The Most Comfortable Conti ?

2.0turbo

I am in the market for a continental car. What is the most comfortable conti below RM 70 K and c.c no bigger than 2.3? My definition of comfort is the ride is not bumpy when passing the speedbreaker / yellow lines and uneven road. I am not talking about handling
or cornering. Just looking for a comfortable ride because already getting old.

Actually I have test drive merc 123, 190 E, 124, Peugeot 306, Camry, Accord and sonata.So far I think Merc 123 is the most comfort.

Appreciate your recommendation.

TQ.

good budget to start....

how 'bout BMW E34 520i yr 94,95,96? I wud love to recommend the 525i but you said <2.3L.

hello. any idea why limit only to 2.3cc? is it because of petrol consumptiom or roadtax?

regarding road tax, not sure how much is the road tax for 2300cc, but i think you can go safely up to 2500 without much worry.

check out how much roadtax is for 2600cc. I know 2800cc is rather a big leap at about rm1600.

BMW E34 as suggested by 145fan is a good choice. i would go for E39 but that is way above your budget. if you do get an E34 or any usedcar for that matter, always try to have about 5-8K cash to replace the wear n tear.

You did not mention the preffered age of the vehicle or whether you want a Jap or conti, but you can try out a Peugeot 406, Citroen XM 2 litre, Citroen Xantia or even a used Citroen C5 for less than 80K as well. However i heard there are a lot of gearbox probs with the boxes Citroen's using. You may check out with the Citroen crowd regarding this.

70K can buy you quite a lot of decent stuff. take your time and look for a good unit that suits you.

good luck mate.

TQ for your input. I like the shape of of BMW E34 that you recommend. It is one of my dream car. However, I haven't got the chance to test it yet. Is the ride better than Merc 123 ?
On the other hand I have test drive BMW 318i year 1996 and the ride is a bit too stiff for me. Also test drive Citroen Xantia and personally think that the ride/ suspension are just okay only. Merc 123's ride still no. 1 to me. However, it is quite an old car and quite difficult to find a nice one with auto g/box.

Anybody test drive alfa 156 or audi A6 or A4 ?

2.0turbo said:
TQ for your input. I like the shape of of BMW E34 that you recommend. It is one of my dream car. However, I haven't got the chance to test it yet. Is the ride better than Merc 123 ?
On the other hand I have test drive BMW 318i year 1996 and the ride is a bit too stiff for me. Also test drive Citroen Xantia and personally think that the ride/ suspension are just okay only. Merc 123's ride still no. 1 to me. However, it is quite an old car and quite difficult to find a nice one with auto g/box.

Anybody test drive alfa 156 or audi A6 or A4 ?

comparing a E34 wif a W123 is a rather different proposition as the direct competitor to the W123 will b the E28. W123 current market price is very good esp if ur just begining to feel the conti car market. wif less electronics in da car, the W123 is a great and simple car to own, not to mention bout da built quality.

E34 will b hugely more comfortable than the W123. U might wanna give the W124 or E34 a try. Both of this cars are such a cruiser and a joy to drive on long journeys. The E34 was one of the best built BMWs of its days. By da way, I just sold off my uncle's 1992 E34 520i for RM30K.

why not add some more from that 70k and get yourself a friggin new smart cabrio? :)

that's a conti ain't it? heheh

Yesterday I tested 2 cars and here is my comments :

1) Audi A6 year 1997 - suspension quite stiff

2) BMW E34 year 1990 (M) - Quite comfortable but cannot beat Merc 123 when crossing railway track.

sooo.......any other car I should try ?

2.0turbo said:

2) BMW E34 year 1990 (M) - Quite comfortable but cannot beat Merc 123 when crossing railway track.

u cross railway tracks very often?

