Tyre for Airtrek

dune

Dear zth family,

Any idea most suitable tyre for Airtrek, size 215/60R16.
Mostly usage up and down KL to Kuantan every week. Everyday car..

Im about to opt for Michelin Primacy LC or Bridgestone ECopia.

Which is best ,or any other than above?

Really appreciated your help..

Rgds

What are your priorities? The 2 tyres you mention are Green tyres, more for quiet and comfort rides. Anyway, in 60 series aspect ratio, the tyres are more towards comfort rather then performance. Many other tyres available from Pirelli, GY, Federal, Yokohama and others

Not Sure, but my frens recommend these 2 tyre, which budgetted around most preferably easy maintenance, resistance and good and any condition of weather.

Any speciallty area cz i'm going to buy these tyre today evening in Klang..

Thnks for your info..

PS: its for my sister car..bro.. :-):driver:

Are ur friends using the Michelin Primacy LC on his car? I would recommend you to try driving his car first if it's fitted with primacy lc. There are a lot of users complained about the excessive wear of these tires and lack of grip issue, or if you have friends who owned a tyre shop and they carry these tyres, ask them to speak the truth about his opinion or the customers feedback for the tyres. You might find the tyres might not be something u're looking at.

hmmm been googling but not know what to think off, if u go to the shop they might been want to sell
the tyre only.. SALES maa.. but later on customer suffer lor.. :-( .

MY bros suggest about pirelli dragon? hmmm:hmmmm:

Yes..nowadays 99.9 % of the lousy tyreshop out there just wana con us to buy the tyres, and never bother about other factors. Will u consider other tires rather than the 2 types of tires that u stated above? Primacy "LC" = Luxury and Comfort, claimed by the manufacturer. As mentioned by VR2turbo earlier, they are more towards quiet & comfort range. No doubt, the tires are very quiet, however the wear off rate/lifespan and the grip for Primacy LC is completely a nightmare. It sounds more like the tire manufacturer has sacrifice safety for their fuel saving technology. Even the cheaper /entry level of Michelin XM1 215/60 R16 is simply tougher than a lot better Primacy LC. Put it side by side without it mounting on wheels and compare, you will notice Primacy LC:

1) it's Very light
2) width of the tire is slightly smaller compare to others same size tires
3) even the sidewall is softer than most of the tires.
(Maybe that is when the fuel efficiency came in? lol :stupid:)

That is why, maybe it's best if u can talk to someone from the tire industry who is Really close to u or ur friend about the statement i've made. Ask them to touch their heart and tell u the truth. Sometimes only the branding itself is strong..but not all products are the BEST mahh...

Bro. Elemental have been reading some feedback. Yes, there are some who complained about the fast wear of the LC.
For tyres that are usually quiet and comfortable, normally they have fine or smaller grooves in their pattern design therefore water channeling or clearance is not that good and therefore wet handling will suffer. Getting a good wet handling tyre then you will not get comfort and quiet. As for the price, Michelin and BS prices are on the higher side, but your budget at RM600 per pc is more than enough.
Pirelli Dragon is a very old tyre. Hard and noisy too. If you want Pirelli, then their P6 or P7 is a better bet.

Dear Elemental & VR2,

Thnks so much for yr views and recommedation. I believed safety come 1st rather than quiet and comfort..so need compromise on the noise and a little bit comfort. I think i will need go for BEST in all condition ( Hot & Rainy day ).

Might think of these..

Dueler H/L D683

The Bridgestone Dueler range has now been expanded to include the D683 Highway Luxury tyre. The Luxury is primarily designed to provide a quiet and comfortable ride for SUV vehicles.
The D683 also offers excellent handling on wet and dry roads, high speed stability and manoeuvrability, and long wear life.

Thats what they laaa.. :biggrin::burnout:

BS Dueler & Yoko Geolander are mostly for off road use. If used on the highway it is not that good against road tyres. If you can get road tyres of the same size then the traction will be better.
There are also SUV tyres like Yoko Advan ST and Michelin Latitude HP & Sports, but they are on the expensive side...