DIY Voltage Stabilizer

eh,.. so ..
many many small caps not good lor.. got 'noise'

i thinking of finding one 1F caps..
dono where got
maybe old monitor got

i got one old monitor at home that not switch on it for months
but i affraid to open it.. cause ppl said charge inside is still powerful enogh to kill a person even it is left alone for years..

anyone here know how to dis-assemble the big caps from old monitors?

sam1741 said:
eh,.. so ..
many many small caps not good lor.. got 'noise'

i thinking of finding one 1F caps..
dono where got
maybe old monitor got

i got one old monitor at home that not switch on it for months
but i affraid to open it.. cause ppl said charge inside is still powerful enogh to kill a person even it is left alone for years..

anyone here know how to dis-assemble the big caps from old monitors?

Haha... don't worry lar... this is my first times hearing switch off old TV can kill a person , except u throw it from Second Floor. :biggrin:

I don't recommend using cap inside old TV, coz cap already got few year history.. and normally value of cap inside TV no over 3000uF...

If you really need big capacitance cap, u can find it at normal car audio or accesory shop. It is for car audio system's voltage stable. (Size around: Dia 50mm X Height 200mm)

tylaxng said:
Haha... don't worry lar... this is my first times hearing switch off old TV can kill a person , except u throw it from Second Floor. :biggrin:

I don't recommend using cap inside old TV, coz cap already got few year history.. and normally value of cap inside TV no over 3000uF...

If you really need big capacitance cap, u can find it at normal car audio or accesory shop. It is for car audio system's voltage stable. (Size around: Dia 50mm X Height 200mm)
er.. maybe my english not good.. i try to re-phrase it.

CRT monitors contain very STrong caps
that even it is LEFT ALONE for ages, there still CHARGES inside...
so messin with the circuitary inside
if kena the charges will probably kills a person

STRONG CAPS inside

then after reading some article
i only know the strogest caps inside is actually the CRT tube itself..
the outside is actually a caps.. so.. i think my plan wont work liao..

er... pardon me, my english really no good, but i can understand wat you wan to mention... :smile:

I had some experience help my frens repair CRT monitor......

And... when i switch off the monitor i will waiting around 15mins baru open CRT casing... this 15mins is waiting cap inside monitor discharging...

This is the reason y i said no need to worry open the CRT casing already switch off "one month".. (but unencourage for the people w/o repair and electronic knowledge open the any electronic devices casing)

And.... if you really want to remove the cap inside monitor, and scare kena shock. I can tell you normally pro-repair man or electronic engineer what they need to do when remove the cap, they will using "grounding port" touching the capacitor positive pin (+).. force the capacitor discharge immediatelly, i also using this way to help my fren changing capacitor inside monitor (soli, last msg i didn't mendtion this part, coz i think long time no switch on monitor, all capacitor should be discharge complete)

Other thing i dont understand is what is "strong cap", cap with full charge? or high capacitance cap? Normally, cap we just said capacitance, voltage, and maybe discharge or response time.

Lastly, i just want to sharing what i know.. if i no explain clearly, please forgive me... :smile:

oic...
so 15 minutes should be enough time for them to discharge lar...:)
then i can try to extract some from my old monitor...

soli soli wrong english again
i mean capacitor with high Farad value
not 'strong' caps

U r welcome.. :smile:

For safety purpose, please remember using "grounding port" discharge the Cap positive pin (+), if u just switch off ur monitor 15mins only.

If you don't have "grounding port", you can try using screwdriver metal head "short circuit" the Cap pos(+) and neg(-) pin. This way also can discharge ur cap but make sure you don't wan use ur monitor next time.

Newbie here, Done 1 VS with led. Problem is the LED does not blink. Is it normal. How to make it blink? Advice please...

WMP8603 said:
Newbie here, Done 1 VS with led. Problem is the LED does not blink. Is it normal. How to make it blink? Advice please...

Blink? Normal LED can't blink except you put blinking electronic circuit to it.

But some electronic shops got sale "self blink LED", this type LED no need any extra circuit, just directly connect to voltage source.

You can try Jalan Pasar.

p/s: series one resistor (>1k ohm), when u install to VS.

Thanks. put in the resistor and 30amp fuse. now just to get a proper box and can try it out already.

WMP8603 said:
Thanks. put in the resistor and 30amp fuse. now just to get a proper box and can try it out already.

u dun need a 30A fuse... using a 10A will do... using a high ampere fuse will not protect from short circuit dat efficiently..

i;m back :D

hi all n khguan, long time no c :D, wats up there :D

hi... nothing much here... zth DIY thread is getting slower compared to last time... n recent DIYs are getting less "interesting"

duno where all de old DIY kakis gone....

here here...
nola, mayb they busy with something leh... DIY also will reach certain limit one mah... some DIY too hard need expert to settle also....

Vincew said:
I am using circuitmaker V6.2 for student. (Free for student) Do a search and download from web. :D

(BTW i am not from EE but from BSC Physic) :P

Vincew, I already do the searching for this circuitmaker V6.2 but still can not find la...need your help.. can your give me the software or from where you down load this software. or anybody can help me on this

Thanks in advance :smile:

Maldini said:
Vincew, I already do the searching for this circuitmaker V6.2 but still can not find la...need your help.. can your give me the software or from where you down load this software. or anybody can help me on this

Thanks in advance :smile:

Circuitmaker latest version is 2000, and microcode company no longer support or sold this product already. (Coz company sold liao :biggrin: )

Do u know BT or eMule? Maybe i can find the dl link for u.

And, below is electronic simulation & PCB design dl link (freeware)....

http://home.planet.nl/~heuve345/electronics/software.html

Wish can help u.....

tylaxng said:

Circuitmaker latest version is 2000, and microcode company no longer support or sold this product already. (Coz company sold liao :biggrin: )

Do u know BT or eMule? Maybe i can find the dl link for u.

And, below is electronic simulation & PCB design dl link (freeware)....

http://home.planet.nl/~heuve345/electronics/software.html

Wish can help u.....

thanks you for the link very useful.. :smile:

Maldini said:
tylaxng never heard about BT or eMule. can you explain a bit

Haha... :smile:

I think we already out of thread title :biggrin: (DIY VS), never mind u can contact me using yahoo messenger or my yahoo email account.

yahoo ID: tylax_ng
yahoo email: [email protected]

If u interest of electronic simulation and pcb design.... i like to share wat i know..

instead of using various value of capacitor to get total 33000 mikrofarad, why not we use one cap with value 33000 mikrofarad for example la. Got any diffrent between ka? how about the resonance ?

tylaxng you got PM

dat is not a VS already... dat is a stiffening cap... or some pl call it the audio cap as use it I.C.E. aplication...

using a few diff value cap with a single value cap do make a difference... there are reasons for it...