E34, well I'm a big fan of beemer anyway...although my dream continental car is an E46, sigh~ still a long way to go

2.0turbo said:

comfort wise? go for merz! hav drove a 230e, drove over few hump (small/mid round size without sharp nose), did not feel much bump, smooth! when drove over with my e36, not so comfortable, need to slow down to pass thru, all this with standard set-up. audi, don't know.
for less depreciation value, go for merz! check STAR paper and compare!
to feel young at heart, go for MERZ C180/C200 or BMW 5s/3s!
to sell back, go for year above 97, for future, easy financing for a new buyer!
for the love of it, go for BMW!
for fun, go for jap cars! many potong parts to modified!
for 70K above, better get a new HONDA or TOYOTA or SUZUKI SWIFT! new, maintenance free for 3 years!
from my point of view, both old models for MERZ and BMW is a nice car to have, shape wise is still there and with tough built solid body! all this you need to spend a bit more on ur $$$ to make the car better! priceless!!! only for long term use!

my falsampah!!!

burn22 said:
comfort wise? go for merz! hav drove a 230e, drove over few hump (small/mid round size without sharp nose), did not feel much bump, smooth! when drove over with my e36, not so comfortable, need to slow down to pass thru, all this with standard set-up. audi, don't know.
for less depreciation value, go for merz! check STAR paper and compare!
to feel young at heart, go for MERZ C180/C200 or BMW 5s/3s!
to sell back, go for year above 97, for future, easy financing for a new buyer!
for the love of it, go for BMW!
for fun, go for jap cars! many potong parts to modified!
for 70K above, better get a new HONDA or TOYOTA or SUZUKI SWIFT! new, maintenance free for 3 years!
from my point of view, both old models for MERZ and BMW is a nice car to have, shape wise is still there and with tough built solid body! all this you need to spend a bit more on ur $$$ to make the car better! priceless!!! only for long term use!

my falsampah!!!

Mr, Burn,

I do agree with u. However most cars advertise in Star paper are located in Wilayah and selangor. For your info, I am located in Ipoh. I have been searching for Merc 123 for the past 6 months. Last week plan to go to KL to view Merc 190 E with leather seat RM 22k but to late. Car already sold. Another Merc 123 (M) with leater seat also sold. Very heart broken.

2.0turbo said:
Mr, Burn,

I do agree with u. However most cars advertise in Star paper are located in Wilayah and selangor. For your info, I am located in Ipoh. I have been searching for Merc 123 for the past 6 months. Last week plan to go to KL to view Merc 190 E with leather seat RM 22k but to late. Car already sold. Another Merc 123 (M) with leater seat also sold. Very heart broken.

thought ur budget was around below 70k?
to get 190e, go for the one wit 2.3cc on the 190e body!
use to saw one 190e with original DOCH version at my family-inlaw regular mechanic, segamat! look solid but car already been trash by the owner! mechanic also repair car for secondhand dealer, even alter the meter. so becareful when buying one!
when making appt, make sure you are free on the next day. drive to KL early, it only take a few hours! but do not rush putting a deposit, make sure to sent the car to aam or puspakom for a check-up first! or any mechanic friends you know in KL! sometimes you might get a flooded car! it took me 3 mths to find my bmw and 5 mths for my ford tx3 and less than a month for my wira aeroback cause too many wira's in the market! anyway, don't only look for the one wit leatherseat, sometimes you might get a good one without it, pasang sendiri lor....
prefer to get secondhand rather than new cause car prices nowdays depreciate a lot! to many new models coming out!
and the prices are ridiculous due to high import taxes!!!
damn crazy!!! a dollar to a dollar their salary, a ringgit to a ringgit our salary, and they bought cars wit lesser import duties!

burn22 said:
thought ur budget was around below 70k?
to get 190e, go for the one wit 2.3cc on the 190e body!
use to saw one 190e with original DOCH version at my family-inlaw regular mechanic, segamat! look solid but car already been trash by the owner! mechanic also repair car for secondhand dealer, even alter the meter. so becareful when buying one!
when making appt, make sure you are free on the next day. drive to KL early, it only take a few hours! but do not rush putting a deposit, make sure to sent the car to aam or puspakom for a check-up first! or any mechanic friends you know in KL! sometimes you might get a flooded car! it took me 3 mths to find my bmw and 5 mths for my ford tx3 and less than a month for my wira aeroback cause too many wira's in the market! anyway, don't only look for the one wit leatherseat, sometimes you might get a good one without it, pasang sendiri lor....
prefer to get secondhand rather than new cause car prices nowdays depreciate a lot! to many new models coming out!
and the prices are ridiculous due to high import taxes!!!
damn crazy!!! a dollar to a dollar their salary, a ringgit to a ringgit our salary, and they bought cars wit lesser import duties!

Yes, I agree with u that must be very patient to find good car and not to get cheated. Currently I am driving Wira 1.8 year 2002 UK spec bought in Klang last year. The car was blacklisted in the insurance company database due to multiple claims. I only found this out after paying the deposit.

