engine evo 4 compare to evo 5

lighter piston
10.5cm2 turbine housing(evo4=9cm2)
560cc injector(evo4=510cc)
crankshaft pin induction harderned
bigger oil cooler
better radiator fan
better engine mounting

stormevlotion9:that one was converted.posted single digit '2' num but not.giving 82

Bros out there is there anyone there that knows about their ECU.
Can the EVO 5,6, 6.5 ECU be used on the EVO4.

cyberevo said:
Bros out there is there anyone there that knows about their ECU.
Can the EVO 5,6, 6.5 ECU be used on the EVO4.

sure,with few wiring job.but no point if your stock ecu got no porblem,if u thinking to upgrade.top up a little to get a standalone or piggyback ecu.changing to evo 5 above ecu on 4 wont give u noticeable difference

lan evo said:
sure,with few wiring job.but no point if your stock ecu got no porblem,if u thinking to upgrade.top up a little to get a standalone or piggyback ecu.changing to evo 5 above ecu on 4 wont give u noticeable difference

Bro,
I am thinking of getting an aftermarket reprogrammed ECU like ralliart or mines. I have heard that the reprogrammed version of EVO 5, 6 or 6.5 makes the EVO4 respond faster and feels like a 6.5 TM.

I think the only way you can make a IV/V/VI feel like a Tommie is if you put the Tommie turbo in there.

Also, you gotta remember that the IV comes with smaller flow injectors (510cc vs 560cc) than the later cars. Just slapping on a V/VI ECU is simple, there's just one wire you have to crimp but it will make your IV run leaner unless you also add in the 560cc injectors.

Skip the Mine's/RalliArt ECUs and go straight to a standalone EMS, PFC seems to be a favourite around here and costs only a little more. Almost everyone who gets these pre-programmed ECUs eventually moves away from them. Reason being that a) they are not tailored to your car and/or modifications, and b) they aren't reprogrammable at a later stage. Also, what these usually do is remove the speed limiter, up the rev limiter, and push fuel cut levels way high, thus removing whatever safety margins built into the stock ECU if you start playing around with your boost levels. The Mine's unit is also very aggressive with its timing, so if you're not mindful of detonation, you may end up with a Tommie engine in your IV faster than you think.

Good suggestion!!! Bigger injectors, fuel pump, TME turbo + PFC (1 of de hottest items in de mkt now) wil definately make de Evo IV much better!!! But remember to upgrade de E4 braking system as well!!!

:_:

Bro,
I know where you are getting at. So to share with you what I have for my EVO 4 as mention by you is 690cc power injectors, EVO8MR turbo, 250Litres HKs fuel pump, tomei fuel regulator, HKS DI, HKS intercooler, Ap 6pot brake kit, HKS EVC5.
All that just the only stopping me is the ECU>>. I dont want to go to the reprogrammed ECU is because its a hassle to tune it as even people from HKS, JUN, bla bla ...tune is not reliable.
I jsut want things on the event of plug and play. As for the customised programming I will work out with my Jpan fren. I have seen guys in Japan run that kind of set up and run decent speeds and results. Most important of all no headaches of ecu problems.

With your mods, your bound to be running really rich if you're still on the stock ECU.

Anyway, since you have friends in Japan who can do a custom tune for you, you're all set.

cyberevo,

Wow!!! U hv a cool set up man!!! :_: Yeah, with 690cc injectors running with ori ECU it really looks like running rich!!! Does ur spark plugs easily get 'wet'???

Get a Ralliart ECU... I think they hv ECU for 350hp...

I Luv ur AP 6 potter man... hahhaa...

cyberevo,
Is too 'risky' to run with such mods without a ECU programmed to work it out. Not only u will be running too rich, u'll end up spoiling your valve seals and definately spark plugs as your modd is 'screwing' up your a/f & combustion since your ECU still calculate and allow a/f ratio & injector mappings to combust based on a 510cc injector and less than 140lph fuel pump !

Have you get a exh temp reading ? try to get one or use a lamda O2 sensor to take your ext temp reading or a/f reading (can easily go to those tuner shop and ask them to check)..chances are u're running SUPER RICH and I'm damn suprise your car can sustain that. The norm would be you're most probabaly not able to accelerate full throttle beyond 4-5K rpm as it will tend to flood your combustion chamber with all the fuels hence tons of 'wobbling & misfiring' (can't recall the technica terms for that la).

Spark suppression. So much fuel that the spark is drowned out. But that is super duper worst case scenario already.

Stormvolution,

A standard RalliArt ECU also won't do him much good, as it still assumes the engine has the V/VI 560cc injectors and minimal mods. But can boost like there's no tomorrow la cos boost limit is around 1.7 or 1.8Bar.

B18C-R said:
cyberevo,
Is too 'risky' to run with such mods without a ECU programmed to work it out. Not only u will be running too rich, u'll end up spoiling your valve seals and definately spark plugs as your modd is 'screwing' up your a/f & combustion since your ECU still calculate and allow a/f ratio & injector mappings to combust based on a 510cc injector and less than 140lph fuel pump !

Have you get a exh temp reading ? try to get one or use a lamda O2 sensor to take your ext temp reading or a/f reading (can easily go to those tuner shop and ask them to check)..chances are u're running SUPER RICH and I'm damn suprise your car can sustain that. The norm would be you're most probabaly not able to accelerate full throttle beyond 4-5K rpm as it will tend to flood your combustion chamber with all the fuels hence tons of 'wobbling & misfiring' (can't recall the technica terms for that la).

Bro,
My car runs fine if I don wack the car at full throttle as the ECU manages to keep the firing sequence running constance. All hell breaks loose when the car goes full throttle, the car msfires at around 5500rpm to 6000rpm, the combustion chamber is flooded with fuel and plugs are wet with fuel due to imcomplete combustion.

The car is running rich only when you hit full throttle is you are ruuning cruise mode the car is runs ok. The ECU manages to take control of idling and acceleration at low speeds. Thats why I ask for help to find out more about the EVO5 ECU. I was told to find one in Japan to reprogram.
SO far this car is a weekend car. I have other cars to run in.

when u drive an Evo but u dun wack ur car then better sit vios or city.
And i thk whoever have Evo, they also have weekday car.

LancerEvorry said:
when u drive an Evo but u dun wack ur car then better sit vios or city.
And i thk whoever have Evo, they also have weekday car.

Spot on bro...
So back to the original question so how do you hook up the ECU of a 5/6 to a 4

cyberevo said:
Spot on bro...
So back to the original question so how do you hook up the ECU of a 5/6 to a 4

i think your japan fren can do it for u easily