what engine oil for RB25 ER34?

akagilll3

my RB25 using tufoil 10w 40, when i keep drive at 170km/h or
keep 4000rpm for around 10mins, engine oil temp. reach 110, what oil is suitable for RB25 in malaysia?

Go for thicker oils...50 series and above (ie: 10W50..15W60 etc)

Make sure they are full synth..minerals tend to heat up easily.

I'm using Q8 F1 10-50 fully synthetic and so far so good. Smooth as well.

akagilll3 said:
my RB25 using tufoil 10w 40, when i keep drive at 170km/h or
keep 4000rpm for around 10mins, engine oil temp. reach 110, what oil is suitable for RB25 in malaysia?

dude thats normal mate...

110 degrees is the max it should be (is that one in the middle??)....i drive from johore to KL and KL to johore....180 km/h max out non stop (most of the way anyhows)....oso same temp as u, but using motul 10w40 full synth....and there seems not much in oil burnt after the trip (ie. not much lost of oil or didn't need to top up) no probs. so from 80-110 degrees is all good....

u can oso take a look at ur oil pressure reading too...(that one undernealth the speedo/rpm) should be around 4++ bar when cruisng along (ie in the middle reading)

normally in "middle" for guages means everything is normal....as in oil temp or water temp or oil pressure...anythings thats above the "middle" mark, then ur rb25 sure is stressed out...then u will know, u will need some cooling devices....ie. bigger front mounted IC and bigger oil cooler and bigger raidiator and a race-craft carbon fibre bonnet with a big fat hole in da middle :D
(once u got that setup up mate....ur cooling setup for the malaysian climate is done....u will be smiling with comfort even with full throttled or high revving driving and even higher boost etc...)

even using good quality radiator fluid oso helps...ie. motul radiator fluid ones...that said, nothing cheap shit foods should be fed into a skyline anyways....ie. oils, brake fluids, auto/gear fluids, radiator fluids all should be best of brands or quality

oso in my car i have taken out the engine casing...(the one that says "2500 turbo neo" cover) and i oso taken out the black casing that covers the spark plugs....true it makes the engine look fucking ugly, but its helps with cooling :biggrin:

Yup,

me using Q8 F1 as well... no complaints... even when cruising at 160-180 my oil temp rarely goes up to 110... always around 100 or so....

zephuros said:
Yup,

me using Q8 F1 as well... no complaints... even when cruising at 160-180 my oil temp rarely goes up to 110... always around 100 or so....

yups only extreme driving and long periods of high revs and very hot days it goes to 110....

normally around floats 90-100 average days...

if ur oil temp quickly goes to 110 from just 10 mins of high speed driving...check ur oil and radiator levels....then somethings wrong....