Leather seat ? To install new leather seat around RM 2 to 3 K. I saw one Merc 123 last year with beige leather seat. Damn cun. Should have bought the car..but the body color is white which I hate. Too bad.

Merc 190E with 2.3 cc I heard was not recommended cuse problematic engine. The engine is coswoth engine from Ford. Is this true.

My budget is RM 70 K or lower.......the cheaper the better........I don't care how old is the car as long as the car is comfortable so not to injure my bad back. For your info, I had bone grafting operation to my spine due to crack lumbar vertebrae about 15 years ago.

2.0turbo said:
Yes, I agree with u that must be very patient to find good car and not to get cheated. Currently I am driving Wira 1.8 year 2002 UK spec bought in Klang last year. The car was blacklisted in the insurance company database due to multiple claims. I only found this out after paying the deposit.

Leather seat ? To install new leather seat around RM 2 to 3 K. I saw one Merc 123 last year with beige leather seat. Damn cun. Should have bought the car..but the body color is white which I hate. Too bad.

Merc 190E with 2.3 cc I heard was not recommended cuse problematic engine. The engine is coswoth engine from Ford. Is this true.

My budget is RM 70 K or lower.......the cheaper the better........I don't care how old is the car as long as the car is comfortable so not to injure my bad back. For your info, I had bone grafting operation to my spine due to crack lumbar vertebrae about 15 years ago.

hi bro, for ur back problem, i will go for a merz 230e, which you can get at below 50k in good condition since most of the previous owner is an old timer. the car shape is still consider nice to look at. and the value is still there, but if you hav the dope, change to a bigger rim and it will look even sportier. second choice, volvo 850 T5! third choice would be bmw 525i model, value much better than 520!. had a friend own 520i and took his car almost a year to get a buyer. his car is damp good condition. last choice, bmw 318i! japs car will be nissan cefiro, accord or camry! perdana v6, ok lah but no market value at all! somemore, parts pun boleh tahan mahal.
yes, it's true about the cosworth merz, but to find a good one would be difficult! the cosworth chassis alone cost a bomb and hard to get.
why biege leather seat? go for black! when sent for service or repair, the mechanics with their dirty oily trousers will make ur seat dirty. hav this problem before wit my previous cars unless you sent your car to a higher class repair workshop which will cover the seat wit plastic when repairing, but it will cost you a bomb! there are good mechanics will small workshop which charge at reasonable price. and just make sure, they repair mostly merz, bmw or continental cars.
i hav try sending my honda inspire and proton wira for repair at my regular mechanic and found out they are not that good when repairing japs car. so now i hav two regular mechanic to service my car. even the one that repair my japs car dare not repair my bmw.
good luck bro wit ur choice. this is just my side opinion! different people hav different taste!

well if u are lookin for comfort, as far as i am concern not many cars can come near a mercedes comfort. And yes the best of merc model is 123. A car built overspec of the german army. U can look a reasonable car for about 15k -25k. Spares no prob a lot available and cheap too

i think u would be better off wif a W123 merc as bimmers suspension are a lot stiffer than Merc for ur back problem.

Guess thats wat u would be getting rite?

Good luk and happy hunting!

My suggestion

how about old Jaguar Daimler 3.0 selling at www.motortrader.com
looks for classic car selling 30k plus and how about Lexus car ... i think
this 2 cars also comfortable, just my 2 cents ..if i am rite ...wish you good luck
anyway ...hope you can find your dream comfortable car

road tax

ST_K10 said:
how about old Jaguar Daimler 3.0 selling at www.motortrader.com
this 2 cars also comfortable, just my 2 cents ..if i am rite ...wish you good luck

the ROAD TAX alone will make it worse for his back bone problems!!!

ST_K10 said:
how about old Jaguar Daimler 3.0 selling at http://www.motortrader.com

TQ 4 your recommendation. Actually I have been searching in motor trader very consistently and to buy a jaguar did cross my mind.........however, considering the road tax and spare parts I think better abandon this plan.

xtracooljustin said:
i think u would be better off wif a W123 merc as bimmers suspension are a lot stiffer than Merc for ur back problem.

Guess thats wat u would be getting rite?

Good luk and happy hunting!

sorry 4 this late reply.very busy. I am going to stop my hunting 4 a while. In the meantime I am making my wira more comfy by upgrading the suspension, making my seat more comfy by adding rubber