need to wait on wednesday next week... ;{

papagoines - i just want to feel a bit pick up only,.,.cause i use auto....went to dyno gt 66hp only ;(

hi all,thanks for all your feedback.,.,.really² appreciate all of you,
im using rhf4 v32, time i bought it,it dint have internal wastegate,even the hole at the back fin also dont have,thats y i dont have option to put ex wastegate,i use td04-09b b4,lag also,im going to go exhaust n piping shop to hybrid the subaru turbo n l5 std back brackets ......any recommend piping shop?mine the need to wait on wednesday next week... ;{

papagoines - i just want to feel a bit pick up only,.,.cause i use auto....went to dyno gt 66hp only ;(

waa.... you far more experienced than me :adore:

something amiss with your setup... once I've heard JB-JL using TD025 boosting less than 1bar can produce 75whp (circa 90bhp) with minimal lag...

maybe you shud consult an expert on this.. may I suggest Enjoy! K-Car Life

Is your BOV adequate? means that it's not leak or out? too much fresh air when suck into your turbine must be balance it out through bov. If not, it causes lag.