Twin Mufflers

integramania

Hi there...

Just wondering those guys/gals who put in twin mufflers for cars that originally don't need it - does it affect the cars performance....some i heard only mount it there and not connect...

Need some advise on this

there's an mmu student driving kelisa with twin exhaust.. first i also fooled by the look of it... i thought both the exhaust really work (connected)... but when the car go down the slope, can see the left side of his muffler is not connected.. can see daylight through that muffler... damn funny lar...

simply changing exhaust wouldn't do much on performance for our mortally chariots. And most people leave the header(s) stock anyways. that's where the 'performance' bit of the exhaust is important. Things like directing the exhaust from different cylinders or creating a pulse to push it out.

you might heard that a free flow exhaust gives you more power. Well, that's not exactly true. More free flowing means your car need not waste as much power pushing out the exhaust. That's it. Of course the bore size of your exhaust does have an effect, but I'm thinking you're talking about the little bits(tips) that you can see.

But do get a good set, so it won't feel like someone has stuck a potato up your exhaust. And unconnected(dummy) tips are good way to add finishing touches to he back.

so unless 1/10th of a sec slower than the other car is too slow for you, I'll say go ahead and get it.

Guys thanks for the tips..... I'm pretty familiar with exhaust setups myself and I don't mean just those tips which are fashion items...

I'm not too familiar when it comes to twin mufflers....only cars like the S2000 that I can remember are setup for this. The GTI one is just a look nice one....

But I have seen a few cars on the road with an extra muffler, I'm wondering if it does hurt the cars performance esp. if the car is bone stock....modded well that's a different issue lor....I'm thinking of putting another muffler (actually just for looks and not performance) onto a stock SEI Perdana.....

Seen a few new Accords with this setup...stock wise only one, so add another one does it affect perf?

My kancil uses twin exhaust...but it the original ones from
daihatsu..no problems with FC and power :-)

won't hurt your performance then. But still really depends on which kind of extra muffler you're talking about. It is a split one with equal length trailing out, or just add another length of piping to the extra muffler?

Perdana and Accord has their V6 mounted the same way, so that's why only 1 muffler tip. Both are FF. And like keropok said, no effect on FC. The only problem would be if your header is mounted incorrectly, thus trapping the exhaust inside the engine. A very big no-no.

it depends to how u do it...my GTi running on 2 bullets with 2 mufflers with equal length... using the 4wd fuel tank to accomodate the straight pipe down below. do it in a correct manner & its does not sacrifice but gain me more hp (proven on dyno), but then its done after R&D and all the bends & length are calculated.

I was thinking of not having one of equal length but just adding another length to the current piping....for me its more for looks lor but i just don't wanna do it an dlose power...i'm not expecting a gain since its a stock sei engine...thanks

if just for looks, dummy tips may be a better choice since it's cheaper. And if you decide to go for some mods, you can connect it later on. See what's your idea on dummies le. It sure would look nice new and park, but might get laugh at by others when it has been used or when you're driving.

And I think it shouldn't be much difference in price running the equal length set, compared with what you had in mind. Just trickeroer and that means longer in the shop. What about your cat cov? taking it off?